We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast!!!”
Review of Villandry Bicester Village - CLOSED

Villandry Bicester Village
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Shopping-mad stylistas adore Villandry, a gourmet delicatessen and restaurant nestled amongst the designer boutiques and luxury retailers in Bicester Village. Surrounded by rural Oxfordshire countryside, this Grand cafe is open all day long and is the perfect spot to indulge in pre-splurge coffee and pastry stops, post-shopping debriefings, and mid-afternoon glasses of wine. The Parisian setting and fresh european menu at Villandry offers an authentic dining experience. Pop in a try favorites such as the Fillet steak sandwich, the poached salmon salad, the Villandry Cheesegurger or the baked camembert with honey and roasted garlic. We serve Full English and Continental breakfast from 9.00 am and a prix fix menu every evening from 6.00 pm. At Villandry, we always welcome direct feedback. Please feel free to leave it via the link on our website.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I've eaten here previously for lunch, however today arrived at Bicester Shopping Village early enough for breakfast (they serve it until 11am and have a good selection). I chose the English breakfast and was extremely pleased. All the usual suspects on the plate but extremely tasty and well presented. A second piece of toast would have been nice!!!!! In addition - coffee and service excellant. Will ensure I always arrive at Bicester early.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerkyandPikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    241
    129
    67
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not good value for money”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Waited too long to be seated and kept dissapointing. It wasn't a good experinece after a long day shopping in the village. don't think I would go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food to start a shopping spree”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

LIke some other reviewers, I usually go to Pret when shopping at Bicester, but yesterday my husband and I decided to have breakfast at Villandry before starting our shopping spree. Very pleasantly surprised. He had the full English and I had the scrambled egg and smoked salmon. Both were delicious and the waiter was very attentive and prompt. Really great way to start the day at Bicester Village.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Our party had a 3 course meal from the set menu at a cost of £15 each and all of us enjoyed it immensely. my only slight criticism would be in the main salmon dish to have a different veg to just peas as personally think it the most boring veg ever. I understand other's opinions on portion size but after all three courses we were pleasantly full.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missnef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Disappointing and very poor service”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived at Bicester after a day at nearby Blenheim, intending to make some quick purchases, grab something to eat and head for home. Villandry had a deal of 3 courses for £15, so we went in.

We ordered some wine (a bottle, as a small glass costs over £5) and a jug of water, but were really hungry and asked for some bread. In any decent French restaurant, a basket of bread would appear immediately on the table. Not here. The waiter indicated on the menu that a basket of bread cost £3:20! He went off to get our drinks while we deliberated - and took ages to come back. (Our drinks sat on the bar, waiting for him to reappear). We ordered our meals and the bread to eat while we waited for our starters, as we were starving. When the bread arrived, it was 4 pieces of baguette and a single pat of butter!

Before we'd started to eat the bread, our starters arrived. They were pleasant enough, but halfway through, my wife noticed a waiter approach our table, with 2 plates, see that we were still eating and go away again. Sure enough, after we'd finished our starters, the main courses were immediately put on the table. The salmon was nice, but the vegetables were cold - our plates had clearly been prepared too early and left while we finished our starters, which was not long as we were very hungry.

eventually we ordered dessert, and were allowed a brief pause in our conveyer-belt meal. When my wife's ice cream arrived, it was so small and partly melted that she complained and it was replenished.

This was one of the few times we didn't leave a tip. On our one previous visit to Villandry we'd just ordered coffees, and they had taken 25 minutes to arrive, while tables arround us were filled and served. Fundamentally, the food was quite good but the staff need training and managing, which clearly wasn't happening. This is some of the worse service we've had in any restaurant for a long time, and on the strength of this, we won't visit a Villandry again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy_hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villandry Bicester Village also viewed

Bicester, Oxfordshire
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 
Bicester, Oxfordshire
Bicester, Oxfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing