We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for what it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The River House
Ranked #3 of 12 Chiang Khong B&B and Inns
portugal
Level Contributor
237 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is what we would call a "mean" hotel. It is nicely situated overlooking the river but the rooms are too small to put anything down with no shelves and the only place to work on your computer is also too small to rest the computer on. There is nowhere to put your clothes and only 2 hangers in the poky wardrobe. The bed is hard and lumpy and, although we had paid extra for a river view, the bed in that room was so lumpy we asked to change to a twin bedded one where they were nearly as bad and we spent an uncomfortable night. We were never offered a refund for the difference in price. It is also the only hotel in Thailand that we have come across that did not include breakfast in the price. It would provide a basic breakfast, choosing from 5 set menus, but you had to pay extra. No coffee making facilities were provided although they did offer free instant coffee and hot water from a machine (ie warm) for free in the small reception area.

Many of the rooms have a shared bathroom even though this hotel is quite expensive for the area. We didn't find the staff friendly but the receptionist spoke good English.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This place has very good river views. The room was clean & we had our own bathroom, TV, Fridge, A/C & Fan & free Wi-Fi. It was nice to sit & watch the boats going up & down the river early morning & late in the afternoon. We only stay one night as we were touring North Thailand by motor bike.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyK950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in the River House the evening before crossing the border into Laos for the slow boat to Luang Prabang.

I was a bit wary of the options in Chiang Khong but went ahead and booked the River House through Agoda. We splurged on the $30 river view superior room as the reviews indicated that some of the cheaper rooms had a shared bathroom.

Heading into the experience with low expectations we were pleasantly surprised by the River House. The room was very clean (I did, however, check the sheets due to a prior reviews labeled "bed bugs"). Absolutely no bed bugs to be found!

The view was gorgeous (especially at sunrise), the staff very helpful and even the wireless worked! My only complaint was that the bed was hard, but that is consistent with many hotels in Asia so not unexpected.

They also arranged transport to the border crossing (now at the bridge rather than via boat) for 50 baht a person which was super helpful as apparently Tuk Tuk rides to the bridge are quite expensive and not as efficient given the greater distance to the crossing now that we must use the bridge.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a one night stay, it's also nice that you can book ahead on Agoda and know you will be guaranteed a spot.

Room Tip: Splurge for the superior rooms with A/C if you want your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good basic budget hotel. Our room was a bit on the small side but clean with good bathroom, fan & aircon. Only stayed one night travelling from Laos to Chiang Mai. Nice location on river excellent value. Helpful staff, arranged our minibus to Chiang Mai and drove us to another hotel to meet it.

Room Tip: We had an inside room, so no view but the outer rooms appear to have view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel has a good location with great riverview. It's funny to realise that the other side is Laos. The hotel his really nice decorated. Modern and cozy. There are a lot of facilities in the hotel. You can book for a nice price the transfer and more to for example the slowboat. We liked room. It was actually the first time the towel were really folded in swans :) Staff is friendly. This hotel make their promise come true! Around the hotel are restaurant with riverview and friendly priced! The staff can help you to arrange a tuktuk for a supermarket visit. We had good time in this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reizendehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We only stayed one night in Chiang Khong as a stopover before getting the slow boat to Luang Prabang. Room was fine, big and the shared bathroom had no hot water. There are rooms with private bathroom but none were available when we arrived. Our room was noisy because it was very close to the communal area.

Location is good on the river and staff were helpful giving us our Laos visa forms to fill in when we checked out which saved time at immigration.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JooolsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I recently sent in a review of the river view hotel in chiang kong,I got the name wrong,we have never stayed at the river view but many times at the river house and all the good things I said relate to the river house hotel,many apologies,john robinson.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Khong hotels
0.0 mi away
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
#5 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fortune River View Chiang Khong
0.0 mi away
Chiangkhong Green River
Chiangkhong Green River
#4 of 15 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House

Property: The River House
Address: 419 M. 12 T. Wiang, Chiang Khong 57140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Khong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The River House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River House Chiang Khong, Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing