We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inthira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inthira Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Champasak Town
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed here with my Parents and we had a lovely stay. This is a very small place and would say that this is the best place to stay. We stayed in the rooms just across the road and even though these are referred to as the cheaper rooms they were more than adequate, perfect in fact.

The food was very nice and the staff were lovely - but who in Laos isn't!?. They helped us book Tuk tuks, boats and cars.

Room Tip: Ask to see them all frst and then you can choose which is value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hester m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    96
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
19
114
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Everything here was very pleasant and our room (the 2 storey studio) was excellent. Some of the male staff were not as smiling as we had become accustomed to in Laos, so maybe the manager should teach them a bit more about welcoming guests and better service at mealtimes.( some long waits and courses coming out of order) . Staff need a crash course in making cocktails correctly...they were very willing but not properly trained. Internet connections infuriatingly on and off. There was, however a nice ambiance with travellers all talking together around the bar / restaurant.
From what we saw the Inthira is the only place of this standard in Champasak at the moment. When we were there the annexe across the road was not yet open, but you could see the garden backing on to the river needed a lot of landscaping. This could be a lovely space eventually, so I do hope they take advantage of the wonderful position make it nice soon.

Room Tip: all rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Yesterday, I left Champasak after a 6 nights spent there. First, Champasak (the city, not the province) is a very quiet and calm succession of small villages. I stayed at the Inthira Hotel and it was really great. For US $ 40 (I had made my reservation well in advance, I’ve seen later that the regular fares are higher), I had a great room, not that big but for one person, big enough with a nice open bathroom. Despite a TV set in the room, no access to any channel and you know what? that's just perfect, don't change that! Wifi was available only in the lobby and the restaurant, but it's probably because my room wasn't located in the main building but in another building, facing the main one, across the street. Both buildings have colonial style, even though rooms behind the main building seem to be newly built.
The best advantage in my room was the opportunity, every morning, to open the windows and watch the sunrise over the Mekong river (yes, I am an early bird).
If the staff is not always very professional and can hardly speak English, it's important to notice that the general manager (Mr. Vongphachanh Duangphoumy) was very helpful and careful. He organized several trips around the area, including two wonderful ones: the first in the 4 000 islands area (a day trip that worths the cost...) and a boat trip to visit the Tomo Temple.
I will never forget my holidays in Champasak and I hope I will be able to come back soon. And of course I will stay at the Inthira Hotel.
Don’t miss a visit to Champasak SPA. They offer really good massages and for a very cheap price.

Room Tip: The one I had, number 10, is among the cheaper and with the greater view on the Mekong River. Perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paris-eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

This has to be the most disappoiting hotel we have ever stayed at, hugely over rated and very overpriced.
The staff were uninterested and lazy throughout our stay. Every request seemed too much trouble for them. The Lao taster menu no longer exists instead the restaurant offers mediocre backpacker meals at high prices. As the only real option in town they clearly see no need to offer any quality.
We stayed in a Duplex room for 71 USD a night which was completely out of sync with the quality received.
The room was in a sorry state; mouldy walls, rusty shower taps and damp stains on the lighting. The furniture was tatty and placed weirdly around the room. The downstairs area was useless as the TV did not work and the chairs were very uncomfortable. The showerhead leaked making it rain across the whole bathroom and the towels and bedding were very threadbare.
The room was overlooked by the courtyard and kitchen so had little privacy and a light by the kitchen shone into the bed area as there was no curtain which combined with the very noisy AC unit made sleep difficult.
The whole place seemed unloved and as others have mentioned the access to the beautiful riverfront is blocked by debris and burning rubbish making it one of the only hotels in Champasak without a river view!
When we asked about transport back to Pakse the receptionist tried to sell us a minibus for 280,000 kip which at about 35 USD was again way overpriced when the local bus for the 30 minute journey costs 2 USD!
In the end we checked out a day early and left hugely unimpressed by this very poor hotel. For half the price we could have overlooked some of these issues but for the ridiculous prices charged this place needs some major improvements! AVOID!

Room Tip: Do not bother spending the extra on the duplex room if you do decide to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our small group stayed in the building opposite. The rooms were ultra modern so I have showed friends the photos of the wonderful bedroom and bathroom. I WOULD RECOMMEND that they tidy up the backyard up to the water's edge so guests could comfortably enjoy the view of the river. I went down to the water via the backyard but it was very difficult. It is not good having wonderful rooms which you have to access via a terrible mess. The hotel wants to give a good impression all round - not just one aspect. I did enjoy my visit to Champasak and would recommend friends visiting. Cheap internet access for visitors at the hotel is a must in todays world! That is my second recommendation which I want you to pass on to management. Dianne Schultz-Tesmar

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex opposite are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Mrs Schultz-Tesmar,

Thank you for posting a review on our hotel, Inthira Champasak. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We plan to renovate the Mekong side of the hotel, adding a swimming pool and a bar on the river. Unfortunately the Mekong has done a lot of damages on the river bank and we need to repair it before we can continue with the development. We hope to do it in 2012.
As for the WIFI, it is free for the guests of the hotel and i am upgrading to the fastest internet available in Champasak.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Toi.
General Manager
Inthira Champasak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed at Inthira Hotel for three nights and we highly recommend it to everyone. It all starts at the top with the outstanding manager. He is a wonderful young man who goes the extra mile to look after his clients. Everything about our experience at this hotel was positive from the room itself with a luxurious bathroom to the delicious meals in the restaurant. Breakfast was included and there was a lot of choice. It is unfortunate that there was no TV service but we did enjoy the DVDs provided. WIFi is available in the restaurant and lobby area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isaacdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Mr Douglas,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and i read your email to our staff and they were very proud.
please come again.

Toi,
General Manager
Inthira Champasak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

A delightful well run yet but casual base from which to explore the area. I enjoyed my two nights there even 'thou it rained much of the time. The bedrooms are excellent as are the funky bathrooms. There is no TV (said to because it is a 'boutique' hotel) and the bedroom lighting is poor if you are stuck indoors because of the rain. It is a pity too that the shutters on the windows overlooking the Meekong appeared to be just that - fixed shutters.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the Annex might have views of the Meekong
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champasak Town
1.9 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
16.2 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 16 in Pakse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
15.2 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#1 of 9 in Champasak Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
16.2 mi away
Residence Sisouk
Residence Sisouk
#2 of 49 in Pakse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mekong Paradise Resort
Mekong Paradise Resort
#11 of 16 in Pakse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Hotel

Property: Inthira Hotel
Address: Rd 14B, Ban Wat Amard, Champasak Town 2485596, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Champasak Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Champasak Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Hotel to the Wat Phu, Inthira is the most contemporary and stylishly designed hotel in the locality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inthira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inthira Hotel Laos/Champasak Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing