We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - best in area - a bit pricy”
Review of Planter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planter's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sekondi-Takoradi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - best in area - a bit pricy”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Although during my stay for work, renovations were ongoing to the pool and restaurant, disruption was minimised, although if I had wanted to use the pool I would have been disspointed.
Very cmart, clean and well equipped - I stayed in the executive room upstairs which was very good quality.

I would stay there again - if the firm is paying!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy-sailor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
6
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

"Whoever runs this place, goes by a high standard of excellence". That's the first thing I thought when we drove onto the grounds of Planter's Lodge. It is a fantastic place to escape to for the weekend. The staff are attentive and friendly but what stood out was the food! Had a prawns dish that still brings a smile to my face. Very much worth the drive/flight to Takoradi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just a mind-blowing experience. Didn't want to leave the hotel grounds. It was so beautiful and peaceful. Perfect getaway. Loved the steak and lobster. Staff were bending over themselves to please. At $200 per night it was worth every bit. We stayed in the lovely garden rooms, though I did get to peek in the plush executives suites. Definitely going back.

Room Tip: The garden rooms go for about $200 and are lovely but if you can get the executive suites or bungalo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff are helpful, friendly and efficient. Stayed here while trying to find accommodation in Takoradi and felt like I was at home. The food was always excellent and even though renervations seemed constant, the overall atmosphere was idealic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

very nice clean rooms. staff are very helpful. wifi service is good. restaurant is good for lunch and dinners. breakfast is not worth it. a nice family run joint giving that personal touch. not many amenities available. layout of hotel is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afrequenttraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights during a business trip in late July, It is a very clean, well-run establishment that takes full advantage of the currently hot economy in Ghana. At the rates they charge for a bare-bones room you should get hot water for a shower every morning. This eventually got better after I complained but it took a few times. If it weren't for that I'd give them a higher rating. The staff is very attentive and helpful. Their restaurant is excellent and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Specifically ask that the hot water to your room be turned on and left on for your entire stay. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a resort with big rooms and bathroom, a very quiet place, located in the outskirt of Takoradi. The resort has a nice restaurant and pool area. The breakfast was good with good selection. The service was very good and they allowed us to check out late.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odd_Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sekondi-Takoradi hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Plus Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takoradi Select
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takorad...
#2 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Takoradi Standard Hotel
Takoradi Standard Hotel
#7 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stellar Lodge
Stellar Lodge
#5 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raybow International Hotel
Raybow International Hotel
#9 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms by Eagles
The Palms by Eagles
#1 of 25 in Sekondi-Takoradi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planter's Lodge

Property: Planter's Lodge
Address: Dixcove Hill | Beach Road, Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Western Region > Sekondi-Takoradi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sekondi-Takoradi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Planter's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planter's Lodge is Ghana's Only Luxury Heritage Hotel offering excellent dining and first class accommodation in an exotic tropical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Planter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planter`s Hotel Sekondi-Takoradi
Planter's Lodge Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing