We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bearnock Country Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
$165
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$116
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
$130
$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
$245
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$155
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priory Hotel(Beauly)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
22
8
8
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
8
8
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog cabinsteep hillsilver birchlovely cottageloch nessbasic channelskitchen utensilsfloor boardsdonaldbedroomdvdsinvernesselectricityornamentsfortremote
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 50 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Met by friendly owner. Heating was not working but was immediately attended to and fixed.Comfortable bed and everywhere very clean.We spent three nights here cycling. Beautiful countryside and plenty of off road cycling.
Negatives..... No hair dryer and patio furniture very tired although patio gets full sun in afternoon, lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in Brochs. The website needs redone. More3/4 star than 5 but if you go bearing this in mind you should enjoy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked one of the cottages for a few nights (without first checking Trip Advisor). Despite the website saying that only a deposit of £100 was required with the balance payable on arrival, the owner insisted on the full amount of £395 to be paid up-front. Reluctantly, we did this in good faith. Due to unfortunate family circumstances, we had to cancel our booking a couple of days later, but still with a good few weeks notice. We had reasonably expected to lose our £100 deposit; however, we had not prepared ourselves for what happened next. The owner failed to refund any of the money. When we called him, he either refused to take our calls or, if he did, he literally hung-up on us during the call. When we asked for the balance of £295 to be refunded, he said that his policy was to refund not more than 50% and, even then, this would be at his discretion. Conveniently, the terms and conditions link on the website is broken. After numerous phone calls to the owner, who's behaviour was astonishingly childish and unbelievably rude, we did manage to recoup £200 of our £395. The owner still owes us £95 and I hope he gets some perverse satisfaction from taking money that he has not earned. If you do not want to deal with somebody who enjoys treating people in a disgusting and pathetic manner, I would suggest you avoid Bearnock Country Cottages as you would the bunonic plague. If you do take the plunge, good luck and check the terms and conditions very carefully. The owner simply makes them up as he goes along and he is not an individual you would want to speak with if you could possibly help it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank Journeyman_2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were looking for an accomodation for a night in Inverness, and we called the Inverness Hostel. The owner told us that the Hostel was full but instead he did an offer for one night in a cottage.
We thought that was a nice offer and we accepted.
When we arrived in Inverness we found out that we rented a cottage 6.5 miles from Drumndrochit. We told the owner that we should be there about 2 pm. When we arrived a lady told us that the cottage was not yet cleaned, but we could leave our bags there while she was cleaning up the property. We just had a look at the cottage, and we told the lady that we will be back in the evening since we wanted to spend some time in Inverness.
When we got back at 10 pm we found out that no cleaning was made, only (clean?) bedlinen was present. Only one small towel for five. Kitchen was dirt, plastic bags with trash were all over, the smell of the full trash bin was really unpleasant. Bathrooms were not clean.
They just put on bedlinen.
I called the owner on the phone and he had the courage to say that: "kitchen is not clean because you stay only one night and you are not supposed to do breakfast there...".
The day after when we left he was very rude and unfriendly, he tried to explain that was our own fault because we "arrived too early" and at the same time we "arrived too late".
Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trippavvertilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booking made direct a couple of months ago via their website. www.bcclochnesslogcabins.co.uk
Stated "Loch Ness Log Cabins offers sumptuous 5 star self catering accommodation". Well having just stayed here it should state 2 * accommodation at a push. Cappercallie Lodge did not live up to our expectation of what we read about from the website (a sister of Bearnock Country cottages BCC Lochness Lodges). To say it was a steep track was a joke, you really require a good set of tyres and preferably a 4x4 to tackle the road. No bin facilities at the lodge so requried to take rubbish down to the back of the hostel at the bottom of the hill (we required to drive past until Thursday overflowing bins). Grounds around the lodge were overgrown and littered in cigarette ends (we had asked them to clean up) and this was not done. The website states Denby crockery, there is none just a mix mash of some crockery and odds and ends of dishes. No cleaning materials, required to buy some to ensure surfaces were clean. Signs of a very tired lodge in-need of some maintanence, shower leaked so much water came through the floor tiles and had slugs appear in the shower. Dirty windows and wood again requiring maintanence. Would certainly not reccommodend nor stay again as what the website says and what reality was are poles apart!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It's obviously a long time since the marketing blurb was written and the pictures taken of Capercaillie Lodge. Initial challenge is the access track to the Lodge. It is extremely steep, loose rocky stones and dust. Probably cost 6 months of wear in 6 days scrambling up the track. Several others attempted and failed. No bins at the lodges either.
Shower was leaking and home to a slug, nothing more than a shower with a coloured light and terrible radio. Ropey freeview signal TV for entertainment. Apart from clean linen there wasn't much sign of a decent clean, cigarette butts and used tissues, littered outside entrance and veranda. The mattresses and pillows were firm to the point of being uncomfortably painful. Despite wonderful weather and spending everyday outdoors a good nights sleep eluded all of us.
Couldn't recommend to others or ever return....just booked into Lochletter Lodges which are graded as 3* with Visit Scotland and they are vastly superior in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smac1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews