We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar in the informal restaurant”
Review of Arniston Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arniston Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Certificate of Excellence
Melkbosstrand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bar in the informal restaurant”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

One really cannot fault this establishment we experienced good services, excellent rooms and the food was brilliant, we enjoyed seafood past and marina platter it was really of the best quality

Just one small matter, we enjoyed a cocktail at the bar and I noticed that the barmen do not have a "runner" who remove the dirty glasses from the bar to be cleaned, the bar was swamped under hundreds of dirty glasses, then somebody came with a white plastic container with heavy soap water, the glasses were dunked in the soap water and then dried with some kind of cloth, not rinsed not with a clean soft cloth but then put back for use soapy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    247
    60
    20
    15
See reviews for
182
367
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we requested the alcohol be removed from the room and was told it would be, it was still there when we left, as was the sour milk I was brought for my coffee. The staff in the dining area were friendly however, the ham hock meat was tough and required some coercion to leave the bone. Response to our orders were slow. I suggest to anyone visiting that you book a sea facing room and eat out.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ObjectivelyPolarized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed for a conference. Very well prepared staff. Reception extremely efficient, check-in and check-out no more than three minutes each. Rooms are good, nothing special, but well maintained. Location right on the beach, good departure point for a walk around this slightly quaint but not really remarkable visit. Arniston itself does not merit a long stay, especially when considering the many gems in the vicinity. But if business takes you there, do stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very spacious, but awkwardly close to the restaurant. Sitting on the terrace is really a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Best value for money you can get! Big room, nice shower with rain shower head, also big bath!
Breakfast and dinner excellent.
Internet for a rural town, very good ~ 2Mbps and this with hotel full of tourist !
Only negative point is the there is no comfortable chair at the desk for working!
But if you can focus on your work when sitting on the " deck" the seats are comfortable and the view very spectacular

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a magnificent place. A real treat to stay in an unpretentious beautiful place. Food excellent. Fresh fish. Amazing swimming. Beautiful walks. Great spa. Service great. Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamgriegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is average- rooms are nice, definitely get a sea view, but are out-dated, plain, and slightly dingy. Arniston is nice for a day or two, no more as its tiny and very boring after 2 days MAXIMUM. Honestly, detour around Arniston if you are thinking about coming, its really not worth it. There are much better places to go, and the hotel is average, with very uncommunicative staff. The restaurant service in both restaurants is dreadful. We waited 1hr 15min for our food to come one night, and there were lots of open tables, so it wasn't full. The next day at lunch, all the food came but one persons. When asked for again, the food came 30 min late. Very nice views, cute spot, but really not worth it. Hotel also very overpriced during high season. No huge complaints about the place other than the service. Could also do with some porters that are efficient/effective, as they lacked when we arrived. All in all, a truly average stay- just skip around Arniston and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Sea view, otherwise just keep your blinds drawn!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hi

Had an excellent two night stay at the Arniston Hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The staff are very helpful and friendly. But best of all the food is top notch. I recommend the seafood platter a must. Pricing is very reasonable.

All in all a great place to stay to see the caves, the "kassie" community, the ship wrecks and the southern most tip of Africa. All in close proximity.

Room Tip: Travel the road from Arniston to Bredasdorp it is a wetland be prepared to see many birds of pray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arniston
15.6 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
14.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
No photo provided
Tirzah's B&B and Self Catering
#7 of 12 in Bredasdorp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
15.4 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 on Main
16 on Main
#4 of 4 in Arniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arniston Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arniston Spa Hotel

Property: Arniston Spa Hotel
Address: 1 Beach Road, Arniston 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Arniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arniston Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arniston Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing