We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$33
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Sangsomset
Helsinki, Finland
Upper floor rooms with balcony to Mekong and Lao!
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 6, 2012via mobile
Good basic hotel at Chiang Khong. Clean average rooms, upper floor really nice view from balconies. Good thai breakfast. Safe parking for motorbike. Good value
Date of stay: May 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $32
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $28
  • Booking.com
1.7 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
bar and lounge area
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
0.1 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $43
  • Booking.com
0.7 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
7.4 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free parking
Swimming pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.8 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $44
  • Priceline
11.3 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
  • ZenHotels.com
    $17
0.9 miles from Namkhong Riverside Hotel
View more hotels in Chiang Khong
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
20
70
22
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
70
22
7
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 120 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice hotel with good view to river and Laos. Parking outfront with security.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here one night in a garden room for 1000 baht a night (inc breakfast). Great value for money as the "garden view" was actually a great view of the Mekong from the balcony. Room was clean and had aircon. The restaurant was pretty cheap and the food good. The hotel seemed a little quiet when we were there but the staff were always on hand to help.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed 1 night here as walk ins and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. The rooms were medium sized and had a furnished balcony with wonderful views across the Mekong to Laos. Dinner in the restaurant was tremendous value with very good food and generous portions. The added bonus was live entertainment, good cocktails and cheap beer. If we travel this way again we would stay for a couple of days. Moving on to Chiang Mai was simple as the hotel has shared vans departing at 10.30 am daily from the hotel.

Room tip: Any river facing room should be OK. Reception level rooms are the most convenient.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed 2 nights (november 2011) in standard room including breakfast for 1000bt/night. In 2006 we stayed also 2 nights in this hotel for 600bt/night … at that time , this hotel was brandnew. There are 2 rates : 1000bt for a room without a view on the Mekong river, 1500bt for a room with view on Mekong river; actually ALL rooms look out on the river but from the rooms on the lowest floor you can’t see the water in the river ! So, is it worth to pay 500bt extra ? And furthermore : we got a room with riverview, despite our reservation for non-riverview … oléé ! Walk-in rates are even lower.
The hotel is still looking good and well maintained (even after 5 years), built in U-shape on the Mekong river bank. The rooms are small (20m²), but comfortable, very clean, tiled, and quiet at night. Good bed, good and silent airco, small TV, fridge. Clean, small bathroom, all amenities. Free Wifi. All rooms have a small balcony with 2 chairs, from where you can enjoy the riverlife on the Mekong. It’s always wise to bring your own insect repellent : don’t forget that the Mekong valley is NOT free of the dengue mosquito in places. No swimmingpool, but if you like to swim, go to Namkhong Guesthouse (same owner) and pay 50bt/pp for a very nice swimming pool in nice garden..
Breakfast is served in an open restaurant , overlooking the Mekong river : super! Don’t expect a Hilton- or Sheratonbreakfast, but for the price you pay, you may not complain.
Transport to Chiang Khong : from Chiang Rai central (old) busstation : take bus on platform 4 or bus on platform 18 for 65bt/pp, each hour, 2h20 driving. There are also direct buses from Chiang Mai and even from Bangkok. On arrival in Chiang Khong busstation (endpoint) you have to walk 1.2km ( ¾mile) or take a tuktuk. Chiang Khong is a sleepy town where the local people live on the ritme of the sun : after 8PM the 2 streets of town are abandonded, but at 6AM live begins. Chiang Khong is also the starting point for a 2-day slowboat rivertrip to Luang Prabang (Laos). You can make reservations for this trip at the tourdesk of the hotel.
Conclusion : quality for your money, this is a good hotel without glitter in Chiang Khong, with rooms with a view to die for. If you want better : go to Teak Garden , 200m.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Like so many others, we stayed here for one night before the slow boat down the Mekong. It is a basic hotel that was clean and cheap. Our room was on the top floor with a lovely view of the river. It was on the small side, but perfect for me (I personally don’t see the need for huge hotel rooms). The air con worked well and there was a little fridge for drinks etc. The bathroom was basic, but clean, with ample hot water. The towels could definitely do with replacing and were grey and thread bare. However, the bed was not very comfy with high, rock hard pillows and springy mattress – though I did manage to get an OK sleep.
The afternoon that we arrived, we were keen to have a drink and a snack after our few hour drive from Chiang Rai. We were told that there were too many other groups booked in and there was no food or drink available for us and to go elsewhere. They wouldn’t even just get us a beer or soft drink to have in our room. So we just walked along the road and along the river and found plenty of other places to snack and have dinner and drinks within a hundred metres. After having breakfast there the next morning, I’m pretty sure we didn’t miss a thing.
This hotel may be one of only two others that are not guesthouse/backpacker places in Chiang Khong. If I was to return I would choose one of the others. It's a shame as there is so much potential for this hotel to be 3 or 4 star...

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews