We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced”
Review of Littlebury Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Littlebury Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Bicester B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“over priced”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel and that was to long! We attended a party there which was good nice size room with a good DJ and the bar was okay not to badly priced.
The rooms on the other hand we got 10% off the final bill due to being part of the party, but at £95.50 for a room, we were expecting a clean, shabby old maybe modern hotel room instead we got itchy blankets with a floral cover, Wall paper hanging off the walls stains all over the carpets, and a burnt orange bathroom suite my gran even thought it was dated! We did have a breakfast that was included with the fruit and cereals you had a good selection but the fry up was heated in the microwave and not big! not what we were expecting for the price!
Everyone seemed friendly but i suppose they would be knowing they were ripping us off! If they dropped the price by over half or up dated the rooms i would stay there again if it stayed the same not a chance!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aali86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
26
19
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night (thank god) pulled up to the hotel thinking it looks amazing. Beautiful gardens etc. Walked in and found it all too dark for my liking. Got shown to my room. Lovely large family sort of room with en suite and all the extras. The bed was clean but the bathroom was no up to standard. Hair and black bits in bottom of bath etc. Sat in the bar and the owner (I believe) was sat there drinking a pint or 2 and was constantly looking over in almost a disgust look. Was not appreciated. Once the meal was served it wasn't that nice. The food had no real flavour and 1 of the other gentleman said that the chef doesn't know that seasoning existed. When I got back to my room. It almost sounded like there was something running around the bathroom (almost like a mouse running around)

Overall not impressed and would not recommend it to anyone I know. Quite disappointed

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunbmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bicester hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I arranged a Ladies Night at this hotel which was held on Saturday 13th April.
The meal was excellent and so was the service. nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all friendly and polite. A disco was also arranged by the hotel which was also very good.
120 people attended and I have received no adverse comments, my personal thanks to Mike, the proprietor, for a very enjoyable evening. I will certainally be using the Littlebury Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabzon, Trabzon, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently stayed after visting from Turkey for Bicester Village for some christmas shopping.
The hotel is Quaint (ie old) but the service is also old world (ie great).
Nothing is too much trouble and the staff go out their way to make you feel welcome and at home.

Not a bargin price but location is excellent also much prefer to stay at a real hotel rather than those corporate bland boring chains.

I think other reviewers probably expected a chain hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding reception and I have to say the service was excellent very warm, welcoming and friendly. The food served during the reception was lovely and I know from speaking to the bride and groom afterwards they couldn't fault the venue in anyway.

I can see why other reviewers have commented on the rooms yes they are a little dated and could do with a re-furb and I would hope the management have that planned in the not too distant future. But to be honest if you want to stay in a travel lodge or premier inn with no soul or customer service go ahead. The hotel has a large car park to the rear and is only a 10 minute walk to Bicester Village so would make a great base for some retail therapy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I don't usually write bad reviews or like to complain but we really regret staying here at such an extortionate price. If it hadn't been for the fact that we were due at a wedding within the hour we would have left immediately upon seeing the room.

On arrival there were no signs in the car park indicating where to go for reception so after discovering that the side door was actually for the bar we realised that you had to wander down a narrow side path, dragging your suitcase over speed humps, all the way to the front door. First impressions of our twin room were not great; the bed covers looked like they were from the 1960's with rips in them, the lamp shade hosted a collection of dead flies and dust, the lamp didn't work and the decor was greatly in need of modernising. Despite the hotel guide listing numbers for room service etc and the room having a phone book, there was no phone which would have been useful.

When we returned to the room later that evening it was impossible to sleep due to the noise from the live singer in the bar below. This continued until 12am after which we had the delights of listening to the patrons leave. Thanks to the single glazed windows we could hear the slamming of car doors and their conversations as they went down the street. After a very bad nights sleep I was unable to shower as although the bathroom looked as though it had recently been refurnished and was fairly clean the shower head clearly had been left out of this. It was covered in lime scale, mould and dirt and sprayed water (lukewarm at best) very weakly everywhere but on yourself. Breakfast wasn't much better, the 'continental' part included a poor selection of fruit, no croissants or rolls and no glasses to put the orange juice in. The cooked breakfast was better although there wasn't much of it. All in all, the best part of our stay was leaving. It seems as though they are using the good location of the hotel in order to charge way over the top for what it is worth and I definitely will not be returning.

Room Tip: Good luck in finding one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aster2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHELMSFORD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hate to give negative reviews but I'm afraid I totally empathise with Adam C. We had booked 2 rooms a twin and a double for a wedding. The only thing good about this hotel is its proximity to the church and reception hall. Very cold room on arrival and was disappointed by the run down state of both rooms. The carpet was dirty and the room very dusty. Bed very small and covers poor. Scratchy blanket no duvet. Our room was on the 3rd floor so away from most of the noise my children however had a second floor room and it was extremely noisy as their was a tribute night in the bar. Once the heating came on it became very hot. The shower was dreadful no hot water and it dribbled out the hose. Definitely not worth the £95.50 per room and no deduction for booking 2 a year ago. Would certainly not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHARONChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicester
0.3 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
1.4 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hotel
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hot...
#1 of 1 in Middleton Stoney
12 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
610 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#34 of 44 in Oxford
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Littlebury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littlebury Hotel

Property: Littlebury Hotel
Address: Kings End, Bicester OX26 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bicester
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Littlebury Hotel Bicester, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing