We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend - the most perfect spot”
Review of Arniston Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arniston Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back from the most amazing weekend with my husband from the Arniston Hotel. What a complete treat. I knew from the start that we would have a wonderful time. Everyone I had spoken to about Arniston said to stay in the hote. After 18 years of wedded bliss we decided to take the suite over looking the ocean and we were not disapointed. From the minute we arrived to the time we left we were looked after. The decor in the room is luxurious, the food beyond delicious and the view is breathtaking. There is absolutely nothing to do but relax, read, walk to the cave, relax some more, perhaps swim in the warm ocean. We will be back for sure. The staff are incredibly friendly, Jenny in the dining room has worked at Arniston Hotel for 26 years. This must say something special about the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the little bit extra x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyDaffarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 879 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Top people, relaxed, cannot do enough for you. Rooms were great, food surf and turf, bar busy. We met great people and had great fun. Not a lot to do in Arniston except relax and enjoy. The hotel really helps you do this.

Great holiday

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irelandoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

An excellent three day break in one of the luxury suites overlooking the sea. The hotel itself has friendly staff in all areas - nothing was too much for them, We ate in the restaurant on two nights and in the bistro on the last night when the restaurant was closed. All the food was delicious - especially the line fish.
Arniston is conveniently placed to visit Cape Agulhas - about 40 mins away - and the town of Bredasdorp with its fascinating shipwreck museum.
All in all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpkh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent two nights here and when we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to a suite which was very comfortable with terrific views out to sea over the lawns and the beach. Very well run hotel with some of the friendliest staff you could hope for. There is a pool but like so many in SA it was cold and colder than the sea! The food in the bistro/bar was good but not exceptional. We did not try the restaurant as it was devoid of people. However it did serve an excellent breakfast.
Great value and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea and south will be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

From entering the hotel until leaving, you are completely pampered & spoiled by an ever attentive staff. The sea facing rooms are fabulous with magnificent views across the bay. Every detail has been thought of, from the selection of teas, coffee, & drinking chocolate awaiting in your room, through to the provision of beach & pool towels. The provision of free internet service is always useful in this modern day & age. Would like to thank management & staff for an excellent stay. We will do it again, & again.

Room Tip: Go for the sea facing rooms, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seajay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Last visited without kids for a wedding 9 years ago. It was excellent then and remains excellent. family friendly, staff great, good wine and food. bikes are available FOC from reception as are boogie boards. You just book them in and out. Manager was excellent. Sally lovely village, can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donnalee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Although the hotel has a long history (read "old") is has been updated and is recommended for anyone that wants a few days (or weeks) in a small coastal village. The hotel has the best view in Arniston, and is right on the main beach (a road separates the hotel lawn from the beach but carries almost no traffic). Rooms are well appointed and spacious. I had a room at the front with a beuatiful view. Thoughtful details included coffee (French press) with rusks, sherry, cotton robes for early-morning lazing on the balcony. The hotel have mountain-bikes available.
We also had dinner in the picturesque village of Kassiesbaai (less than 5 minutes away). The historical fisherman's cottages make great subjects for photography and painting.
The breakfast is excellent.
The hotel also offers a great variety of spa treatments with special massage packages.

Room Tip: The only downside the the close proximity of the function venues to the rooms facing the ocean. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arniston
15.6 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
337 reviews
14.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sky Guest House Arniston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Malagas Hotel
Malagas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malagas
125 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 14 in Bredasdorp
84 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ocean View Guest B&B
Ocean View Guest B&B
#2 of 5 in Struisbaai
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arniston Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arniston Spa Hotel

Address: 1 Beach Road, Arniston 7280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Arniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Price Range: $90 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arniston Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Arniston Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing