We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed to deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craigellachie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Failed to deliver”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The space has a lot of potential but failed to deliver. We had good experience with the staff overall but were really turned off by the pushy ladies during breakfast who kept asking if we wanted cooked breakfast, which costs extra. After experiencing highland hospitality at other towns, it was a major let-down. We actually skipped breakfast after that experience as it was really uncomfortable. It's unfortunate but the positive aspects of the hotel could not make up for the negative aspects.

Pro:
- great location on the Speyside trail, walking distance to the Cooperage and some distilleries.
- accessible by public transportation
- friendly staff
- comfortable library, drawing room area to relax.

Con:
- stuffy room without working windows
- uncomfortable beds
- moths!
- cleaning equipment/linen closets left open all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    152
    73
    36
    19
See reviews for
72
253
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I know that the hotel is quite old fashioned (not necessarily a bad thing) and has it's run down aspects but I felt very comfortable and enjoyed the non-modern feel - and wear and tear come with that! Having said that, I believe a refurbishment may be on the cards and the hotel will definitely benefit but I do hope that the traditional element is not lost.

The staff are all lovely, very helpful and attentive and the food was excellent. The drawing room looks lovely and would be fantastic on a cold day with the fire blazing.

A great location, comfortable hotel (don't go if you want 5 star modern!) and lovely people. I recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On the Whisky Trail, this was where we could spend the night.
Initial reaction impressive, fantastic Single Malt collection in the well appointed BAR, even if the attendant is not conversant in whisky (he was barely conversant in English).
Rooms, once you negotiate the corridors, going up and down, are OK
Food (?), bland at best, service despite the best of intentions and attention is split between different rooms, thus not very satisfactory
The beautiful building in the best of country side and the best of intentions deserve better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oguz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked two nights, and our room was very nice at the back of the hotel but comfortable.
On the way to the bedroom up a flight of stairs comes the first disappointment a threadbare carpet that everyone has to walk past - a possible trip hazard that should be rectified.
We had a package that gave us dinner on the first night. The menu had four starter options one of which was cured salmon, the main course choice was four dishes one of which was salmon ????
A guy on the next table asked the waiting girl was the salmon smoked, 15 minutes later she had still not returned with an answer .the guy said to us Fawtly Towers for sure.
We were informed that if we wanted Steak there was a £14.95 supplement. This did not make any sense, the chicken option was priced at £16.50 and the steak was £24.95 so where does the supplement come from?
The soup choice was Mushroom even though the down stairs restaurant had Tomato, my wife asked could she have Tomato soup -No it was mushroom or nothing !!!!
The meal was pleasant and the wine was reasonably priced.
We retired to the whisky bar and met a very knowledgable chap who spent a good hour telling us the history etc of Whisky.
Later he disappeared and the girl from the restaurant appeared and she then confused another guest by disappearing to get a coffee and taking 10 minutes to return without the coffee.
Breakfast the next morning continued the theme, as we were told by one of the French twin waiters the toast machine was broken ????? He offered us bread which we agreed to have under protest, A Scottish lad clearing a nearby table came over and said don't worry I'll get you some toast, which quickly arrived followed by the French twin bringing more toast. A further sign of neglect is the heater in the breakfast room has large areas with flaking paint.
We decided to eat out the next night and returned to the bar later in the evening, the manager who had been chatting to us the night before was very off hand and did not recognise us - very strange. He then disappeared to leave a French twin to run the bar.
Next morning at checkout the reception asked had we enjoyed our stay. We related the problems in particular the £14.95 supplement which they tried to defend. Despite explaining the simple mathematics they seemed unable to grasp our complaint.
A very disappointing stay

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for one night with our (grown up) daughters. Rooms were clean and roomy and beds comfortable, the highlight was the shower which was powerful and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and staff were efficient and pleasant. Room rate was rather high. Public rooms comfortable and pleasant for relaxing in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, rooms on the other inside of the hotel overlook the main road, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In the heart of Speyside a beautiful Hotel with a Whsky Bar to die for; is unfortunately let down by it's bland food served by inexperienced staff in the main Restaurant. However the 'Bremners' Lounge and Bar downstairs is both warm, relaxing, good food, music and a Barman who knows what he's doing.

Room Tip: Ask for room three at The Highlander Inn a short walk over the road. Equally good whisky bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernadetteEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am sorry we did not deliver to your expectations. We always try to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My fourth stay at this delightful country Inn in the heart of Scotland's Speyside single-malt distillery region. Refurbished rooms are comfortable sn spacious and restaurant cuisine and service is especially good. Highly recommend Craigellachie, especially for their bar: over 700 single-mal Scotches available!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
17.3 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlander Inn
Highlander Inn
#3 of 5 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Property: Craigellachie Hotel
Address: Craigellachie Hotel Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigellachie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing