We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - great experience”
Review of The River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The River Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champasak Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location – great experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights 14-15 Aug 13 in a river front villa (room 0301). The resort is set on the Mekong some 25 kilometres from town. The staff are very friendly, helpful, well trained and have good English. Our villa was less than 20 metres from the river, well set out and well appointed. The pool was good but with far too much chlorine. The restaurant is little expensive but provides a good variety of excellent food - DO NOT forget to take the mosquito repellent. The breakfast ordered off the menu was good.

After staying at the Riveria Hotel (Thakhek) the previous night, this was an oasis. Rating 10 out of 10

Room Tip: Make sure you get a River Front Villa, top floor. Extra $20 well worth while
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments, we are very much pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful, that you liked your room with Mekong River view and that the quality of our food was excellent!
David, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    62
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
278
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Highly recommended, clean place, surrounded by green environment. Small pool by Mae Khong river, great for evening scene. Good staff, service minded. Can't miss homemade ice cream. Be careful of big ants though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OheNattaporn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Our staff and management are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at The River Resort! When you are next in Laos, please come again! If you come during the High Season (November - April), the Mekhong River will have receded and a fabulous little island in the middle of the River, adjacent to our Resort, and with a sandy beach, will be a very pleasant place for you to go to watch our mountain sunset and enjoy a cool drink!
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The River Resort twice during our travels around Laos.

The resort arranged a minivan to collect us from the airport and thank goodness we did as it is miles away from Pakse airport! It is beautiful, so green and lovely. We were greeted nicely with a welcome drink and taken to our room. The rooms are exactly as per the photos you see on the various websites, they are clean and bright and nicely furnished. The inside and outside showers are a fantastic idea too.

We had some issues with ants getting inside, so I asked for someone to come and spray which they did happily do and explained it was just wet season.

The restaurant does great meals, breakfast is from a menu but is included in the room cost. The french toast was delicious, definitely worth trying! The lunches and dinners are also really tasty and reasonably priced. My advice is to eat dinner before dark in wet season though before the bugs come out!! This is not the resort's fault, it's just nature during wet season!

The staff were all really helpful and the lady that works at reception who I think may be manager is really great, she assisted us with any queries and nothing was too much trouble.

They will book tours, but be aware you are only paying for a driver, it is not a guided tour. They also arranged a boat to collect us from the other side of the river to assist us after a cruise - great service!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay with The River Resort! It is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kureah-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The River Resort. Thank you for understanding that, especially during the rainy season in our naturally landscaped grounds, small insects are sometimes attracted at night by lights in the guest rooms. Keeping the window and door screens closed and asking our helpful staff to spray a small amount of eco-friendly insect repellant in the room keeps the insects away! Please come again during the High Season, when cool breezes off the Mekhong River also keep insects away.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I agree that The River Resort is one of our favorite hotels the world over. The location on the Mekhong cannot be rivaled; it was such a pleasure to sit on our balcony and watch the fisherman search through their traps each morning. The staff is gracious and inviting, a real boon to our stay. The grounds are made up of rice paddies, connected by walkways to lovely individual villas. Just perfect. The villas are both sophisticated and homey. Wish we could be there now!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ankdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of our Resort. Our staff and General Manager look forward to greeting and serving you again, hopefully on your next visit to Laos.
David
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
242 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are already on our next stop of our holidays and we miss our stay in The river Resort! We left yesterday from there leaving behind beautiful moments and experiences that will keep this place memorable for long time! We've been t many nice places but honestly it was one of the few times we said to ourselves 'We'll be back here'! The River resort is a little paradise within a paradise as Laos is a magic country itself. We spent four amazing nights in tranquility, relaxation and great service. Our room was facing the Mekong hat is unique to see the colours of the sky being reflected into the river! The room was very spacious and modern with traditional touch. Regarding the beds that some people expressed the opinion that the mattresses are hard I guess this is according to each one's taste.We found them very comfortable and besides that a not so soft mattress is better for your spine:-) The infinity swimming pool was a true highlight! Swimming while at the same time facing the Mekong river on one side, being surrounded by the beautiful gardens and impressive butterflies that was the first time to see species like these ones. The food at the restaurant was delicious! We mostly went for the Lao dishes every night (although there is a variety of western ones too). We found prices really low and value for money. Personnel rules! A big THANKS to Tony and his team ( super helpful front office personnel, massage girls were amazing, housekeeping and restaurant personnel) for making our stay an incredible experience. While at River resort we arranged via reception a trip with a tuk tuk at Wat Phou archaeological site (highly recommended) and a day trip with a private car at Bolaven Plateau visiting the waterfalls, enjoyed coffee of the region's coffee plantations and visited the small city of Pakse. This is a value for money accommodation! We highly recommend it to anyone looking for relaxing holidays ate the heart of nature! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Go for a river view room, though even the pond view rooms are beautifully located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skybluem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at The River Resort. Our staff will be very pleased to know that you gave them highest marks for the quality of service they provided. And our Laotian cooks will be similarly happy to know that you very much liked their cuisine. We hope that we will see you again, whenever you come back for a holiday in the south of Laos.
Best wishes,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the River Resort for two nights in August. Before arriving we had been in touch enquiring how to best get there from Pakse and the staff were very unhelpful at explaining our options. For a luxury resort you might expect a free pickup as it is half hour away but they offered us a tuk tuk for $25 I.e. the going rate. We arrived earlier than the check in time as we'd travelled overnight. At all places we'd stayed in Laos this had been the case thus far and we had always been offered breakfast and here the staff member pleasantly did the same. Great (we thought). What he failed to make clear was that it was not free and the menu didn't even have the price on it, we got a bill at the end and then realised it wasn't complimentary. It was the equivalent of 130000 kip which will buy you two dinners for two in Champasak. The three breakfasts were good but had always had something wrong/forgotten: no toast, no bacon with the eggs, the list goes on. And the staff at breakfast didn't seem attentive, you had to ask yourself for extra toast, more coffee, butter...this is all fine but when you expect luxury and see a near perfect score you are surprised. We sat in the pool for over an hour with empty glasses before someone offered another drink. At lunchtime the burger was completely raw in the middle, this was rectified but there was no apology. At dinner the staff seemed transformed and it was a faultless experience with great food, if a bit expensive. The resort itself is recommended as it is beautiful but beware of service especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maufix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Please tell us what dates you stayed with us and the room rate you were charged. If you booked a Pond/Garden Villa with Deluxe Double or Twin Room at $50 per night, breakfast is specifically not included in the room rate; it is included in all bookings for our RiverFront Villas. In addition, we regret to say we cannot afford to provide free transportation from Pakse to the Resort or return on reservations such as yours since the local outside transportation services we use charge us $35 for a van (1-way) and $25 for a tuktuk (1-way), which is 1/2 of our gross revenue from a $50 per night room! Our breakfast menu specifically states that guests may have additional portions of any item on the menu, and we apologize if your server didn't call that to your attention though we are certain you were not charged for the additional portions you selected! We are very pleased to know that your dinner with us proved to be a faultless experience with great food. Please come again, we will do our best to ensure that you will be fully satisfied next time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed three nights and had a river view bungalow with us on top and the children in the room below. Definitely worth getting the river view because you see stunning sunsets. The resort is a little oasis and much nicer to stay in than somewhere in Pakse however misses out on five stars in my opinion because the beds were very hard ( as mentioned by many other reviewers). I hardly slept the first night and resolved the issue only by taking the cushion mat from the day bed and adding that to the mattress. The food was good, a little on the expensive side for the area, and alas not consistent. We had pumpkin soup one night which was delicious only for the next night for it be porridge like. We prefer buffet breakfasts which was not on offer. The service is excellent and all the staff are very keen to make sure you have a good experience. Overall small gripes as this is undoubtedly a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingNewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review of our Resort. We have indeed heard recently from several guests that they would prefer to have a softer mattress. Please be assured that we are now working on a solution for this problem, which is that our housekeepers will soon have a supply of custom-made foam pads with which the staff will remake the bed for any guest who requests a softer mattress.
Cordially,
David
Managing Director and Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champasak Town
2.3 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#1 of 1 in Don Daeng Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
14.8 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
14.8 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inthira Hotel
Inthira Hotel
#2 of 2 in Champasak Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Resort

Property: The River Resort
Address: Ban Phaphinnoy, Champasak Town, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Champasak Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champasak Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Resort is located on 400 meters of naturally landscaped Mekong River frontage in the south of Laos, close to the renowned Wat Phou UNESCO World Heritage site. The Resort's architecture and decor are contemporary Southeast Asian. 22 of its 28 guest rooms have stunningly beautiful, panoramic views of the Mekong River; and the other 6 have fine views of beautiful evergreen rice paddy, flowering trees and tranquil ponds. Each guest room has an indoor and an outdoor shower and other high-standard amenities. The Resort’s open-air Dining Sala, overlooking the Mekong, includes a restaurant offering Western and Laotian/Thai cuisine, alfresco dining on its Riverfront lawns, a cocktail/juice bar, and a rooftop lounge for private meetings. Two infinity swimming pools and the Resort’s onsite Spa complement a relaxing stay. Its two private Riverboats offer casual journeys on the Mekong and sunset cocktail cruises, including - when the Mekong is at ebb - spectacular sunsets viewed from a soft sand beach on a remarkable uninhabited, sandstone island offshore the Resort. The River Resort is an ecologically and environmentally responsible hotel, committed to the use of replenishable bamboo for most of its furniture, organic and hydroponic "farm to table" gardens, recycling of inorganic waste, composting of other waste, as well as solar heated hot water for its kitchens; and is also committed to the improvement of the education of its local staff and the livelihood of its local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Resort Laos/Champasak Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing