We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funfschilling

Funfschilling
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Fischingen
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Switzerland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Busy, very busy! The restaurant is obviously popular, maily due to their large portion/small price policy. The food is decent, but seating is difficult and can be uncomfortable. There is a lot of expansion going on, both for the shop, winery and restaurant, so watch this space.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BaselTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    119
    69
    39
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food but mass tourism atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Fünfschilling is a family restaurant which is located in Fischingen and easy to reach by car. The menu offers typical German dishes and other European cuisine. The food is good and the prices are a cheap deal. The service is done by students from the regions who often forget things or are not that well organized. The restaurant is located in a very large hall which is in principle very nice but makes this a very noisy place to have dinner. Next to the restaurant the is a small shop of Fünfschilling where you can buy organic fruit, egges, jams and even locally produced wine for a fair price. I would recommend this restaurant for families but not for a romatic dinner.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, great value, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I have eaten at Funfschilling on numerous occasions over the past several years while visiting friends in the Black Forest area of Germany. The restaurant always seems to be quite busy but has a relaxing and inviting atmosphere. When you arrive you should sit wherever you find enough empty seats for your party, even if it is sitting with other patrons. Much of the seating is outside but shaded by trees and umbrellas.
Drinks range from 1.70E -3.30 and come without ice. Entrees range from 6.5 E to 19.50. Most items were in the 6-9 E range. The entire menu is in German but most of the wait staff speaks some English from my experience. On our recent visit we tried several dishes: Breaded Pork Schnitzel :6.90 w/ spatzle +2.00, Breaded Feta with sauce, potatoes and vegetables: 8:00, Citrus Angelotti with olives, tomatoes, pesto and rucola : 8.50 and Spaghetti with seafood: 8.50. Service was reasonably fast and our waiter substituted the bread with the two schnitzel portions we ordered with spatzle at no extra charge. The breaded feta dish consisted of 3 feta triangles. It was tasty but the richness of the cheese got to me after awhile and I had to take the rest home. The Citrus Angelotti was also good but quite rich and a little too lemony. The Breaded Pork Schnitzel was a little bland but still enjoyable. The Spaghetti with seafood dish was also good.
Our waiter was fantastic but quite busy. He did take time to talk with us a bit after the meal and procure a T-Shirt for me to purchase (25E) even though they typically are not sold to the public. Tipping is not always expected and often people just round the bill up. I handed a tip to our waiter of roughly 10% of the bill and he gladly accepted.
There is also a shop in the same building as the restaurant. They have seasonal fruits, wines from their vineyards, jams, jellies and various other sundry items.
Overall, another lovely meal and fantastic experience at Funfschilling!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nocargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing Food with a fantastic value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

While visiting a friend in Basel Switzerland we visited this restaurant twice.

The food - is absolutely delicious. We went at the perfect time - white asparagus was in season - the good came quickly, was flavourful and great portions.

The Restaurant - large tables with family seating, Lots of tile mozacs.

This is a large social restaurant - lots of conversation and laughter. Overall a great atmosphere.

They are currently renovating this restaurant - a new building to house the Shop - where they sell many products and produce. They bottle their own wine and it is a decent wine considering that it is so inexpensive.

I have not been able to match the value - inexpensive - very inexpensive- drinks for just a couple of Euros the two of us ate for less than 40e.

Would go back time and again - to try all their dishes.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maggiemaeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finally a good cheap simple restaurant fro Basel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have 2 kids and we like good food and therefore we like to go to restaurants! Not always easy. We were looking for a relax restaurant near Basel where you can bring your kids, have good food and not too expensive (compared to Switzerland) and we have been recommended the perfect place. Funfschilling is a concept : a farm who is selling there product and also a restaurant using mostly the products form the farm. Simple but really good quality. We have been during Asparagus time ... Spargelzeit. Fantastic choice. 3 EUR the Spargelcremesuppe, ... On top of this you can drink a nice wine also distributed by the farm. If you have small kids, it is really convenient. There is a playground just in front of the restaurant. Your kids will enjoy! Menu for kids .... between 3 and 5 EUR and once again really good quality. You cannot book; so sometime you have to wait a little bit. No worries, when the weather is shinny, you can start with an aperitif outside ....

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonlatoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funfschilling also viewed

Eimeldingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Weil am Rhein, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Binzen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Binzen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Weil am Rhein, Baden-Wurttemberg
Lorrach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Funfschilling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing