We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northern tranquility”
Review of Rai Saeng Arun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rai Saeng Arun
Ranked #1 of 12 Chiang Khong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Northern tranquility”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Sitting on the Mekong river looking across to Laos this small and very personal resort is a gem, they grow everything themselves and the whole atmosphere and experience is very tranquil and unhurried.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms high up on the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel located near Chiang Khong, Thailand on the Mekong River. Accommodation consists of spacious, nicely furnished individual bungalows. The service is friendly and helpful. The hotel grows most of the food it serves from rice, to strawberries, to a wide range of vegetables and herbs, all fee of artificial fertilisers. The fruit and vegetable gardens and the hotel grounds in general, with an abundance of trees, shrubs and flowers, are kept in immaculate condition. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and very inexpensive. There is not an extensive wine list but they will happily allow you to take your own bottles with no corkage charge. The location is good for exploring the stunning scenery, hill tribes, nearby towns and villages and the Golden Triangle.

CRF

Room Tip: Take your own wine. If you cannot cope with a long walk up steps, the bungalows atop the hill are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRFLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a beautiful set resort, with nice huts with wonderful views(ask for a riverview).
It is quite expensive for what you get, and I was a little upset that they charged 700 Baht for putting a matress in the hut for my daughter, we had bedding for her with us but when they asked if we liked a bed for her I thougt they were being nice.....
The breakfast was set and nice but much to much for us, dinner was also tasty although thinking ahead what you would like in the evening is not always easy.
There are only these wonderful calm surroundings to take in, if you don't have your own transportation you are stuck or in the hand of crazy van-drivers. Here they really drive like God himself is on their shoulder. Everything outside a nice walk or bikeride is more then an hour away over potholed small roads.
Chiang Khong is nice, specially on a marketday, and crossing the border is sort of fun too, just beware that you re-entry visa is only for 14 days, so don't go if you have longer to spend in Thailand!!!
The owner of the resort is nice, with very limited english, but helpful where he can. This is a unique place, and if you bring books or a yogamat you could pend ages here.

Room Tip: Have a look around before you decide on a room, if at all possible. We liked our riverview hut, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diederika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stunning position overlooking Mekong River but rooms are located at top of very steep steps, which were hard to navigate in the dark and path leading from room was very slippy following monsoon rain. Breakfast was only average. Some distance from Chiang Rai.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We unfortunately stayed here only one night - we should have stayed much longer!
It is a perfect hideaway, set in a magnificent farm land just on the Mekong river. We stayed in a riverside bungalow, it had a lovely large balcony facing the river. We had our child with us, the staff put a mattress on the floor, which was perfect. The bathroom is an outside space, an it was good fun having a shower under the sky:) Beware of mosquitos on the toilet...
The sunset was spectacular.
Dinner and breakfast were served on the large terrace overlooking the river. Food was delicious, fresh, and very tasty with lots of special herbs and spices.
I would recommend this place to anyone, but it really struck me what a perfect romantic retreat it would be.
Walk through the farm and gardens!
The hotel picked us up from the Chiang Klong border (about 30) minutes drive, and drove us all the way to Chiang Rai the next day for an adequate fee.

Room Tip: The Rim Khong bungalows have great balconies to view the spectacular sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is an exceptional place in all respects. We stayed for four nights and would have loved to stay longer. Surprisingly, we were the only Falang which we really enjoyed. The location is great, the garden as well, the food was real Thai style. The manager and the staff don't speak much English, but they try very hard to offer the best possible service. We loved the river bungalows (2 nights) but had to move to one on the hill for two more nights. Up there, you have a great view, more privacy and a more spacious room. However, the way is long and very steep which has to be considered when booking as well as the very hard mattresses. If you are looking for something really special with a great atmosphere, this is the place to go, and if you don't come in peak season you get a very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erdtopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This truly is a resort like no other. Situated amongst verdant countryside and abutting the Mekong River, the resort sits in an area which has (thankfully) not yet been discovered by the metropolitan Bangkok "elite" and is the only resort for many miles.

Accommodation is in good size bungalows, which sit in three locations:

- Riverside: These bungalows have a beautiful view of the river and are close to the outdoor restaurant, and also to the conference facility. The downside is that the bungalows and their individual terraces appear smaller than those on the hill side and are closely packed to each other;

- Canal side: These abut a small stretch of open water, and have the same drawbacks as the riverside bungalows. These would be my least favoured, but have the advantage of very few steps to negotiate and again being close to the restaurant.

- Hill side - These are situated furthest from the restaurant and require a walk through rice fields - on a board walk - and then a climb up the side of the hill; we counted 165 steps! These bungalows appear to be larger and have huge outdoor terraces. Some have beautiful views, others are deep in the bamboo forest, but all have the advantage of being very well spaced out, giving a feeling of total privacy. For me, the walk and climb was well worth it, given the beautiful situation of the accommodation. The staff will take care of transporting your luggage for you.

The food served in the restaurant is excellent and makes good use of the crops grown on the resort, and is very fresh. Prices are incredibly good for the quality of the food. The requirement that one pre-order the food during the day is the only downside, but a very small price to pay. Breakfast and dinner are taken at the outdoor restaurant with beautiful views of the Mekong and across to the hills of Laos. I could have sat for hours just looking at this beautiful scenery.

The atmosphere of the resort is one of complete calm and relaxation, an ideal place to recharge the batteries. The resort itself combines elements of farm, resort and nature reserve and each feels to be as important as the other, giving it a quite unique atmosphere. Indeed, I felt that "profitability" was not high on the owners' agenda, as much as an ethos of sharing their good fortune in having found this beautiful spot with their visitors and supporting the local community in providing employment.

The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, the owner being an absolute delight, gently teasing me about my very limited Thai language skills and genuinely delighted when I managed to get it right! A truly lovely and genuinely kind chap.

If you need a swimming pool, tour desk and lots of activities, then this is not the place for you. If however you want somewhere to totally relax in beautiful surroundings, being individually welcomed when you arrive, eating fresh, beautifully prepared food and staying in well appointed and comfortable accommodation - for which one would expect to pay much more than the rate charged - this is the place for you.

I thoroughly look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a hillside bungalow. For me, by far the best accommodation option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Khong hotels
11.2 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
0.0 mi away
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Namkhong Riverside Hotel
#4 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
Siam Tara Resort Chiangkhong
#5 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rai Phuchat Homestay
Rai Phuchat Homestay
#5 of 15 in Chiang Khong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
12.1 mi away
Chiangkhong Green River
Chiangkhong Green River
#4 of 15 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rai Saeng Arun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rai Saeng Arun

Property: Rai Saeng Arun
Address: 2 Moo 3 Baan Pakhub | Tambon Rimkong, Chiang Khong 5714, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Khong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Rai Saeng Arun Chiang Khong, Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing