We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great service!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Melaque
Reviewed March 12, 2008

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Puesta del Sol on February 29th, March 1st and 2nd of 2008. The facility was extremely clean and the service was excellent. Dollar for dollar, this hotel was the best bargain of any of those we encountered on our trip. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. There is a wide range of room sizes available, all at very affordable prices. You can find plusher accomodations in the area for substantially higher prices, but if you are only in need of clean basic accomodations and excellent service, why pay more? The pool was extremely clean and well maintained and immediately next to the beach.

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank chayo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 58 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2008

The Hotel Puesta Del sol is centrally located in Melaque Jalisco, Mexico. The hotel is known as a moderately priced accomodation with most rooms having some type of kitchen facility. There is no restaurant at the hotel.
Booking is a little sketchy. The price of a room changes every time you contact the hotel. Make sure you get what you pay for. I'm pretty sure I paid for an air conditioned room judging by the rate but when inquiries were made, the office staff who seemed fluent in english upon check-in forgot how to speak anything but spanish.
The beach in front of the hotel is clean and pretty.
Now for the room. We paid $64 cdn a night for what I think might be worth $40.
The room and common areas of the hotel were far from spic and span. Dust jack rabbits rolled around the tiled floors on every level.
Even though there was maid service every day, there was so much soap scum on the bathroom and kitchen fixtures you would wonder when they were last cleaned. The shower was full of mildew. The kitchen was so infested with sugar ants that unless all food was kept in the fridge it would be infested in no time. The gas burner stove took an hour to boil a pot of water.
The kitchen sink became plugged and did not get fixed for two days
The nicely built pool was cleaned every other day but often was murky.
Two years ago we stayed just down the beach at a much cleaner place for less money.
Would I go back?
Maybe, for a lot less money

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Freedom2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MireyaLozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mirii O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank javi0366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank mitzue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Excelente vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manuelgalindo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melaque
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Coco Mango
Hotel Villas Coco Mango
#5 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Nautico El Dorado
Club Nautico El Dorado
#382 of 627 in Pacific Coast
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#7 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
54 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puesta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puesta del Sol

Address: 31 Gomez Farias Avenue, Melaque, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Melaque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Melaque
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing