We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think twice”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabinas Sol y Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Zancudo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Sol y Mar
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Think twice”
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Do not be fooled by the photographs on the owners web site. They make the cabins look quite nice, but in reality they are rough. We paid extra for the stand alone cabin with the "unique river rock shower ". Our cabin was dark smelly and full of insects. We used a whole can of insect spray before we were able to go in to our bathroom.
The cabins needed updating cleaning and the rust scraping off of the window bolts so you were not forced to live in constant darkness. No attention was paid to details an example being the mismatched bedding, no fridge or proper working fans.
At the time we stayed the owners were away and Willy was incharge. May be this was the reason for the hotel's relaxed atitude He was a nice enough guy and answered our questions if we approached him but didn't really want to know other than that. He ran the bar and seemed more content chatting to locals or reading the paper. Willy's brother worked during the week and he was the total opposite, friendly, helpful and always had time for a chat.
The food, I can't fault the food everything was cooked fresh and there was lots of it. The girl who cooked worked hard but again was not at all friendly.
All in all we couldn't wait to leave this place and move on to Puerto Jiminez where we had a brilliant time staying at Palms.

The Sol y mar is cheap and you get what you pay for. I would have rather paid a little extra and stayed at Los cocos further up the road. They were fully booked ........I wonder why !!!!!!

  • Liked — Food and Willy's brothers cocktails
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mojo_JoJoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
20
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Three of us stayed at Sol y Mar over the last week of April and we all loved it! Willy was always more than helpful with anything we needed and Carla is a great barmaid. The food was excellent, especially on barbeque nights (Friday and Monday). A normal breakfast was about 1500 colones or $3. Can't beat that! Dinner was usually around $9 and was well prepared and well presented. The bar is a popular hangout for locals - Ticos and expats alike, so they are doing something right. Sol y Mar is a very laid back and relaxing place and the grounds are very well kept with hommocks tied between palm trees and plenty of coconuts around if you get thirsty for something other than Imperial, and lots of driftwood around for a bonfire if it isn't already hot enough for you. Make sure you stay over a weekend so you can join in on a game of horseshoes! The winning team takes away a six pack of beer. Ever-present all over Costa Rica are dogs, and Sol y Mar is no different with two very friendly dogs of their own, and one who is boarding at the hotel while his owner is away, and they don't mind accompanying you on walks along the beach or into town. We're going back to Zancudo and will definitely be staying at Sol y Mar again.

  • Liked — Excellent price, clean room, great view of Golfo Dulce right from your porch.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnysullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of 49
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2008

We stayed at the Sol Y Mar in Zancudo in February 2008 and would never go back. We spent time in different parts of the country and had really great experiences, and only stayed for a few days at this place where we really did not have a good time. The beach is gorgeous but other places nearby are a better choice than Sol Y Mar. We felt the owners (ex-pats) of Sol Y Mar were neither friendly nor helpful and the food was way overpriced and of doubtful quality at best. Most of the guests like to spend a lot of time drinking at the bar until late at night, -hey, to each his own and i've been there done that in the past - but they make a lot of noise, and if that is not your scene, you are actually made to feel like you don't belong by the management. We felt the food was way overpriced and of doubtful quality. If we were to go back again to Zancudo we would definitely stay at Los Cocos next door where the owners actually care about their guests and the attitude is more respectful, classy and in keeping with this beautiful, natural country. Sol Y Mar is a cut below the rest and not worth the few dollars you would save instead of staying at Los Cocos where Susan and Andrew clearly know what they are doing compared to the management at Sol Y Mar.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Management attitude, noise, bad food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveljam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

If you go to Playa Zancudo this is the place to stay. It has a nice central location on the beach and has by far the best restaurant. The menu has a wide selection and the staff is friendly. I never seem to plan meals on a regular schedule, but I knew I could always find the restaurant ready to serve up something delicious at any hour during the day. In the evenings the bar is hopping with locals and visitors. Everyone seems to gather here. The owners are great and help you plan a wonderful stay. I can't say enough great things about this place. If you chose Sol y Mar you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tchasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 11, 2006

Visited the Sol Y Mar late in a 10 day Southern CR road trip. Loved the adventure of getting there: pothole slalom on the PanAmerican Highway, then Dukes of Hazzard driving on dirt roads, lightning bugs flashing as we raced thru Palm Plantations to catch the last jungle river ferry for the night.

Walked up to the outdoor thatched roofed bar upon arrival and were greeted by owners Rick and Lori like old friends. "We we're wondering if you guys would make the ferry! What would you like to drink?" My better half had mango/pineapple while I opted for an Imperial Cervesa ($1.20 usd-my kind of price.)

The whole place is kinda surreal (in a good way,) like being in the South Pacific in the '40's. I kept expecting Humphrey Bogart to show up at the bar. It is a simple place. While there we: swam in the mild but fun waves, build a shade hut from bamboo-driftwood-palm fronds on the beach, watched sunsets over the Golfo Dulce and Osa Peninsula, took early am beachwalks to the surfbreak, read, napped, happy hour'd at the bar, took star walks on the beach, met interesting guests, chatted up the locals, and relaxed.

The accomodations are simple but cool. We had a stand alone cabina with private porch, vaulted ceilings, and a shower with hot water. They are located just back from the beach across a short lawn. The Zancudo soundtrack is rolling waves and rustling plams. I believe we paid about $50/night peak season, which is a great value (we got as much enjoyment from Sol Y Mar as other places on the trip that we paid much, much more for.)

When we left, we had Adobe from San Jose pick-up the rent-a-car (only $90) and had Susan's water taxi whisk us across the Gulf and deliver us to Pto Jimenez ($60) from where we eventually flew back to San Jose. This is a very cool option to mix up the transportation, if you can swing it logistically.

We can't wait to get back to Sol Y Mar. We will try a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Zancudo
1.4 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 12 in Golfito
125 reviews
10.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
318 reviews
11.2 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
9.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
1.8 mi away
Cabinas Coloso Del Mar
Cabinas Coloso Del Mar
#1 of 4 in Playa Zancudo
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Sol y Mar

Property: Cabinas Sol y Mar
Address: Middle of Town on the Only Road | Located in the central part of Zancudo's 6-mile beach, where the surf is gentle and safe for swimming and boogie boarding. The restaurant and all the cabins are RIGHT ON THE BEACHFRONT, catching refreshing afternoon breezes., Playa Zancudo 8201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Zancudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Zancudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cabinas Sol y Mar Hotel Playa Zancudo
Cabinas Sol y Mar Costa Rica/Playa Zancudo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing