We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Khong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed one night before our long boat ride. The hotel ticked all boxes for us. It provided a clean room and a good breakfast the next day. We opted for the Mexican restaurant about 30m down the road for dinner. It was a convenient location and friendly service made the stop over trouble free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davecorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 211 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night before crossing the Mekhong to Laos. The hotel is perfectly sited for this being right on the banks of the river and a few minutes from the crossing (transport is provided by the hotel). Checking in was completed with the minimum of fuss and our luggage taken to our rooms. The rooms are in timber cabins each with an outside seating area equipped with a table and two chairs, a great place to sit and have a beer (at least until the mozzies find you!). The rooms furthest from the reception have great views across the river. The rooms themselves are comfortable, air conditioned and well equipped.
We ate in the restaurant at an outside table overlooking the Mekhong - a great view - and the food was excellent. I can recommend the Massaman curry.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from a small town with more restaurants and a 711 for supplies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveyHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I chose this hotel because I had to stay in Chiang Khong for one night before crossing the river to Laos the next morning. The hotel website looked more promising than any of the very few other accommodation options which I could have booked in advance. It certainly did not disappoint. I will be so bold as to state that this must be the best hotel in town.

Check-in was very smooth and I did not encounter any problem with staff not being able to speak English. The room was nice, too. It had a little balcony with two chairs and great views across the river to Laos. The only thing that bothered me was that there was a mosquito in my room even though the aircon was running.

From the hotel you can just walk down the street to find a number of little restaurants where inexpensive but delicious food is served. If you've run out of Thai Bhat there's a money exchange just across the street, too. I did not see an ATM though.

Breakfast was rather poor (no buffet), but the staff was nice and the view from the breakfast area was glorious.

After check-out I was taken to the Thai border office by one of the hotel employees in a little electric golf cart. So don't worry about getting there with all of your luggage - the hotel will take good care of you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Australienkenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a lovely property. I had room 115 which was at the end of a row of rooms. It is next to a stairway that goes to the river so I could hear a little noise from those passing by. But it had a unobstructed view of the river and of Laos across the way. The rooms next to me 110-114 have the same view, and might be a bit quieter. The rooms to stay away from are 117,118 and 119 as their balconies are directly over the outdoor dining area. There are also rooms with good views on a lower level, with their roof being one of the dining terraces.

Buffet breakfast was good. Make sure you have your voucher with you.

An, an employee from the hotel took me to the Thai border point (about a 3 min. drive away) in a golf-cart and stayed with me until I was in the ferry to cross the river to Laos. This was very helpful as he helped me with luggage and knew the system - like getting the ferry ticket (40 baht) in advance to avoid yet another long line.

There is another hotel with the same name, but not related, in Chiang Rai. Make sure you or your travel agency makes the reservation for the correct one.

I would stay at the Teak Garden Hotel again.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are very nice. But I think all the rooms are pretty much the same inside.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booked two nights as we waited to cross the border into Laos. The hotel itself is well presented and check in was a breeze. Rooms are on the small side but as a transit stop this is just fine. The main part of the room was great,flat screen TV, good lighting, aircon, typical firm bed but not uncomfortable as such. The biggest let down is the bathroom. Small, damp and nothing a good bottle of bleach wouldn't fix. A storm rolled through on the first night so we ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel " chiang khong I love you " . The service was extremely woeful but the food we saw coming out looked good. When the food did arrive it was good and we enjoyed it.....until 2.30am in the morning when we both woke up sick as dogs and fighting for the bathroom. This resulted in a call to reception at 3am for more supplies, which they were quick in delivering.
In a nutshell for the price this is a good choice of hotel for a transit stop over. Just eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the little bit extra. Just don't forget the aerogard.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOPCAT05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night before departing on our Mekong River Cruise and thought it was great. The rooms are nice, good location. Be sure to stroll the path along the river into town. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel and didn't think it was very good. It was actually our only bad meal in SE Asia, but maybe we picked the wrong things. The breakfast buffet was good. Nice service, good views.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MominBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A group of us stayed here one night before crossing into Laos. Considering it seems to cater for people who are just doing the one night stay pre-Laos crossing, it is pretty good. Nice service, lovely spot overlooking the river, and we had a good meal here too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZFam_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Khong
0.8 mi away
Fortune River View Chiang Khong
0.1 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
#4 of 7 in Chiang Khong
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
#5 of 7 in Chiang Khong
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Houay Xai
Riverside Houay Xai
#3 of 8 in Huay Xai
135 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront

Address: 666 Saiklang Rd, Moo 8 | Wieng Subdistrict, Chiang Khong 57140, Thailand (Formerly ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Khong
Price Range: $35 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the relaxing province of Chiang Rai, Ibis Styles Chiangkhong Riverfront Hotel location along the Mekong River, which is adjacent to the main road of Chiang Khong. The hotel is a Fusion between Lanna and Modern style. Hotel also has a wonderful and relaxing garden of hundred years old golden teak trees. Ibis Styles Chiangkhong Riverfront is right on the border between Thailand and Laos, and it is a convenient gateway to Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing