We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming seaside hotel in a quaint villiage”
Review of Arniston Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arniston Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Arniston makes a nice weekend break from Cape Town and the Arniston Hotel is pretty much the only option other than B&B's in the town. Do get a room facing the sea; there is not much point staying here otherwise. Eating options are limited in Arniston but the two restaurants at the hotel are both fine. The spa is the real highlight; be sure to book in advance for this as it is justifiably popular and time slots fill quickly. Don't expect silence in the hotel over weekends and school holidays as this is a great place for kids to play.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 852 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2009

Arniston Spa is the only hotel on the sea front in this beautiful isolated part of the coast. It gets very busy and noisy at weekend and holidays when the families arrive. Outside of these times it is idyllic. Food is good if repetitive - the menu never changes as most people only stay a few days. We were there a week. Lots to do in surrounding areas. A 4x4 is a good idea if you want to explore inland. There's no aircon but it is colder than you might expect because of the winds off the sea, so pack a jumper. Arniston is a working harbour worth seeing the boats come in if you get the chance. Best find was Country Cuisine at Nacht Wacht farm halfway along the road to Bredasdorp. We had the best food there that we have ever had in S Africa and they opened the restaurant especially for us on 2 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reef-bore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Enjoyed a large balcony seaside-great view of the chuckeys launching into the sea in the early am. Outstanding restaurant and first class breakfast. Don't go for the nightlife - this is relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diggerslou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I stayed at the Arniston hotel with my wife and 13 month old son this weekend, and was pleasantly surprised. From the outside, the hotel facade looks a bit dull, but the terraces with ocean views creates a very nice atmosphere. Rooms have every amenity you can think of. This hotel is 100% child friendly, with friendly, well trained staff to see to your every need. The views from the see facing rooms and dining areas are perfect. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while travel with a tour group through Globus. This was the second hotel that we stayed and I found it to be perfectly charming. The rooms were very neat, comfortable, and cozy. I had a balacony that looked over the center pool and courtyard area. The ocean was right in front of the hotel and there was a small beach area. We didn't do any swimming due to cooler temperatures, but at sunrise we could see southern right whales far off in the ocean. We had a fabulous served dinner and a nice buffet breakfast. We only stayed at the hotel one night, but I would have gladly stayed longer. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I don't see myself returning to this part of South Africa but if I did I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed for one night at this hotel and thought the location and view were really good. The turkish bath in the spa was great and really good value.

Unfortunately my husband became ill during dinner (nothing to do with the hotel) and the staff were extremely discrete and pleasant and brought our meals up to our room. In the morning the waitress even came over to check how he was feeling. The staff on reception were very understanding and a late check out was no trouble. The professionalism of the staff at this hotel made the experience of being unwell on holiday much more bearable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vetchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Nice hotel for such a small town. The bathrooms were very nice and roomy. The room itself was pretty standard but nothing noteworthy in a bad way. Nice breakfast and nice dinner restaurant. Rooms could have done with air con.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElisabethJDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arniston
15.6 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
329 reviews
14.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sky Guest House Arniston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 14 in Bredasdorp
84 reviews
15.4 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 on Main
16 on Main
#5 of 5 in Arniston
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arniston Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arniston Spa Hotel

Address: 1 Beach Road, Arniston 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Arniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Price Range: $101 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arniston Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Arniston Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing