We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Iguana
Nearby Hotels
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auto Hotel Niza(Tlaquepaque)
$27
Hotels.com
View Deal
Casa Abadia(Guadalajara)(Great Value!)
$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Armonia(Tlaquepaque)
$62
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Platino(Guadalajara)
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
129
124
35
27
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
124
35
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmismaloya beachhot tubturtle pondtony's restaurantpuerto vallartaliving roommexican villagemini martbotanical gardensreal mexicancobblestone streetbus servicecleaned dailysmall hotelrented a carrecommend casaa short bus ride
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 335 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

When we booked this trip we used AAA and were given a large selection of packages to choose from. Being budget minded we chose the least expensive. This left some doubt as to how great the accomodations would be. Well we were not disappointed in the least.
The hotel and surrounding grounds are very beautiful. The office staff were friendly and always very helpful. We had the pleasure of meeting "Jorge Sinatra" , the host at the hotel restaurant. He was charming, full of stories and information. He entertained his guests nightly with his guitar and song. He even went as far as to prepare our fish we caught that afternoon for our supper, fish has never tasted so good!
The hotel had a very few guests the week we were there, making it seem as though it was all for us and very quiet. We sat relaxing with a magarita poolside, playing cribbage, talking with the other guests. We were very happy to have met the other people staying there. We made fast friends with a couple from Texas and we spent the last 3 days of our trip fishing and site seeing with them, it was very unexpected and great fun.
My TOP 3 Fun Things : Mahi Mahi Fishing, Visiting Yelapa & Relaxing Poolside

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbCamacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed 3 weeks at the Casa Iguana Hotel.
This was our 4th stay. We love the ambiance and staff.
Serano Resturant (located at the hotel) is EXCELLENT. The Manager Jorge Joya was a delight. We rarely ordered from the menu. Jorge would surprise us with a sumptious dinner each night we dined at the resturant.
The hotel is quiet and very clean.
We sometimes felt as though we were spending time at our own villa in Mexico.
The staff were all very accommodating and helpful.
We plan on a return trip next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjchallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

My top priority for the first 3 nights of my solo vacation In Mexico was to relax, unwind and shift gears into a slower pace. I knew that could not happen in Puerto Vallarta, so chose to come here, 45 minutes' (7 miles) from the Puerto Vallarta Airport. I paid $25 for a taxi here and enjoyed the ride. The place is quiet, clean with a friendly, low-key staff. It's a 5-min. walk to the Playa Mismaloya, which is dominated by the massive Barcelo hotel. The best part of staying at Casa Iguana is a homier feeling - more personal and smaller (50 suites). And the highlight is dining at Casa Iguana's Serrano Restaurant because the manager Jorge is wonderful! Diners from other areas come to eat here as well. Two meals so far - fantastic! This is not the place to come if you want top notch luxury service or want to be right at the beach. Instead, you will find a welcoming staff and repeat visitors - many from Canada!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I can't recommend this place enough. If you want to get away from the tourist traps, the all-inclusive party pads, the timeshare pitches, the touts, the hustle and bustle (and still be near all of that in Puerto Vallarta) this is the place. My girlfriend and I did, and for a week, we were not disappointed. The property is spotless, inside and out. Each suite has plenty of room to spread out -- two bedrooms, one with a full size bed and one with two twins. There's a small living room with satellite TV, a pleasant bath and a simple kitchenette. Free wifi.

Not the lap of luxury, but clean and whisper-quiet, and a sense you're part of the Mexican culture. This is the place where Mexican tourists stay.

You become part of a real Mexican village, where chickens strut the streets and children play as they walk home from school. The church bell ring behind you, and there's often a soccer game going on. It's right off the bus line, so for 50 cents, you can travel north to Puerto Vallarta or south to Boca de Tomatlan and catch a water taxi to a deserted beach.

Back at the hotel, there's a cool pool and (not) hot tub, a minor downside. But perhaps I'm saving the best for last -- the hotel restaurant was simply fantastic, the best of anywhere we went. It's run by a kind man named Jorge, and when he's waiting on you, it's as if you're the only table in the place. On our last night there, we had a huge seafood dinner for two-- lobster, shrimp, red snapper, mahi mahi. All for the equivalent of $40! Jorge surprised us with dishes we never ordered, on the house! Throughout the long evening, we sampled chips with guacamole, ice cream with strawberries, dessert liquers and a round of fine tequila -- gratis.

I simply can't say enough good things about this fine establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batchme77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Wonderful small hotel. All two bedroom units with kitchenettes. At this time of year the pool area is quite restful during the day. The restaurant is quite good. The food is we3ll prepared and the Maitre d", George is very attentive and really goes out of his way to meet your needs. There is a small grocery store on the property which provides food and beverage needs including wine and beer at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayinillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews