We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay! Little Paradise!”
Review of The River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The River Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champasak Town
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay! Little Paradise!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

During our trip we needed some rest. Everything on this place is amazing. The view, the food, the hospitality, the people who work here. In front of our room, we saw the Mekong river and in the backyard you see the green ricefields with the mountains on the background. We can also recommend the sunsetcruise, which gaves us the really special holiday feeling. We stayed 4 nights and had a great time. It was absolutely worth the money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nel-b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    62
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
278
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only 7 months old when we stayed there in Aug. 2012, we were so easily seduced into a fabulous down-time retreat at this truly beautiful oasis right on the mighty Mekong. Even though the monsoon rains lived up to their potential while were there and even though there frankly wasn't that much to do easily in the general area, we absolutely appreciated the beauty of the location, the comfort and views from our river-side villa (one of 10 two story villas), the truly friendly and helpful staff and the incredible kitchen fare.

This is definitely minimalist modern design (by a Japanese designer) with great villa amenities: king bed, ceiling fan and AC, indoor and outdoor shower (heaven!), dual sinks, floor to ceiling window wall out to the Mekong, balconies in front and back and all this surrounded by both gardens as well as lushly growing rice fields.

The staff was genuinely nice and involved, especially the senior staff from Ton, the young Thai GM to David, the incredible Australian chef to Kit, the landscape "architect" and caretaker of all things green, to Lana, the American expat Lao speaking Reservations manager. Together they all made each of their guests feel warmly welcomed and cared for and often went beyond the call of duty -- for example when chef David insisted on taking breakfast toast to the ailing son, back in the villa, of a guest family.

Food was actually first rate... no duds at all, not the breakfasts (superb eggs, fresh cut fruits, lattes, pancakes) and certainly not the dinners of spring rolls, glass noodle seafood salad, crispy chicken salad, seafood curry and all curries in fact, plus the home made breads, ice creams and sorbets - a real pleasure which actually became one of the two main food highlights of our entire SE Asia 30+ day trip this year!

The one aspect of this resort which we hope will become resolved as the resort grows more into its own is their making it easier to tour local sites, both close and far. Yes we were able to book rides through the hotel to the fairly nearby Wat Phou ruins site (itself honestly a huge letdown if you're ever visited their counterparts in Cambodia's Seim Reip) as well as a river ride to a nearby island for a bumpy but enjoyable bike ride alongside itinerant family farms. But there were no direct, easy or not exorbitant connections for further away excursions such as the archipelago down the Mekong around Khong Island for example. Hopefully they will eventually hook up with a touring operation which could accommodate such excursions.

In spite of this one drawback to our own experience and desires, we still loved and appreciated this place as one of our trip's highlights. Combine all of the actual resort amenities with the mesmerizing view of the Mekong floating by and all this for very reasonable prices — it's no wonder that not only we, but every other group we spoke with, consider this to be a real gem and a must-visit resort for anyone looking for a genuine relaxation experience in Southern Laos.

Room Tip: river side villas, especially top floor ones are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pixrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

At least we stayed 8 instead of 5 nights and don't want to miss one. Great location, all the pictures are really true. Great and excellent staff! Everybody is feeling responsible for you and doing the best to make it a great stay. Look at their faces and their laughing and you'll feel good. They know to represent their country. Fabulous food if you like a bit of experience. If you don't like to do anything, its a heaven, but even if you are up to energetic workouts, you' ll find a lot of things to do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NOMI55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The River Resort is an oasis along the Mekong with beautiful sunrises, rice fields amid the villas, and spectacular landscaping. This eco-friendly resort offers expansive views of the Mekong River, big-sky sunrises and sunsets, comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, and a high-ceiling open-air bar and dining area beneath white cloth lamps that flutter in the warm breeze at night like friendly ghosts. I enjoyed delicious meals, including local cuisine – replete with quirky table settings – both in the dining area and at tables on the grass along the river. Next to the dining area is an infinity pool where I felt like I was swimming in the Mekong River itself – an illusion that both amazes and relaxes. I also enjoyed a delightful Thai oil massage from professional staff on-site from Bangkok. The River Resort is a great getaway at affordable prices in a remote area of Southern Laos, a place I plan to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river provide beautiful light and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JIM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It is hard to imagine more expansive & sublime views of the Mekong. The resort combines the natural beauty of its location with excellent service and food, friendly and attentive staff and comfortable and stylish bedrooms, as well as a magical infinity swimming pool that gives the impression that you are swimming in the Mekong itself. The resort is also within easy reach of Vat Phu at Champasak, one of the most important of the Khmer sites in South East Asia. This resort is a haven for travellers, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank constantius888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A beauty of a resort with stunning landscaped grounds made of rice paddies, excellent cuisine by a Thai chef, very charming service. The resort is brand new and in it's learning stage but you won't be sorry if you decide to stay here. We found it to be the best value-for-money proposal ever. The views of the Mekong are stunning at all hours of the Day. Nearby Wat Phou is not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and it was amazing. The rooms have glass on three sides so waking up to a sunrise was just fablulous.The views are out of this world and the view from infinity pool makes you feel in a special place
There are three balconys around the villas so you can put your chairs out to suit yourself.The rooms are spacious and have plenty of towels and amenities.
The villas are well spread out so you do not hear your neighbours. The garden settings are well maintained and lovely to walk ar.ound
They are clean and the air conditioning works really well.
The restaurant had a varied menu and the chef would always makeyour choice to suit your tastes e.g. no spices and a change of potato.
There was always an opportunity to ask for more breakfasts. if needed.
All the staff were outstanding. so pleasant and nothing too much trouble.
They always had a smile from first thing in the morning to last thing at night.
The managment do everthing to make your stay a good one and canearrange trips to Wat Phou in a Tuk Tuk or to hiring a van for the day to take you on trips across the river. The hotel has its own boat which is a lovley way to arrive especially as the sun sets.
I would stay here again no problem.
It is the only real hotel in the area as the ones in Champpasak are guests huses.

Room Tip: ASk for a room overlooking the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 918teresah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champasak Town
2.3 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#1 of 1 in Don Daeng Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
14.8 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
14.8 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inthira Hotel
Inthira Hotel
#2 of 2 in Champasak Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Resort

Property: The River Resort
Address: Ban Phaphinnoy, Champasak Town, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Champasak Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Champasak Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Resort is located on 400 meters of naturally landscaped Mekong River frontage in the south of Laos, close to the renowned Wat Phou UNESCO World Heritage site. The Resort's architecture and decor are contemporary Southeast Asian. 22 of its 28 guest rooms have stunningly beautiful, panoramic views of the Mekong River; and the other 6 have fine views of beautiful evergreen rice paddy, flowering trees and tranquil ponds. Each guest room has an indoor and an outdoor shower and other high-standard amenities. The Resort’s open-air Dining Sala, overlooking the Mekong, includes a restaurant offering Western and Laotian/Thai cuisine, alfresco dining on its Riverfront lawns, a cocktail/juice bar, and a rooftop lounge for private meetings. Two infinity swimming pools and the Resort’s onsite Spa complement a relaxing stay. Its two private Riverboats offer casual journeys on the Mekong and sunset cocktail cruises, including - when the Mekong is at ebb - spectacular sunsets viewed from a soft sand beach on a remarkable uninhabited, sandstone island offshore the Resort. The River Resort is an ecologically and environmentally responsible hotel, committed to the use of replenishable bamboo for most of its furniture, organic and hydroponic "farm to table" gardens, recycling of inorganic waste, composting of other waste, as well as solar heated hot water for its kitchens; and is also committed to the improvement of the education of its local staff and the livelihood of its local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Resort Laos/Champasak Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing