We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Oyster Shell,hotel,Nakuru”

Oyster Shell Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Nakuru
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner at Oyster Shell,hotel,Nakuru”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We liked Oyster Shell hotel,it used to be a home and it still has sweet home look, the ambience is good , the place is tastefully furnished,located away from the hustle and bustle of the town,makes one to feel like home,the food is good too and the menu varied.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mghoi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious and secluded”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A friend and I spent an afternoon in the lounge, relaxing on the couches. We had hookah, drinks and a meal. The food was delicious but a little expensive. The hookah was inexpensive compared to the US, but it required a lot of work from the server to keep it working correctly. Cocktails are pricey and very sweet.
But the atmosphere was relaxing. It was nice to feel like we were getting away from everything and able to let our hair down, so to speak. The service was attentive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something for everybody”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Away from the highway behind the supermarket Naivas, is a small 2 storys house. Rover the restaurant and a bar on ground floor and biljard room, ekstra room for parties or when many guest, and then what I really enjoy a balcony with a fantastic view over. Lake Nakuru, all though it is far. First time we ate in the restaurant, but all the other times i ate on the balcony.

Good variation on the asian menu, but also african food and european food. I really love their T-bone and you can get it rare. Service is good, and even if you sit on balcony long away from restaurant room, you still got good service.

Prices are not cheap, but not expensive eighter. A T-bone is i.e. 1100 shilling.

Outside many nice flowers and good parking. Only 100 meter to walk if you want transport.

Been there at least 10 times, and will come again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RunarAndreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A meal to remember”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

When we were getting ready to say goodbye to our daughter recently we took her out for lunch to the Oyster Shell.

The food was fresh, the service courteous and quick. A great overall experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1967tazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food so-so - decor is awful!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I hated the decor as soon as I went into the restaurant. The outside definitely needs a landscape artist. The interior is a mish-mash of styles and materials. There is no theme and it does not blend into the building. The tables and chairs look like they have seen better days - I would use them as firewood. For the prices they charge, they could do a better job with the interior.
Also, the bar is too close for comfort and I don't like my kids looking at drunks sitting there at lunch time, watching football. That T.V is another one of my dislikes about this place. Not going back there ever!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neelam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Shell Restaurant also viewed

Nakuru, Rift Valley Province
Nakuru, Rift Valley Province
 
Nakuru, Rift Valley Province
Nakuru, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Oyster Shell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing