We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Shabby Than Chic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigellachie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craigellachie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Certificate of Excellence
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“More Shabby Than Chic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

Having stayed here many times previously, we were looking forward to a return after three years. Sadly the sparkle has gone, despite a very friendly welcome at the reception, the reception staff were always very friendly.
Room was very small, we wanted a room with a walk in shower to assist my disabled wife, room would be better classified as a single.
One of biggest changes we noticed was the quality of food at dinner, previous stays have always left us with fond memories of good local produce and a very high standard. It may have been the chefs night off for all we know but the quality was no more than poor pub food. Even heard other complaints from adjacent table, when they enquired about the vegetarian option, when told, the guest replied ' you are serving the same dish again as last night''.
Breakfast was nothing special, below average, service well below expected standard. There appreared to be a lack of staff, we ended up clearing our plates and piling them on to another uncleared table.
Just a lack of detail and really lacking someone taking control and running the restaurant.
Whisky is the draw, this was our key reason for staying again to attend a whisky event at Dufftown and once again to enjoy the bar and share the knowledge of the bar staff - what has happened. Let''s hope we were just visiting at a very off day, but I have my doubts a good few changes are urgently required to regain the strengths this hotel once and should continue to hold in the heart of such a fantastic setting.
PS please check rooms before allocation, shower doors not working, no TV remote etc etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank postcard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    148
    68
    36
    19
See reviews for
68
246
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Having been here years ago solely to visit the Quaich Bar and being impressed with the look and feel of the hotel I made a two night reservation this go around. The rooms were nice and the elegance and never ending fires in the drawing room and library were lovely. That being said, the service in the Quaich Bar left a lot to be desired. Our entire group felt insulted and not welcome. This being the main appeal for staying at this hotel, I would rate the overall stay as a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhowell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2009
The bar was booked for a specific tasting by whisky journalists from Holland as the draw of the Quaich bar has a world wide audience
All guest that stay at the hotel are welcome in any public areas at any time and are invited when available to join any group tasting that may be going on in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

Craigellache Hotel is in a lovely country setting, and being from the 1800's, is an older style hotel. Don't come expecting all new large chain features. But that is the charm.
We stayed in master rooms, which were roomy, refurbished and comfortable. BUT beware the room location as some are at ground/basement level, and some have significant road noise while other have no view (as suggested in the website).
Rooms were comfortable, warm and had good modern bathrooms.
The staff are friendly and helpful, though some seemed to be unsure of some of the duties.
The Quaich Bar is a must even if you are not a whisky lover.
The restaurant was fine, and priced in keeping with the hotel and location.
Overall, good hotel in this setting.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

Great hotel for visiting speyside. Food was great, staff very efficient. Bar has 700 whiskys to choose from ! Charming hotel and will visit again.

  • Liked — choice of whisky in bar
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

Nice old hotel with pleasant staff in a beautiful location. Food choice - 3 course dinner for £28.50 or nothing. Staff recommended local pub but I settled for 25 mile round trip to Elgin for something decent. Could the hotel not put on at least a decent bar menu and keep the money on the premises?
Advertised room rates are great value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank billsnags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing break at the Craigellachie Hotel between Xmas and New Year. The plan had been to "get away from it all" and that's exactly what the Craigellachie allowed us to do. The hotel wasn't busy but we were made very welcome - particularly by the Ops Manager, Jane - and we didn't feel like we were getting in the way of what would otherwise be a restful time for the staff between a Xmas sell-out and the New Year rush. The public areas of the hotel had a well-worn feel to them that was not inappropriate for a hotel in this setting and there was always a fire buring in the reception hallway. Our room had clearly been refurbished within the last couple of years. We paid up for one of their "Classic" rooms which had beautiful views towards the Spey and it was roomy, comfy and incredibly warm, despite the outside temperatures. I had seen other reviewers make reference to the strength of the shower and they were not exaggerating - it was brutal (but very exhilarating)! We ate in the hotel on both nights and the food was excellent - we could have just done with a bit more variation in the menu. All in all, the Craigellachie Hotel does Speyside proud and we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollybagsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

Came for dinner on a Sunday night and was mostly delighted by the experience. Charming dining room, with a pre dinner drink in the famous Quaich bar.

Food was excellent - salmon and prawn in a wrap was light and delicious. The guinea fowl was roasted to perfection. A good choice of desserts of different styles.

Fixed price 3- course dinner seemed reasonable, until you see the 'supplements' - £4 for rack of lamb, £4 for cheese and biscuits, etc. I can understand that for filet steak or oysters, but for lamb? In Scotland?

Brisk service, smiles and genuine warmth of welcome were a little hard to come by, even allowing for staff tiredness on a Sunday night in peak season - (Things were not helped by the photo shoot happening in the bar for a japanese airline in-flight magazine)

Lighting in the restaurant is pretty dull. Candles on the tables would lift the experience to another level.

An absolutely heavenly 15-yr old Aberlour malt whisky was the highlight of the evening for me.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Not_a_Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
20.5 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
17.3 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Property: Craigellachie Hotel
Address: Craigellachie Hotel Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigellachie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing