We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pico Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pico Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nasugbu
Cebu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expected more”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Good things about the resort:
1. Good landscaping and planning of the property
2. Restaurant design is nice - beach club.
3. Comfortable pillow & duvet.

Bad things about the resort:
1. TERRIBLE SERVICE. Staff doesn't have guest contact skills. Very rude.
2. When I booked the hotel, specifically told them that I want 1 queen or king size bed only. Was checked in on 2 double beds.
3. The structure is really bad, everything you say and do echoes. Voices in other rooms, kids crying, and voices in other floors.
4. Interior of the room is so industrial. Felt like I was in an office and not a resort.
5. No value for money. Very expensive for experience offered.
6. Wasn't even informed that hotel pool was under construction when I booked the hotel.
7. No comfort. No minibar, no room service, nothing. Most inconvenient vacation ever.
8. Lost the copy of my information and credit card guarantee during check out. Reason was no turn-over from previous front office staff. Not acceptable.
9. Customer service seems foreign to all staff.
10. Food takes a long time to be served.

In summary, never going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JAQY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    154
    103
    42
    27
See reviews for
210
48
Solo
0
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sta. Rosa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked a lagoon view room and was on the 2nd floor of the hotel. We planned to get to the hotel early but forgot about the long weekend and there were lots of people going to Tagaytay and Nasugbu for some relaxation. Checking in was fast when our turn came, the room was spacious, the toilet was clean and with complete amenities.

The club pool was being renovated at that time, so there was only one pool available at the beach club. Then there was a typhoon looming around northern luzon which still affected the weather in Batangas - strong waves, a little bit of rain from time to time which somewhat limited the kids swimming time during the first day. With only one pool and strong waves you can't imagine how crowded the pool got. Hot water wasn't running in our room! . Was also disappointed with the choices during breakfast, the kids were looking forward to the standard breakfast fare offered by other resorts/hotels i.e. tocino or adobo or corned beef or hotdogs or beef tapa (this is Batangas!!!). There was only bacon, pork sausage, fish fillet, and the standard egg counter. Fresh fruits, pastries/breads, juices, coffee was also available. Would have loved champorado due to the weather :-)

The resort provides shuttle service to move people around, the kids enjoyed it initially but as the day progressed so did the batteries running the electric trams. They shifted to gasoline powered trams/vans which weren't properly maintained as they spewed out fumes that stuck to your clothes. As mentioned in most reviews you have to pay for the beach/pool towels and you cant use your own, they also offer lockers (for free) for you to leave your things and enjoy the pool/beach.

The kids enjoyed the facilities - bowling, billiards, playroom (could use a few more games), basketball, the pool, and the fried chicken, pizza and bolognese pasta for dinner. Buffet dinner wasn't that enticing as the food looked pale.

Overall, we'd love to come back once the pool renovation is finished and with better weather conditions. And maybe stay on one of those condo units.

Room Tip: They didn't check our bags as the kids brought their junk food and juices/milk, bring some as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald_MGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice, sleek and cozy rooms, even if the look is a bit on the austere, spartan side. We had a fourth floor room overlooking the hills, and the view of the green carpet of hillside trees added to the coziness and serene atmosphere. The twin beds were big enough to accommodate four people (even adults), although I’m told that not all rooms have queen-size beds, so do check and inquire first.

We were a big group occupying several rooms, and we commend the security and front desk staff for efficiently and graciously helping out a senior citizen who wandered from her room and promptly got lost. They not only got the job done, but were great in reassuring the lost lady and keeping her comfortable and relaxed.

The breakfast buffet, however, was below par in most respects. Selection was limited (typical Filipino breakfast choices, good but not great), but more importantly the food kept running out and could not be replenished fast enough, resulting in long lines of people waiting impatiently by the buffet tables. Plates, dishes and cutlery ran out fast too, so guests improvised by using coffee cups for juice, and saucers for plates, etc. The buffet table is laid out in the main lobby, contributing to the overall disorder.

However, the lunch buffet at the beachside clubhouse was superior (expensive but really tasty).

Tip: Take the back exit (facing the lake), and you could walk conveniently to the main pool and clubhouse, rather than walk on the outside roadway from the front entrance (a much longer and less picturesque walk) or waiting for a shuttle bus.

The pools at the clubhouse area are huge and excellent. (The pool at the beach club less so.)

For Sunday visits, the Sunday Mass at the glass chapel up on the hill is a truly serene experience .... great view.

Room Tip: Ask if the beds are full-size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked 2 rooms at the Pico Sands Hotel way before I read all those negative reviews in Tripadvisor. After reading thru the reviews, I wanted to cancel my reservation thinking that it would be just a waste of money to spend time in a hotel with "poor" service. We went ahead anyways.

Let me say that the service is superb, from the front desk when we checked in, to the bell hop and housekeeping personnel, the pool attendants and lifeguards and the restaurant personnel. They were all courteous and served with a smile, showed genuine willingness to accommodate us and always followed up on whether we had any problems with the service. I was thinking, perhaps the bad reviews worked and they had to really level up the standard of their service.

Pico de Loro is a nice place with a big lake in the middle and manicured landscape all around. Pico Sands Hotel had big rooms and comfortable beds. What I didn't like about the whole set-up was that the hotel had no amenities whatsoever, except for a restaurant/bar and a spa. If you want to swim, you had to go to either the Beach Club (for swimming in the sea or in their small pool) or the Country Club. If one ones to play some bowling, badminton, basketball, even computer games or go to the gym, one has to go to the Country Club. All these amenities can be availed of for a fee (even members have to pay).

The pool in the Country Club is a very short walk from the hotel and really good. It is a huge infinity pool overlooking the lake. It has multiple levels and smaller sections where children can play and where small groups can stay exclusively, if they wanted to. There are abundant lounge chairs around the pool, some even submerged in a few inches of water so that one can relax with the water over their body. As one sits in these lounge chairs, one can look far away into the sea. It is a beautiful view. The downside is the towels have to be rented (at 50 pesos per day) and there are separate towels for the pool and the showers!

Food in the restaurant is good but not exceptional except for the Bulalosso, their take on the bulalo cooked osso buco style. The buffet breakfast had very few choices and some dishes tasted bland.

Nothing in the area comes free except for the ride in the shuttle buses to go around. So if you want to spend time in the area, better come with a full wallet.

Room Tip: Reserve the rooms overlooking the lake. These are the odd-numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Bingcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyama, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We checked-in three rooms with the whole family of six and 3 relatives, the counter check-in was fast and spacious clean rooms were great with all the complete amenities. Staffs were all courteous, has a very warm smile and ready to assist in all our needs. We ate a sumptuous dinner at the Sun Coral cafe and enjoyed their filipino meals. Amenities are complete for the whole family at the adjacent beach and country club esp. the wide pools. Views are breathtaking!

Room Tip: Rooms with lagoon view are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikojosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valenzuela
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Staff are very polite, friendly and accommodating. From the guards, frontdesk, waiters/waitresses, shuttle drivers, they always have a smile on their faces.

The pools are all awesome, beach is not whitesand but gray. quality of sand is not so fine. enjoyed playing with the waves though.

The only downside is the very long travel from Manila.

Room Tip: choose the premiere room with the lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvetsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Spent last Saturday to Sunday here. Knowing that the check in time was 2pm. We arrived around 11am and asked if we could do an early check in. We don't mind if they don't allow us since i guess they need time to clean up the rooms of those who checked out at their checkout time of 12pm. So we waited until 2pm. Already the counter is filled with people. I can compare this check in counter to an SM mall sale. After waiting in line, receptionist told us that we had to wait a bit more. We got checked in at 3pm. I mean, does it take 3 hours to fix the rooms? How many people do they have to clean them anyways. On the lighter side, I give the check in receptionists a thumbs up since they seem to remain calm and kind even though there is already chaos at the check in counters.

The rooms are quite nice and has everything you need.The pool design is great but some of the tiles are already chipping off. The food at the restaurant downstairs is just alright. The beach at the beach club is as expected of Batangas beaches which is just fine. Although we saw a lot of trash washed up shore probably because of the storm the night before. Those rubbish probably have been washed up all the way from Manila Bay.

Another thing we didn't like is that when we looked at the list of activities that can be done while we where there, Everything has a fee. People may not know this but most of the resorts we've been to (and yes even the member's only clubs) have a lot of free activities. In Pico, you pay for the use of kayak, bikes, billiard tables, everything. Punta Fuego is just a few minutes away and almost all of the non-motorized activities are free to members and guests as long as you are checked in.

And lastly, another thing we hated is the fact that you can no longer order food at the beach club resto once you have checked out. WTF. We checked out at 12pm the next day on time and decided to stay at the Beach club to take pictures and have lunch there before we ride home. And just when we were about to order. The waiter asked for our card. This is the card that we used throughout our stay for them to swipe and record it on our our bill. But we already surrendered that because we have already checked out. So we told the waiter, we will just pay in cash. He kindly said that they don't allow cash payments in the resto! Duh!!! That is stupid SM! You are loosing a lot of money because of this.

All in all I can say is there are much better places in nasugbu where you can enjoy your weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chorvazona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nasugbu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nasugbu
16.4 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
18.3 mi away
Chateau Royale Hotel Resort and Spa
37.3 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
27.6 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
63.4 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pico Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pico Sands Hotel

Property: Pico Sands Hotel
Address: Pico de Loro Cove, Hamilo Coast | Brgy. Papaya, Nasugbu, Luzon 4231, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Nasugbu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nasugbu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pico Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pico Sands Hotel is a tropical contemporary seven-storey hotel within the coastal community of Pico De Loro Cove at Hamilo Coast. It has 154 spacious, thoughtfully designed guest rooms with awe-inspiring views of the mountains and a tranquil man-made lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Pico Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pico Sands Hotel Batangas/Nasugbu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing