We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal touches, just wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craigellachie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Speybank Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great personal touches, just wonderful”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I and a friend stayed for two nights and really enjoyed it. Everything was clean and lovely, the street was very quiet, and Geraldine's homemade goodies were delicious: homemade jam and marmalade at breakfast and amazing homemade cookies both on our tea tray and awaiting us in tins in the sitting room whenever we wanted some. I also appreciated that she left a bowl of fruit out during the day so we weren't just eating cookies every time we walked through! Geraldine also helped us plot a walk to Macallan Distillery (note: if you do that, give yourself plenty of time - we gave ourselves a half hour and arrived panting and a little late for our tour!) and gave us advice on where to eat in town. Craigellachie is a lovely little spot in a great location for exploring, and we couldn't have had a nicer time!

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were lovely - the room on the ground floor has its own entrance to the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splendidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
44
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mittel-Gründau
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights when walking the Speyside Way. This is the most comfortable B&B I have ever stayed in. The comfortable room had everything you could need, including a DVD player. The bathroom looked new and Geraldine had cookies, fudge and tea in the room as well as throughout the guest areas of the home. The Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked to order and every morning I tried something different. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anybody visiting the local area. Many thanks from Germany for a very warm welcome. We certainly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty6582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the hospitality was second to non. Nothing was too much trouble, We received tea and cake on arrival and the room was very clean, well provided with all you would need. Excellent shower which was needed after a long days walk. You won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Be warned, on foot it's a 100 flight of steps from the main road to the B&B. but not too tax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcalex201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, V
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Truly a gem! The accommodations were excellent and the hospitality of our hosts Geraldine and Peter was extraordinary. Geraldine prepared some exceptional Scottish breakfasts and Peter keeps the accommodations in excellent condition. The bathroom looked new and the Geraldine had cookies, fudge and tea in the room as well as throughout the guest areas of the home. It is within easy walking distance of downtown Craigalacchie and a perfect location for visiting nearby golf courses and distilleries and experiencing the Spey River. A must place to stay in Craigellachie!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This B&B was in a great location for our Speyside tour. The owners were extremely accommodating, allowing us to leave our car parked there all day. The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Decor was lovely. Breakfast was excellent, all well cooked and cheerfully served.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The sheer volume of 'excellent' reviews are warranted, and so I have little to add. Having walked the Speyside and West Highland way this year the Speybank was the best value B&B we stayed at. Welcome was friendly, facilities good, breakfast very good - with cooked fry-up alternatives and extra touches like jams and pancakes.

If you are on the Speyside way, or indeed in this area, I can thouroughly recommend staying here, although as I say, you probably already knew that from the exisitng reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I walked the West Highland Way, East Highland Way and Speyside Way over three weeks in the summer of 2012. B&Bs I stayed in were very good and hospitable, but Speybank was outstanding thanks to home made cakes and cookies, which after a day's walk just hit the spot. As did the excellent jams and pancakes for breakfast. This place stands out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vered D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
576 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Norlaggan
Norlaggan
#6 of 7 in Aberlour
40 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 7 in Aberlour
392 reviews
5.5 mi away
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speybank Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speybank Bed and Breakfast

Property: Speybank Bed and Breakfast
Address: Leslie Terrace, Craigellachie AB38 9SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Craigellachie
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Speybank Bed And Breakfast Craigellachie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing