We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place but diabolical service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pico Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pico Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nasugbu
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place but diabolical service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is a nice. Rooms are bright and clean, bathrooms are very spacious. Balcony with a nice view in every room. The grounds are very well maintained and the place looks really nice. However, the service in all restaurants is simply diabolical. 30min wait for a glass of water is normal. In fact every single item we ordered took 30+mins. There is a distinct lack of management and instead just a lot of untrained staff running around with no systems in place. Another annoying aspect of our stay was that the costs for renting bikes or jet skies etc that are provided by the hotel are not what you are charged by the people that the hotel has outsourced all of these items to. What is worse is not only has the price gone up but the level of what is being provided has been reduced.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar from what I can tell and all seem to overlook the lakes that all of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oisin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    154
    103
    42
    27
See reviews for
210
48
Solo
0
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The only reason I'm giving 2 out of 5 is the area is beautiful and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. My wife and I brought her family(we had 4 rooms for 9 adults and 3 kids) for a relaxing 3 day get away. Check was good but when we got to our rooms it reminded me of a sterile hospital room, there is no bathtub and the shower walls were full of mold and the shower matt was so disgusting and full of mold I was afraid to touch it. We brought this to the attention of the manager Angel and she said they would take care of it the next morning while we were at the beach. When we returned to our room the walls were still full of mold but the shower matt was clean(not sure if they have heard of cleaning with bleach to keep the mold away). They make non-members wear a wrist tag so you stick out like a sore thumb(nothing like making you feel inferior to the members). You pretty much have to pay for anything you need or want to do except breath the air outside. Food was average and the prices are reasonable(for American standards, saw many complaints about the food being very pricey but I didn't see it that way). Staff was very friendly and the service I thought was great. We all enjoyed the beach and the rental fees for the beach activities seemed very reasonable compared to Hawaii, Florida and the Caribbean. The pool is very nice but my wife's brother was told he wasn't allowed in the water because he had tattoos, if we could have checked out that second we would have but didn't want to ruin the kids good time. Overall it was a very disappointing experience and we will NEVER come back here again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank seanmm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nasugbu hotels

Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel through an online reservation service and when we got there, our room had a different view from that of the one i booked (which was on a higher floor) so we informed the front desk of our concern. They were very accommodating and they worked on our issue immediately by giving us a room on a higher floor which I was happy with. Thanks to Ms. Angel!
The staff were also so attentive and accommodating. I guess they've improved their service as I've read a lot of negative reviews about this. (Reason why I was hesitant to book here in the first place) I enjoyed that the place was relaxing. The view of the lake was really nice and the beach too. Though I couldn't say the same about the food.
The food in this place wasn't so good. In fact it was too expensive for the quality. We did like their BBQ buffet which was at the Reef Bar but still, food wasn't THAT great. Beach activities and amenities are also quite expensive (jet ski for 15 mins is 2k, water taxi from beach to the lighthouse 900/10mins etc considering you can only look at the lighthouse) The rates are expensive even for the members who get a few bucks as a discount. I guess those are the only issues I have with this hotel.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but I wouldn't make this my weekend getaway. It is worth seeing though and maybe a visit once in a couple of months would be okay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wanderingpisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Before going to this Hotel to attend a family friends wedding, I was excited to see and stay at this hotel for I have heard so many people talking about this place / resort. However, upon arriving at this property, you can clearly see that the hotel was not built well. You can easily see the workmanship on how they built the hotel.

The room, although we good the second highest type of room, was very ordinary and lack amenities in a typical hotel. They don't have slippers, tiles are not level, beds are not hotel quality (quality is very cheap), few hangers, and the worst part is that the water in the bathroom is salty and has a smell which after taking a bath, you just wanted to take a bath again for the smell of the water is bad.

The food in the hotel are average and the pool is small considering that the pool also serves not only the hotel but also the guest of their condo units which is beside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilippineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My 4 year old daughter immensely enjoyed their playroom and pool. She even cried when we left and made me promise that we go back.
The room is spacious with a good view. Amenities are numerous: basketball court, badminton court, karaoke room, beach, kids playroom, swimming pools. They even have yaya & driver quarters.
It's a good family vacation place & we'd go back, just don't expect first class filipino service. But staff was polite, i think they are not just adequately trained on how to render better service.

Can get huge family crowds on long weekends.

Food is average. The free buffet breakfast has good choices of filipino food. Their dinner buffet at Php850 is not worth it as you can get quality buffet in manila at a lower price with better choices & taste.

Staff needs more training, eg: when we asked a waiter if coffee was included in the dinner buffet he didn't know & got back to us after 10 mins.
During the breakfast buffet we need to ask 5 waiters to get us a glass of water.

It will also help if there was a towel station nearer the hotel so you don't have to walk too far to get one & return it at the Club. Btw we can't even ask a staff to get a towel for us, even if we have to pay Php50 per towel. And we HAVE to return the towel back and can't leave it in the hotel room. Perhaps bringing a towel is a better alternative.

Overall, we will return (because i promised my daughter) for the amenities with adjusted expectation on service. However, i wonder if service were better if we came during non-peak.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

As Ive thought that I already seen the best, I was wrong.
We dont need to go too far as the Paradise is just around somewhere in Nasugbu, Batangas.
Everything's perfect, huge pool, clean beach, new facilities, majestic views!!!
Its like were in a place where happiness never ends!!!

But I do agree with the others regarding the service in restaurant, particularly in Lagoa. The price of the food doesnt bother us, it's the service, where we need to wait an hour before the food arrives.

We are already planning a next trip, this time a mininum of 5 nights/6 days/100%FUN!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apu19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had the chance to hold our office team building at this place. Great rooms and amenities. Awesome view, the mountain and the sea.

To roam around, there's a shuttle that you can ride. Had the chance to use their karaoke room, enough for our group to have fun and sing our hearts out as there were 3 of them. There's also a billiard and bowling area. The beachfront area was great for team activities. There's a lot of things to do. Several big swimming pools. Good food as well.

Although the place is great, amenities great, it all became worthless because of the service we've received when we wanted to do more activities to bond our group. Some staff didn't even help us get what we need or didn't even point us to the right person. Bad service.

The following day my boss spoke with the manager and she didn't have any idea what happened. She was apologetic though and gave free lunch to our group and allowed us to use the recreation area.

The place is great, but wouldn't rate the same for the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenna170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nasugbu
16.4 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
18.3 mi away
Chateau Royale Hotel Resort and Spa
37.3 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
27.6 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
63.4 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pico Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pico Sands Hotel

Property: Pico Sands Hotel
Address: Pico de Loro Cove, Hamilo Coast | Brgy. Papaya, Nasugbu, Luzon 4231, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Nasugbu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nasugbu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pico Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pico Sands Hotel is a tropical contemporary seven-storey hotel within the coastal community of Pico De Loro Cove at Hamilo Coast. It has 154 spacious, thoughtfully designed guest rooms with awe-inspiring views of the mountains and a tranquil man-made lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pico Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pico Sands Hotel Batangas/Nasugbu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing