We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relaxand view life on the river and the plateau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The River Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champasak Town
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place to relaxand view life on the river and the plateau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We drove up from 4000 Islands and spent 4 nights at this beautiful new hotel, primarily to see Wat Phou, but also used it as a base to get the the plateau, coffeee and tea plantations and various waterfalls. Spent some time in Champasak as well, but also spent some time soaking up the relaxing atmosphere in the pool, spa and the very nice modern room with a great view direct over the river.
Meals served at the restaurant were very good, perhaps a little expensive, and the local food was excellent. They had a chef from Seattle seconded for 6 weeks to add to the Western menu.The Mekong fish meals were among the best fresh water fish meals I have eaten. Beer Lao is a great beer on a hot evening. Mr Kea, who looked after us for much of our time at the hotel, including the restaurant and the river cruise, was constantly smiling and looking for additional ways to make sure we were comfortable without being overbearing. All the staff were wonderful. It is a trait of the Lao people.
Rooms were very comfortable, directly on the river form the room deck where we could see the local fishermen pulling in their catch each morning with the sunrise directly behind them.
Comfortable king beds, with crisp, clean white linen, comfy robes, modern cooling tiled floors and walls, minimalist furnishing, full length deck with glass full view walls from the room, inside and outside showers.
Small library for those in need of a book to read in the evening, fully equipped spa and massage rooms (very good value), and reception desk to organize bikes to ride to town, Tuk Tuk for Wat Phou or cars and drivers to go on longer trips.
Entry from 4000 Islands is by boat up the river from Ban Muang (half hour) or direct from Pakse (45 minutes)
All in all a very relaxing way to finish our trip to Laos in comfort and style

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with river view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltsy372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor,
Thank you so much for your kind review of your 4 night stay last month at The River Resort. Our team is very happy to know that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of our infinity pool, our spa and also your Rivefront guest room with amenities and atmosphere that you found very satisfying, including watching the local fishermen from your terrace as they pulled in their catch every morning with a dramatic sunrise directly behind them.
It is also very pleasing for our kitchen staff to know that you enjoyed our restaurant, including local food and our freshly caught Mekong fish dishes. Mr. Kea, our Restaurant Manager, has asked me to thank you very much for your kind words about his service to you in the restaurant and also on our Sunset River Cruise.
That you concluded your review by telling us that your 4 night stay was a very relaxing way to finish you trip to Laos in comfort and style, is music to the ears of all of our team, whose responsibility is to assure guest satisfaction. We hope you will find time to visit The River Resort again in the future!
Cordially, David, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    62
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
269
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 9-12 March, 2014, and were met at the airport by friendly staff from the hotel. We were then driven to the hotel itself, about 20 minutes south of Pakse, Laos. The welcome we received was great, a cool spot to sit and a cold drink. We got everything sorted and were shown to our rooms, which was one floor each of a two floor, two bedroom bungalow. Everything was just perfect, nice decorating and very clean, overlooking the Mekong River. We had received vouchers for free massages, a free river cruise and free tuk-tuk ride to and from the spectacular Wat Phou (the transport to and from the airport was also included.) What a nice surprise! We ate all our meals at the hotel and they were absolutely delicious as well as being reasonably priced. There are a number of Western dishes available for those shy about Lao food. Their Lao food was exceptionally good and well worth a try. They also had a nice drinks and wine list, plus tasty appetizers. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and efficient, and their English is excellent as well. I honestly found nothing to complain about and neither did my travelling companion. This is really a wonderful spot and I hope to return soon for a longer stay with my husband! It is the nicest spot I have stayed in Laos.

Room Tip: The bungalows which are right on the river have wonderful sunrise views and are fun because you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for posting a comprehensive review on TripAdvisor of your 3-night stay with us on one of our High Season Packages. Our guests' opinions are very important to management as well as to our staff; and in this case, when the restaurant staff hear that you found them to be exceptionally friendly and efficient, and excellent English speakers as well, they will be very happy and surely will strive (as most of our Laotian staff do) to become even better. When you next visit the Resort, I hope you will find even more delicious choices of food and beverages on our menu.
Thanks also for your other affirmative comments about your stay, including the cleanliness and decoration of our guestrooms and the complimentary items included in the 3-night "package"
you chose, such as Lao/Thai massage, Mekong River cruise, airport transfers and Wat Phou visit by taking the Resort's custom-built tuk-tuk.
Finally, your comment that our Resort is the nicest spot you have stayed in Laos is very encouraging to our management team. who are striving for the Resort to become among the Best of Class in Laos!
Sincerely,
David
For The River Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We can't write enough good things about this resort. Lovely landscaped grounds, beautiful villa rooms, great food, attentive staff, wonderful salt water infinity pool overlooking the Mekong River. Add great massages to this and you have the recipe for a perfect holiday. Do yourself a favor.,..spend a few nights at The River Resort.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a river front room...you'll be happy you did. Check the hotel's web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onomataho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It was the greatest pleasure for our staff and management team to find your wonderful review, as a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor, of our Resort! Your satisfaction with our landscaped grounds, guest rooms, restaurant, infinity pool overlooking the Mekong, massage offerings, and attentive staff throughout the Resort, capped with your telling us that we provided "the recipe for a perfect holiday," really made our day! Thank you ever so much, and we hope we will have the additional pleasure of another visit by you and your spouse in the future. Best wishes, David (On behalf of the Staff and Management Team of The River Resort)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire - UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent 3 nights in a river front pavillion at this hotel which was huge with amazing views. It is a truly beautiful place with delightful staff. We have 3 delicious dinners here and Jack at the bar made some great cocktails. James looked after us very well in the dining room and was concerned when I experienced a problem tummy! His rice soup did the trick!

We had excellent spa treatments and highly recommend the aromatherapy and foot massage.
This hotel deserves to win awards as it is the one we loved best in our whole 2 weeks of Laos.

Room Tip: Room 101 was closest to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your generous comments on our Resort in the review you wrote on TripAdvisor about your recent 3 night stay. It was our pleasure to have had you as guests, enjoying, as you wrote, our spacious RiverFront guest rooms and the amazing views of the Mekong River from the terrace of your room. It is also very pleasing to hear from your review that you found our site beautiful, our staff delightful (yes, Jack's cocktails are excellent!), our food and beverages delicious, our Spa treatments recommendable, and, to top it off, that The River Resort is the hotel you liked the best during your 2 weeks in Laos. Please come again, and we will do our best to please you even more next time,
Sincerely,
David
For The River Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've now stayed at River Resort 3 times, and each time was excellent. Not only is the hotel beautiful, stylish, elegant and comfortable, it feels like it's miles from anywhere, so the combination of isolation, charm and beauty really make for a unique experience. The rooms are all in 2 story buildings scattered across tropical gardens and in the midst of working rice paddies, and the resort is right on the Mekong River, and has great food, drinks, an infinity pool and spa. I could stay there for days, though each stay was far too short. The staff too are so well trained and friendly, you really fee like you found someplace special here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mocona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind review of your third-time visit with friends to The River Resort!
It is a true honor for our management and staff to hear that, on arrival this time, you felt that you had stumbled into a modern day Shangri-La and once again enjoyed the beauty of our site on the Mekong River and our stylish and comfortable rooms and other facilities, including your dining experience, our infinity swimming pool and our spa. Our staff, most of them from our neighboring villages, are especially pleased to know that you found them to be very good at their work, and friendly as well; and they thank you very much for your compliments.
All of us at the Resort look forward to welcoming you again later this year,
Best wishes, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is the second time we have visited this hotel and it still the best in the area.The river front villas have wonderful views 280 degrees around. The sunrise is wonderful. The swimming pool is an infinity pool and is very well maintained. Since our last visit the pool area has been enlarged slightly which is very tastefully done adding a few more pool seats. There are plenty of seats and tables dotted around the gardens for breakfast or lunch or just a drink. The setting is breathtaking. So peaceful and you seem to have been transported into a special location even though it is only 45 minutes from Pakse.All the staff are exceptional so pleasant always smiling and will do their utmost to make your stay the best.
All the villas are clean with a fresh contemporary design with large balconies to front and rear. Perfect to enjoy the views. They have all the facilities you need. They are set in well kept gardens just far enough from each other for total privacy.

Meals are served in a large open air restaurant and have a varied range of Western & Lao food. The Homemade Lasagna was excellent and the best I have tasted.
There is a rooftop terrace now just right for relaxing before or after dinner.
The front desk can arrange any trips you will require to make the most of your visit. nothing is too much trouble for them.
The hotel has its own spa which sadly we did not take advantage of
The sunset cruise was amazing. You go on the hotels raft boat around the islands in front of the hotel. Stop on a beach and sit and watch the sunset while enjoying canapes and wine or beer. It was like being transported to a film set Well worth the experience.
The River Resort is still one of the best hotels we have stayed in and would return again
The management can now arrange packages which are excellent value.
Thank you all at the Resort for making our stay the very best.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 918teresah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Second Time Guests,

We were so very much pleased that you made your second visit to the Resort last month and that you enjoyed our enlarged pool deck area, the additional seating we have placed in our garden for relaxation Riverside, as well as the rooftop terrace over our open-air restaurant that we have now set up for friendly conversation and cool drinks before or after dinner. We are also very happy to know that you enjoyed our magical sunset cruise on the Mekong.

We hope to greet you again at The River Resort next year. In the meantime, all good wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our last hotel stay in Laos and it is such a beautiful resort. We had a fabulous top floor of a two storey appartment, with 180 degree views of the Mekong. The verandah wraps almost all the way around, so you have stunning views accessible every which way you look. Our room was huge and beautifully furnished. The resort is set in lush greenery, with a small stream running through its entire length. We had one hectic day touring the 4,000 islands and decided to spend our last day relaxing in the resort. It was a perfect way to end our tour of Laos. We had a lovely spa experience and my husband took the opportunity of free bike hire to visit nearby Champasak, 2 km away. The food was good, but the menu could have been more extensive.

Room Tip: Pick a second floor river view appartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryszarda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for reviewing you holiday at The River Resort on TripAdvisor. Our management and staff are very much pleased to know that you enjoyed the Resort 's lush greenery and ponds as well as the 180 degree Mekong River views from your terrace, and that you decided to stay on an extra day - as many of our guests do - so you could "chill out" on the last day of your Lao tour. We are sorry that we were not able to offer a more extensive menu while you were with us, but rest assured we are working on that now with the help of a visiting western chef.
Best wishes, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champasak Town
14.8 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 16 in Pakse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
13.8 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
13.5 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
2.3 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#1 of 9 in Champasak Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inthira Hotel
Inthira Hotel
#2 of 2 in Champasak Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Resort

Property: The River Resort
Address: Ban Phaphinnoy, Champasak Town, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Champasak Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champasak Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Resort is located on 400 meters of naturally landscaped Mekong River frontage in the south of Laos, close to the renowned Wat Phou UNESCO World Heritage site. The Resort's architecture and decor are contemporary Southeast Asian. 22 of its 28 guest rooms have stunningly beautiful, panoramic views of the Mekong River; and the other 6 have fine views of beautiful evergreen rice paddy, flowering trees and tranquil ponds. Each guest room has an indoor and an outdoor shower and other high-standard amenities. The Resort’s open-air Dining Sala, overlooking the Mekong, includes a restaurant offering Western and Laotian/Thai cuisine, alfresco dining on its Riverfront lawns, a cocktail/juice bar, and a rooftop lounge for private meetings. Two infinity swimming pools and the Resort’s onsite Spa complement a relaxing stay. Its two private Riverboats offer casual journeys on the Mekong and sunset cocktail cruises, including - when the Mekong is at ebb - spectacular sunsets viewed from a soft sand beach on a remarkable uninhabited, sandstone island offshore the Resort. The River Resort is an ecologically and environmentally responsible hotel, committed to the use of replenishable bamboo for most of its furniture, organic and hydroponic "farm to table" gardens, recycling of inorganic waste, composting of other waste, as well as solar heated hot water for its kitchens; and is also committed to the improvement of the education of its local staff and the livelihood of its local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Resort Laos/Champasak Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing