We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'True Kenyan experience, beautiful setting'”
Review of Ziwa Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ziwa Bush Lodge
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Nakuru
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'True Kenyan experience, beautiful setting'”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Ziwa Bush Lodge is an amazing Kenyan experience. The rooms are beautiful, natural and well designed. Four pillar beds, incredible pillows and bathroom. The main lounge had comfortable day beds, high thatched roof and delicious meals. Very easy to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The staff were all so friendly, thoughtful and efficient. We were there for a beautiful meal out under the stars then returning to our bed with folded down sheets. We visited Lake Nakuru Park with ease - the lodge is a great location whether local or tourist. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Owner at Ziwa Bush Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Hi
Thanks so much for taking your time to leave us such a brilliant review. We are so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back once again for an experience just as memorable as the first.
Thanks again
Ben Spinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    52
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
41
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Really amazing experience at this place. The staff is great- super helpful and the setting could not be more peaceful. The food is lovely and made to order. They were very accommodating to my special dietary needs. All the little touches were great. Live music at dinner. Turndown of the bed with a hot water bottle left under the pillow. Great room cleaning and the list goes on... Highly recomend this place for a relaxing retreat.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chaployniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Owner at Ziwa Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving a review for us at Ziwa.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we welcome you back to stay with us once again.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I too will remember our stay here. The layout, staff, hot homestyle meals, hot water bottles,evening music made this place of of our favorites.Well done Ziwa for creating this quiet, countryside haven

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Owner at Ziwa Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us - especially all of our small touches which go a long way to make our guests happy.
We would be happy to see you here again - welcome back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We had the perfect holiday at ziwa lodge.we had a warm welcome by sam,who hosted us our entire vacation.They upgraded us to there executive rooms at no extra charge. I was amazed how he gave us the list of activities to do around ziwa and nakuru, was also impressed by the rest of the staff who maid our stay perfect and also paln our breakfast and dinner...They have an exellent chef who makes delicious food.
The staff went out of there way to make a suprise dinner which I had asked for,and sam without any hesitation maid it possible and decorated the entire table and walking path with candles. They also have a very talented musician who can play both the piano and guitar,he would play during our entire dinner.
The EAMO ophange was the best place to be in and our best visit also. Meeting most the kids whilr they played something or the other..sam introduce us to the kids. Been there with the kids is just amazing. And I was impressed by the behaviour of the kids also, ben and his team are doing an amazing job to cater for about 250 children and everything is home grown.
I could write alot mre details but in short id definitely recommend ziwa to everyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Owner at Ziwa Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review - we are very appreciative.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Ziwa and that Sam was able to make you feel so comfortable during your time here.
The staff thoroughly enjoyed meeting your requirements to make your requested surprise evening dinner so special and they will always go out of their way to meet our guests needs.
We are also happy that you took the time to meet our children in the orphanage and we know they appreciate every visitor they get.
We welcome you back again
Ziwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We just got back from our holiday and couldnt have asked for any better get away place. Ziwa Bush Lodge was extremely amazing. Location is fantastic, very peaceful with an excellent view. We were upgraded to the executive rooms which were simple yet elegant.The restaurant serves delicious food and the view is excellent. The highlight of this hotel are the staff especially the manager Sam. They went an extra mile to make us feel comfortable and gave us a personalized service. They can anticipate your needs and dont need to be told anything. Went out of their way to provide the most romantic dinner i have ever had in my life. And not forgetting the musician available who is extremely talented, who plays for you while you dine.Everything was perfect and excellent! I would definitely recommend it to all. Simply loved it. :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anju A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Owner at Ziwa Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for taking time to leave us such a fantastic a review. We are so pleased to hear that you has such an amazing time with us on your stay and we are proud of our staffs ability to make our guests feel so comfortable. Here at Ziwa we are willing to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure that each persons time is just as memorable as the next. We are happy that we were able to provide you with such a romantic environment and for your appreciation of this.
We really hope to see you again soon and welcome you back for a return visit.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was in Kenya for work and hadn't thought that I would get the chance to rest and relax until I left the country. What a pleasant surprise when I got to Ziwa. Peaceful and surrounded by sights and sounds of nature, it was exactly what I needed. With a great kitchen that provided me with delicious but simple meals and internet connectivity, I did not need to step outside of the lodge for the duration of my stay and missed the outside world not once.
My beautiful bungalow and its amazing decor really played up the safari theme in a modern and yet classic way.
The staff were attentive and friendly and made me feel like I was a world away from the work that I had come to the country for. I rarely feel sadness at checking out of my accommodation as I have done when I checked out of Ziwa.
Looking for a romantic private get away? Time alone? Time away from the hustle and bustle of modern life? It doesn't get much better than Ziwa - would definitely go back to Nakuru just for Ziwa Lodge...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aeolian1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Owner at Ziwa Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us a brilliant review.
We are happy that Ziwa Bush Lodge provided you with a chance to rest after a busy time of work.
We are proud to say that our staff will always do their level best to ensure our guests feel at home and forget the hussle and bussle of their busy everyday lives.
We welcome you back to stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Ziwa bush lodge was simply magical just returned 27th April 2014 .Rooms are clean well kept showers nice and hotel. The peace is very peaceful and relaxing. Food was on point. If you want to get away from it all Ziwa is the place to go.
Will be back soon.
Andrew Nderu

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_N_J3896IX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Owner at Ziwa Bush Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us a review.
We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us. We continue to maintain our high standards in our rooms, cleanliness and are continuously improving our already delicious food.
We welcome you back once again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakuru
8.1 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
828 reviews
5.0 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 17 in Nakuru
59 reviews
18.3 mi away
Elementaita Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Punda Milias Nakuru Camp
9.2 mi away
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
#2 of 17 in Nakuru
27 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Lake Nakuru Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ziwa Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ziwa Bush Lodge

Property: Ziwa Bush Lodge
Address: PO Box 15416, Nakuru 20100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nakuru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Nakuru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ziwa Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new, Ziwa Bush Lodge only has 9 en-suite units available, offering a boutique experience to its guests. Each individual room is made from local stone, canvas and makuti roofing (folded palm leaves) with its beautifully and uniquely handcrafted cedar furniture made on site by Kenyans living in and around Nakuru town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Ziwa Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing