We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B with a warm welcome and homemade baked goods!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craigellachie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Speybank Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best B&B with a warm welcome and homemade baked goods!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My friends and I had just walked up, muddy and tired after a 14 mile hike with our 15-20kg rucksacks desperate not to camp in our wet tents and were absolutely delighted with the welcome Peter and Geraldine gave us.

Peter was also helpful in trying to find a place for our 2 extra group members to stay as they did not have enough room for everyone.

When we got in, we were shown the guest lounge with 'help yourself' homemade drop scones, flapjacks and an assortment of teas, hot chocolate and coffee (which we took full advantage of!)

Upstairs our rooms were large with bay windows and the bed was very comfortable with en suite bathroom featuring a large powerful shower. The lemongrass and ginger shower gel and shampoo was bliss! And we welcomed more of Geraldine's homemade goods; tablet - yum!

As I mentioned before, there was a few of us and my 3 friends stayed in the room opposite with Peter telling us they'll put in an extra bed. Off we went to dinner expecting to find a compact fold out sleepover type of bed, but no, they managed to carry a full sized bed upstairs for my friend to sleep in for one night! We were pretty impressed.

Breakfast was delicious and we had many choices for cooked breakfast, ranging from Full English, Salmon and scrambled eggs, various types of omelette, brie & bacon on ciabatta etc. As well as mixed fruit, fresh juice, teas, coffee, pancakes, porridge, yoghurts....fantastic start to our next day of walking!

Geraldine is even happy to give out her tablet recipe which will be useful for future gorging!

Overall the best B&B my partner and I have ever come across, we will be happy to visit again with less baggage!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atomcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My partner and I spent one night in this B&B and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Speybank B&B. Lovely hosts, delicious breakfast with lots to choose from. Large & clean room with a modern bathroom ensuite bathroom. Homemade tablet was left in our room which we thought was a lovely touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Very friendly staff, nice house and rooms. Excellent breakfast. Recommended to anyone.
Only a short walk to excellent whisky bars.

Tore Kielland
Norway

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tore K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Geraldine and Peter offer the perfect bed and breakfast! Warm hospitality, great breakfast and a very comfortable bedroom. All the extra's were very much appreciated- homebaking, fresh fruit and Geraldine's delicious Scottish tablet (for the uninitiated, it's not medicine). We decided to take a winter walk along the Speyside Way last week and booked our accommodation at the last minute. Peter couldn't have been more helpful in helping us to organise the logistical luggage transport headache. Many thanks for everything.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirchwoodScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Perfect whiskytrail location, nice house, nice, comfortable high class room, extremely nice and helpful owners, a cosy livingroom-lounge, reasonable prises, good traveltips for the guests.
Did i mention the homebaked cookies? Because they are a reason to stay there.

Best bed and breakfast i ever visited.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rune A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were given a warm welcome by Geraldine. The room was lovely, tucked under the eaves, with beautiful new en suite bathroom. Very comfortable bed, and excellent shower. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit salad, and a good choice of cooked food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

An excellent stay. Very warm welcome, Peter picked us up in Fochabers and took us back there at the end of our second day. Geraldine's breakfasts were the best we had all trip. The rooms are way above average and the attention to detail was greatly appreciated. By far the best B and B of the whole week and not to be missed. Peter and Geraldine were both very friendly and helpful. Peter's walk suggestions and local knowledge mean you could easily spend a week here and not run out of things to do. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
194 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
531 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Norlaggan
Norlaggan
#5 of 7 in Aberlour
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speybank Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speybank Bed and Breakfast

Property: Speybank Bed and Breakfast
Address: Leslie Terrace, Craigellachie AB38 9SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Craigellachie
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. Ideally situated for Speyside Way walks and access to local distilleries including Aberlour, Glenfiddich and Macallan. Breakfast included. All rooms en-suite. Free WiFi. Guest lounge. Private Parking. £75 double occupancy. £55 single occupancy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Speybank Bed And Breakfast Craigellachie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing