We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vine cottage”
Review of Vine Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vine Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Wissen B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vine cottage”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Bob welcomed us to his beautifully restored 300 year home with a cup of tea and great local knowledge of the best motorcycle routes in the area ,vine cottage is clean and comfortable and the full English breakfast was very good ,vine cottage is in a quite village ideal for getting away from it all but close enough to Wissen to enjoy the facilities of a small town(which bob was quite happy to give us a lift to) guest staying at the cottage were like minded motorcyclists so sitting outside with a bottle of local beer was a relaxing pleasure .excellent value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
st annes
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Bob who is the owner / chef is certainly a character accomadtion is good comfy beds good honesty bar well stocked , good breakfast. We also had an evening meal there as we were too lazy to go to the village and dinner was good, the village really is a hamlet and bobs sign is easy to miss so keep your eyes open

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidstannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Vine Cottage, upon arrival Bob greets you and makes you very welcome straight away and has been very helpful with any local knowledge you may need and will do his best to help you with anything he can.

The rooms are on suite, clean and very well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities.

The building itself is over 300 years old and has been renovated beautifully, it is set in a village surrounded by trees/forest but is a great place to drive/ride to or from the surrounding countryside which isn’t too far from the main carriage-way wherever you may heading.

Bob the host is originally from Britain so when it comes to breakfast he knows what we like and wow it’s great and sets you up for the start of the day. Evening meals are also cook in house and have been very tasty however the nearby village has a number of places to dine out if you wish.

I have stopped here a few times and have been very happy with the rooms, the building and the host. It’s good value for money with a personal touch, much better than being greeted at a check-in desk.

Have just noticed that all reviews are positive, that say's everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhu-Beau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My son and I stopped at Vine Cottage earlier this month (May 2013) and having done about 3,000 miles in 7 days by this time, were so glad to find a warm welcome, great home cooked food and a super comfy bed to sleep in. Breakfast the next morning was equally impressive and Bob, our host, was great company and a real gent. There was good, dry parking for the bikes and the area around the Cottage is stunning. We highly recommend Vine Cottage to bikers and non-bikers alike.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

What a hidden gem this place is. Ideally situated close to the Ruhr Valley in Wissen, within beautiful countryside; our host, Bob, is a real gentleman. We were a group of four motorcyclists from London, England and were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. I honestly cannot praise this place highly enough. If you are planning a trip to this area, you simply could not go wrong by staying here. In fact, if you were not planning to visit this area, then it is about time you should!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECILOP159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I had an extended stay at Vine Cottage during our motorcycle trip around Europe. The cottage is in a quiet location which is peaceful and relaxed but within easy reach of Wissen where there are some excellent eateries. There is safe undercover parking for motorcycles and the rides around the area are top rate. The museum at Westerwald nearby is an absolute 'must see' for any motorcycle buff and especially so if you like the BMW marque. We stayed over a week and were never short of places to ride or towns to see. The accommodation is excellent with a top restoration having been done to the historic house. Good WiFi access and satellite TV from the UK if you are not too tired at night from your days travels. Good food and drinks available at the cottage - nothing to fault.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Vine Cottage is a charming place to stay set in the small village of Pirzenthal. The accomodation is comfortable and very tidy throughout, with tea and coffee making facilities provided in your room. Locally souced produce is used for the cooked breakfast and as a bonus evening meals and drinks are available on request.

It is motorcycle friendly, offering covered parking and ideally located, well within half day run of both the euro tunnel and ferry ports. The local roads are easy to ride and the Cottage is well placed for day trips to the Mohne Dam and also the Nurburgring, a large map is displayed on the first floor landing for route planning...

Local town of Wissen has supermarkets and restaurants. The Old Bakery Steakhouse is highly recommended.

Overall an ideal place to stay, booking was easy, we will definitely be returning...

Room Tip: For couples choose the 'old family room' as this is spacious and the large hand carved bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vine Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage

Property: Vine Cottage
Address: Pirzenthal 20, 57537 Wissen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Wissen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wissen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vine Cottage is a 17th century "Tudour House" ,which has been fully renovated.All rooms having private facilities. The house and gardens have been given an English Feel as the owner is British. The "Triumph Bar" has a a good selection local beers and International spirits. Bar snacks are also available. Vine Cottage has been open for 10 years and has traditionally had a Biker Friendly policy. The local area ,The Westerwald, is a beautiful relatively unknown part of Germany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vine Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing