We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for a Stopover in Nakuru”
Review of Chester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chester Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Nakuru
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Stopover in Nakuru”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed in this hotel returning from a safari. What is offered was good basic rooms with a shower, however it felt like luxury after a few nights in the wilderness.
The staff were excellent, probably the most friendly I have ever experienced at a hotel anywhere. The residents restaurant was good and the food was nice.
I was staying there for one night on a stop over, so can say the rooms offed a decent nights sleep however staying there for days or weeks I would probably have rated it differently as some aspects of the room are basic, however the rooms are large and clean and the staff are only too happy to help if need anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
7
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed one night here whilst touringi . We had rooms in the annexe over the road. The room was basic but clean. One problem was the strange plumbing - we had little hot water and our friends in another room had no water at all in the morning.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Meals were fine

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for one night as part of a safari tour, visiting Lake nakuru for a day. The hotel appears to have two buildings, i was in the slightly newer larger one opposite the sports ground. I found all the staff friendly and helpful, the restaurant had a good buffet selection, the room was clean, large enough, with a mosquito net, I felt safe, and I was able to relax no problem. The only gripe I have is the the traffic outside seemed quite noisy, esp the motorcycles, and they didn't really seem to stop all night long. Apart from that i was happy enough, and would recommend this place a stop over for a night or two. Sure it's not the Hilton but for the price you pay you have to be realistic, and this is fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ForceTranquille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for a night after visiting the lake Nakuru wildlife reserve. I found it good after staying in very basic campsite in Amboseli. Our travel agents Africa Home Adventure had booked us here. The hotel is a budget hotel with basic amenities. The double rooms we were given on the fourth floor was clean, had attached clean bathroom with a geyser. The bed had a mosquito net. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant was on the first floor. The food was simple but had options for both Dinner & breakfast.

I would surely recommend this Hotel for 1 night or 2 nights but expect very basic comforts in a clean environment. The rooms service doesn't almost exist but for 1 night our stay was good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new building & ask for a rooms on the opposite end of the road as the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivajimuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I didn't like the wing where we were put up; I didn't like the room; there was no service available. There was no fridge also in the building we were in. Even in main restaurant there was no Ice or cold water available. The new wing across the road where they have restaurant and reception appeared better.
The hotel was a little far from Nakuru town so there wasn't any place to roam around also. In the dark when I went to the general provision store nearby, I felt scared. My room was pretty noisy as the staff and guests who would be in the building would talk and all noise came in clearly.
The morning tea ordered by us cost shilling 150 BUT room service was shilling 200 !!
Thankfully we were there for just the night.
There was ONE major plus point which I must mention and thank the hotel. A camera left by us was found by cleaner and returned to the hotel. When we called up from Masai Mara , we were told that camera was safe with them. For this they must be appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohinarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nakuru hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed here on my way through Nakuru.I picked it as it's out of town.The room was ok facing a housing scheme although I was told I could see the lake.The linen was quite old and I never got to see the sport channel after having confirmed it was there.I enjoyed the breakfast.I would stay again if they can improve on those small things.

Room Tip: Away from noisy town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here as a family of four for 3 days. Initial impression was good with very welcoming and helpful staff. Their parking is on the road so staff holds an umbrella for you from car to the door. The room was dated but nothing outstandingly bad, however the bed was old and squeeky and as our windows were to the road side, it was very noisy at night. We had a dinner at the hotel on our arrival - don't do that! We paid a lot and the bill was not broke down (just the total amount), and the menu only was in a waiter's head, so there was no way of checking for what we overpaying. We got much nicer and much cheaper dinner on other days in the town. Breakfast experience was strange - one day there was a conference, so they served lots of various food - nice! Other 2 day there were only few people, and they didn't even have cereal+milk, and other food was a bit short. Overall was very average but I would look for another hotel if I come to Nakuru again.

Room Tip: Choose not the road side and possibly on a higher floor so no mosquitos guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toja555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakuru
0.7 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Suites
Legacy Hotel & Suites
#5 of 17 in Nakuru
6 reviews
1.0 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 17 in Nakuru
62 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
#3 of 17 in Nakuru
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle Palace Hotel
Eagle Palace Hotel
#1 of 50 in Nakuru
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kivu Resort
Kivu Resort
#25 of 50 in Nakuru
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Hotel

Property: Chester Hotel
Address: Kariba Rd | PO Box 2342, Nakuru 20100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nakuru
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Nakuru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester Hotel is located 1 km south of Nakuru town, and 2km north of the famous Lake Nakuru National park - home to flamingos. Check in for incomparable comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing