We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Ways to Experience Nakasendo Magome Walking Trail
from $646.53
More Info
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveler rating
312
232
71
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
312
232
71
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea house the bus stay overnight post town your luggage self guided walking stick tourist office starting point hiking shoes lots of photo opportunities day trip authentic experience rest stop beautiful scenery down hill the main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 627 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

This is the place where we started our walk on the Nakasendo Trial towards Tokyo. They are known for their grilled rice ball's with paste. Other than the normal souvenir shops there is nothing much else to do or see.

Thank kmquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015

See my description under "Magome to Tsumago forest walk" for more details. Nothing to say but good things, superb forest, pretty preserved old trade post villages and friendly Japanese people.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015

We absolutely loved this. Train and bus to Magome, beautiful old trade post town on ancient trade route from Tokyo to Kyoto(?). We did a 7.7km walk to Tsumago through superb bamboo forest, it felt like the real Japan. We met many walkers en route, enjoying the scenery, had green tea at a free restroom along the path, many superb views and allegedly bears to ward off although I think that's more fable than fact! Tsumago was also a quaint old village worth a visit. Lots of photo opportunities.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2015

Magome along the feudal Nakasendo route is a charming attractive town, with shops and eateries lined up on both sides of a steep path. The shops and buildings are relatively modern; but it nevertheless is an attractive and enjoyable place to visit. There is a great lookout point at the top. Accessible by car, or walk from Nakatsugawa

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank sodesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2015

We visited in late January, when snow lined the trek between Tsumago and Magome, so walking between the two was not something we could do. As the buses don't run frequently between the two destinations, we decided to catch a cab from Tsumago to Magome. The ride takes about 20-30 minutes and costs between JPY 2,500 to JPY 3,000, which is expensive. Unfortunately this was our only option at the time.

Another thing to note is that the shops in Tsumago and Magome close between November to April, so the towns were pretty much deserted when we visited. There are however a few shops open. In Magome, these included a sake shop, local food shop, and a few touristy ones (see my review on Tsumago on what was open there).

That aside, if you like Japanese history and historic architecture, then this is a good time to visit. Being so quiet, it is possible to get photos of the beautiful old buildings without any people in them. There are also a few amazing lookout points in Magome, so it is worth navigating the strip from end to end. The view of the surrounding mountain ranges (which remain green throughout the year) is stunning. Look out also for the impressive water wheel which spans (if I'm not mistaken) three stories.

---

Magome vs Tsumago

Magome and Tsumago have a very different feel. I don't regret visiting both of them, and if you've come all this way to visit, you might as well see them both!

Magome is rather hilly and steep, and for me, felt just a touch more commercialised and touristy then Tsumago. Tsumago is on the slightest incline, and so easier to navigate. I would recommend allocating about an hour to two to explore each of them.

---

Where to stay

We spent the night at an amazing country house called Takiminoie. If you wanted to spend a night in the Kiso Valley, but off the main strips of Tsumago and Magome, then I recommend staying here.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank Caryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews