We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grants at Craigellachie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ratagan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grants at Craigellachie
Ranked #1 of 2 Ratagan B&B and Inns
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at Grants, having added an extra night onto our holiday. We stayed with Tony and Liz several years ago and enjoyed it so much we have always planned to visit again. It was amazing then and it has not changed, Tony and Liz are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in the house in a lovely double room with a comfy bed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. Our meal was amazing, queen scallops in a spicy tomato sauce, topped with mozzarella and home made rolls to die for. Pheasant breast in a rich wine and red currant sauce to follow for our main, then raspberry and white chocolate brioche bread and butter pudding with creme anglais which was just lovely, cheese and biscuits to follow all accompanied with excellent wine, which finished off without doubt the best meal we have had! Breakfast was equally as good with lots of choice for a lighter option or a full Scottish breakfast, also alternatives such as an omelette or poached eggs on toasted muffin with hollandaise sauce topped with cheese! If you appreciate your food and would like a relaxing break Grants is the place to go for excellent quality and value for money. We are are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July and I just wished we had booked a longer stay. The location is excellent. Set in a very small village on the other side of the loch from the main road to Skye, its within short driving distance of many attractions/places to visit. We stayed in the "suite" which was to a good standard and very comfortable but the best part of the stay was the food. I had read the reviews on this site here before I booked and I'm pleased to say, the reviews were accurate. Tony and Liz were the perfect hosts who served dishes of a very high standard. Matched with an excellent wine list, it was a joy dining each evening.
If you are travelling to this part of Scotland, make sure you stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CannyScotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had been touring Scotland for 15 days and this was our last stop before flyng home . What a good choice ! The first thing we asked for on arrival was a good Gin and Tonic - and we got the best of the whole holiday - so good in fact we had to have another one !! Tony the owner and Chef certainly knows his stuff - possibly due to his previous career on the cruise liners ..
Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated - very good quality linen and lovely touches - like slippers and fluffy bathrobes. The shower room was a bit small but lots of hot water and fine for one night.
We ate in the little conservatory restaurant and the food was as good as the room - very high quality and superbly cooked and presented. Tony's wife was the waitress and hostess and she was lovely too ..
A very good choce - book early to avoid dissappointment -

Room Tip: perhaps upgrade to a superior room for stays of more than one night ( they are larger )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Staying just one night on our trip up to the Isle of Skye my wife and I had the great treat of picking a stopover at GRANTS.
Tony and Liz Taylor are perfect hosts,Tony a star in the kitchen,Liz non fussing attention and welcome completes with very high standard of accomodation.In a location to die for the fact that you get 5 star dining was an unexpected surprise.Everything at Grants is done well and to the highest standard,a real professional act,no hesitation the best place to stay in the west coast of Scotland

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have stayed in and eaten at hotels, restaurants and other accommodation, all over the world. This ranks as one of the best. The food is well up to 'Michelin' standard, presented without most of the pomp and showmanship associated with such establishments, don't expect bow ties and uniformed service, Tony, the patron, is quite likely to serve you and discuss the ingredients, locally sourced, and how he has cooked them. Alternately Liz his able partner is equally versed in what you are eating, added to which she is a sommelier working from an excellent cellar.
Accommodation is superb, achieved by great attention to detail. We, my wife and I, could not fault the thought that had gone into proving us with every small facet that helped improve a perception of total luxury. We had the suite which provided us with a sitting room, with small kitchen attached, a double bedroom and an excellent bathroom, with a good power shower and if we had wished we could have just sat back and enjoyed the quiet comfort instead of venturing out to the easily reached sites like Eileen Doran, Skye, Plockton, Applecross etc.

Grants is situated in some of the most stunning country in these islands, the warm welcome you receive and the high standards presented at every turn, make this one of the places you want to go back to. We highly recommend ,Grants of Craigellachie.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I make a 13 hour drive from London just to stay here for the weekend. There are certain areas in which this place excels . The food is superb. Much better then the Mitchelling rated place that I have visited in that area. The rooms are very clean with pleasant little touches here and there. Friendly hosts and fantastic location. I really can't be more positive about this place. Lovely, lovely place.

Room Tip: But and Ben
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GezenBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed 1 night on way up west coast of Scotland. Room, hosts, food and location all superb! Stayed in the but and ben - fluffy duvet and towels, fab shower, spotlessly clean, all you could want. Pure luxury in idyllic location overlooking the loch. Lovely little restaurant with fantastic fresh fish, and excellent wine selection. Breakfast was top class. Wished we'd been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpacapeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ratagan
10.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
7.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ratagan Youth Hostel
Ratagan Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ratagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grants at Craigellachie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grants at Craigellachie

Property: Grants at Craigellachie
Address: Craigellachie Craigellachie, Ratagan IV40 8HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ratagan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ratagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing