We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craigellachie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food?”
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Nice old hotel with pleasant staff in a beautiful location. Food choice - 3 course dinner for £28.50 or nothing. Staff recommended local pub but I settled for 25 mile round trip to Elgin for something decent. Could the hotel not put on at least a decent bar menu and keep the money on the premises?
Advertised room rates are great value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank billsnags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    157
    73
    36
    19
See reviews for
75
256
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing break at the Craigellachie Hotel between Xmas and New Year. The plan had been to "get away from it all" and that's exactly what the Craigellachie allowed us to do. The hotel wasn't busy but we were made very welcome - particularly by the Ops Manager, Jane - and we didn't feel like we were getting in the way of what would otherwise be a restful time for the staff between a Xmas sell-out and the New Year rush. The public areas of the hotel had a well-worn feel to them that was not inappropriate for a hotel in this setting and there was always a fire buring in the reception hallway. Our room had clearly been refurbished within the last couple of years. We paid up for one of their "Classic" rooms which had beautiful views towards the Spey and it was roomy, comfy and incredibly warm, despite the outside temperatures. I had seen other reviewers make reference to the strength of the shower and they were not exaggerating - it was brutal (but very exhilarating)! We ate in the hotel on both nights and the food was excellent - we could have just done with a bit more variation in the menu. All in all, the Craigellachie Hotel does Speyside proud and we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollybagsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Came for dinner on a Sunday night and was mostly delighted by the experience. Charming dining room, with a pre dinner drink in the famous Quaich bar.

Food was excellent - salmon and prawn in a wrap was light and delicious. The guinea fowl was roasted to perfection. A good choice of desserts of different styles.

Fixed price 3- course dinner seemed reasonable, until you see the 'supplements' - £4 for rack of lamb, £4 for cheese and biscuits, etc. I can understand that for filet steak or oysters, but for lamb? In Scotland?

Brisk service, smiles and genuine warmth of welcome were a little hard to come by, even allowing for staff tiredness on a Sunday night in peak season - (Things were not helped by the photo shoot happening in the bar for a japanese airline in-flight magazine)

Lighting in the restaurant is pretty dull. Candles on the tables would lift the experience to another level.

An absolutely heavenly 15-yr old Aberlour malt whisky was the highlight of the evening for me.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Not_a_Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Fantastic location and lovely hotel - loved the log fires and tasteful old furniture. The bar was a bit expensive but enjoyed the views over the River Spey. We would stay again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank gsfGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The Craigellachie was fantastic, the scenery is fantastic.

Service was outstanding, the General Manager was attentive and welcoming. The food was amazing, the restaurant was full which is always a good sign especially when the majority appeared to be from the surrounding areas.

My bedroom was beautiful, with a very comfy bed, and a seating area. The shower was powerful and the bathroom was large with underfloor heating.

Anyone travelling this way..... Should definately pay a visit.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alxfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2008

The two of us went for a long weekend at The Craigellachie Hotel at the end of June. The area and setting of the hotel is in a very beautiful part of Scotland.

The Hotel is stunning, from the minute we arrived till we left, all the staff were very attentive and could not have been more helpful

The room was gorgeous with a fabulous view over the River Spey. The food was lovely, we particularly loved the Beef.

It totally lived up to and exceeded our expectations of the idyllic Scottish Country House Hotel.

Can't wait to return.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PaulaRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed one night here with friends. We got a very warm greeting from the staff and the rooms were of a good standard. The hotel is in a very good location near Aberlour and the beautiful River Spey. A perfect location for walkers and fishing. The shower unit in the bathroom was one of the most powerful I have ever had the pleasure to be under. The evening meal was delicious as was the breakfast. Certainly worth a stop by anyone who likes something a wee bit extra while staying away from home.

  • Liked — The location and views along with the friendly staff.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain_G_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
229 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
174 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
412 reviews
11.6 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlander Inn
Highlander Inn
#3 of 5 in Craigellachie
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Property: Craigellachie Hotel
Address: Craigellachie Hotel Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigellachie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing