We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent activities but poor hotel and horrible breakfast”
Review of Ferme 5 Etoiles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferme 5 Etoiles
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent activities but poor hotel and horrible breakfast”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We really loved the activities there including the grey wolf contact, quad, bear watching. People are also very nice. Bad news is Condo are really terrible. Make sure you avoid the one on the ground floor or you are cooked ! No chance to sleep before last people come back ( around midnight ) after first one leave ( today at 4.30 AM ! )
Lodging could be acceptable provided you don't pay such a fortune ( almost same as 4 stars hotels like Fairmont ! )
So all in all we had a good time thanks to the activities but would never go and sleep ther again.

Room Tip: Avoid Condos on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oloeillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferme5etoiles, Owner at Ferme 5 Etoiles, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi!
We really want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and particularly the activities.
It is such a shame for the condo that you did not tell us before. If we had knew, we could have found a solution for you.
We are sorry that among all the choice of food you had for the breakfast (eggs, sausages, bacon, potatoes, beans, crepes, french toast, yogurt, muffins, fruits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, orange juice), you didn't enjoy the meal.
About the price, we just want to make sure that you understand that the price you paid was not only for accomodation but it was a package including 2 nights, 2 breakfasts, 2 diners and 2 activities of your choice.
We would like to thank you again for your feedback. Every details are important and we believe that this is how a company grows, with the help of our customers.
Hope to see you again to make you live an amazing experience and maybe change your mind about our accomodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    94
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
158
68
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Ferme 5 Etoiles is outside the Tadoussac tourism enclave about 20 minutes. The ferme is a mini-resort, with a small zoo of local wildlife. My kids thought the acging and care was a bit sad. In any event, we stayed outside the resort compound at one of the Saguenay cabins alonside the fjord. They are about a ten minute drive from the compound and are deep inthe woods bordering the fjord. Number five, with two bedrooms and basic amenities, was comfortable and a lovely spot to sleep, with a brook burbling just outside. No view of the fjord from the porch, but it's just a short walk away. We had a lovely overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferme5etoiles, Owner at Ferme 5 Etoiles, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hi!
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
The cottages offer a great place to relax and enjoy the nature.
We are just sorry to see that the animal care did not reach your kids expectations.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again, for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on the farm and had a very fun time. We stayed 2 night in a Teepee which was a great experience, but we felt this could be improved massively with just a few minor changes.

Firstly the teepee is very basic. Just wooden planks on the floor and plastic sheeting. We were given a couple of sunned cushions, sheets and a sleeping bag and then left too it. It would have been good if this was all made up for when we arrived but we had to wait an hour for it. There is no water at the teepee. A couple of bottles could have been provided, would have been a nice touch. Also checking we could light the fire would have been a sensible thing.

The activities we did were great, bear watching and whale watching. However the people in the desk gave opposite instructions about the meeting point meaning we were late.

The animals on the farm are all rescued so good that they have a home and we got to feed a baby moose which was amazing. Yes some could do with bigger enclosures but everything looked healthy and well looked after.

Food was good, they even cooked gluten free muffins and pancakes for me especially. Dinner was nice but very simple.

Overall a lovely place, but a little more thought would make this place perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferme5etoiles, Owner at Ferme 5 Etoiles, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our farm. We appreciate the nice message you wrote. About the teepees, you are absolutely wright, it could be better. That's why your comments are so important to us. About the sheets ans sleeping bag, we usually make the bed for you. When you were on site, humidity was so high, that's why we decided to not do your bed, to make sure that the sleeping bags stay dry. But I agree that we could have done it just before you arrived. For the water, your suggestion is very interesting and we keep a good note for next season.
For the meeting point for the black bear observation, my colleagues know the information and it was just probably a misunderstanding and I am sorry if you arrived just on time.
Again, thank you very much for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again on site.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a real farm as ell as a perfect place to stay. They have all kinds of accommodation (bungalows, camping, tipis, yourtes...) that suit all tastes.

We (a group of 8 young adults) stayed in a yourte in the middle of the forest, 7 km from the farm. Beautiful place in the middle of the trees, with a magnificent sight on the Fjord. Is is remote, with no electricity or water (except a tap). Loads of fun. Showers and power are available at the farm, as well as dinner and breakfast, both very tasty.

The staff is very friendly, and love their animals. They showed us (and let us feed) dogs, cats, chicken, birds, raccoons, but also a moose, cougars, wolves, sled dogs and deer. Great!

The service was excellent. We went for a combo : stay, meals and activity (whale sightseeing). I think we will go back in the winter for more!

Room Tip: Choose the accommodation that suits you (they have many different things!). Just remembre that the y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferme5etoiles, Owner at Ferme 5 Etoiles, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi there! We really appreciate the very nice message you wrote on your experience in our farm. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you are thinking of coming back in the winter time. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.
Thank you so much. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

OK...it's not a five star hotel but my daughter (age 17) will remember this for the rest of her life. In one 24 hour she patted a moose named Azur, a puma, a couple of raccoons, a baby moose named Zoe, a bunch of sled dogs and puppies and of course...the wolves. It drizzled so no one else showed up and Derek gave her a private tour in English. Just her and two arctic wolves and then Jacob the grey wolf. She didn't want to wash her hands she was so in love with those wolves. What a unique experience!

Staff is friendly and they know their animals! We took a great hike and totally enjoyed the peace. Ate awesome poutine down the road and loved every minute of this place.

Room Tip: Book way ahead and go for something unique like a yurt or a trapper's cabin. The silence is ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferme5etoiles, Owner at Ferme 5 Etoiles, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful comment. We are so happy that you enjoined your stay and that your daughter enjoyed our animals!
Contact with the wolves is, we believe, an unforgettable once in a lifetime experience!
Customer service is an important part in the tourism industry and we are proud to hear that your interactions with our staff were always nice.
We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and hope to welcome you again on our site.
Truly yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacre-Coeur-Saguenay
6.8 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
847 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
459 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Motel Baie Ste-Catherine
Hotel Motel Baie Ste-Catherine
#3 of 4 in Baie Sainte-Catherine
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Canopee Lit
Canopee Lit
#1 of 8 in Sacre-Coeur-Saguenay
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge Le Campagnard
Auberge Le Campagnard
#3 of 8 in Sacre-Coeur-Saguenay
23 reviews
18.8 mi away
Chalets sur le Fjord
Chalets sur le Fjord
#1 of 3 in L'Anse-Saint-Jean
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferme 5 Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme 5 Etoiles

Property: Ferme 5 Etoiles
Address: 465, Route 172 W, Sacre-Coeur-Saguenay, Quebec G0T 1Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sacre-Coeur-Saguenay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sacre-Coeur-Saguenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ferme 5 Etoiles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 15 minutes from Tadoussac, this holiday resort located on a family farm is known for its many species of animals, such as buffalo, wolves, moose; its natural environment over 700 acres facing the magnificent Fjord of Saguenay; the wide range of accommodations such as camping, yurt, teepee, motel, chalet; its country table; and four-season activities such as sea-kayaking, quad, biking, horse riding, dog sledding, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, and the only sugar shack in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferme 5 Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferme 5 Etoiles Sacre-Coeur-Saguenay, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing