We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening at the Fox”

The Fox Inn Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 108 Restaurants in Bicester
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Evening at the Fox”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

large portions, very quick service and good atmosphere with open fires and local beers

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Perfect Country Pub”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We recently attended a wedding at the Great Barn (a venue around 1.5 miles from the Fox Inn) and decided to stay at the Fox due to its close proximity.

The pub is the idyllic English country pub, with a roaring fire (inside and outside) a small friendly bar, hand pull beers and a good range of wine and spirits. There is also free wifi available in the bar.

The food is fantastic, it is all home cooked and the portions are generous, we all picked from the main menu but the specials board also offered some excellent alternatives.

The accommodation is basic but adequate and, for the price, good value. The rooms might benefit from a lick of paint and the showers are slightly weak but these were minor niggles.

We stayed for two nights and were served a fantastic cooked breakfast each morning. We were welcome to hang around in the bar, and read, play board games etc until the pub officially opened at 12:00 noon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, england
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What a dissapointment”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Well, what a shame.... Read the reviews and thought "this looks good" When I arrived, there was a pokey car park at the rear to park about three cars. The reception by the bar maid was less than friendly..... It was a cold wet night and I said to her laughing..."could you turn the fire around to face us" "I dont think so she replied " and meant it. There was about four people in the pub and they were discusing the lack of people. (No surprise there) We ordered some food, which came under "just ok " on my list. My advise would be ..... Don't bother.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Burntbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glamorgan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“best pub food ever”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This little pub was top class food 5 star log fire great place to eat

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DebnMartMidGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lovely village pub, food ok”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stopped here overnight and had dinner and breakfast.

Dinner was mixed, my sausage and mash was nice but the ‘bisto’ gravy spoilt it a bit. My daughter’s lamb shank was very nice, but my wife’s burger not so good.

I must say that the breakfast the next morning was excellent, as good a full English as you can get.

Nice beer too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Food_Lovers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bicester, Oxfordshire
Stratton Audley, Bicester
 
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Fox Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing