We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A year after”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craigellachie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A year after”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had our wedding last year here but didn't stay in the hotel itself. We decided to try it on our anniversary as a treat, and what a treat it was! Although our experience the previous year was very good, we were still very pleasantly surprised about how good the room was, how fantastic our meal was and how reasonably priced it was for what we got. I am not sure if the hotel was wise to the fact that we had got married there the previous year and pulled out all the stops, but couldn't have been happier with the experience. One negative was that the internet connection was terrible, really terrible. But we weren't there to be online, so wasn't too much of an issue. However it seems like a trivial thing to get right, and in this day and age....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. As in my previous response fast speeds are simply not available in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    159
    73
    36
    19
See reviews for
77
260
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The facility could use an update, but the staff are charming, and the location--if whiskey and castles are your thing--couldn't be better. We spent two days wandering the area, including a visit one of the "Glen" distilleries, several castles and driving in the hills. We were disappointed we didn't bring our running stuff--the Spey Way is just metres from the hotel and looked like it would have made a fantastic morning or evening run.

Our only serious complaint was the wireless--it was hopeless--reception apologized as we were checking out, but reasons given for lack of reception were not strong. For the price of the hotel, this should be remedied.

Room Tip: A room behind the kitchen (204) is a bit small, and it's less romantic to have to walk past faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACthree60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Unfortunately, as we are a considerable distance from the exchange which is itself quite elderly, fast broadband speeds as normal in cities and towns are simply unavailable and in the evenings speed in the entire area is an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

booked family dinner for 7. Menu looked impressive but was a total disappointment! 6 of party ordered steaks which were tough and tasteless. I had sea bream, was tasty enough but tiny helping. One family member ordered sticky toffee pudding which came in crisp bite sized pieces!!! All in all, a very expensive let down. Lovely building and surroundings but meal was truly bad.Even chef admitted that beef hadn't been hung properly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mariel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
This has not been brought to my attention. Please contact me direct so we may make ammends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A lovely building, a great little whisky bar, good sized rooms with views. However, there seems to be a complete lack of care. When we arrived the entrance area badly needed a hoovering, lamps are squint with light bulbs missing, stuff left lying around, more shabby than chic. To get service at breakfast you need to get up and ask, more than once! Yet, the food is nice and the staff friendly. A bit of a mix between good and bad but overpriced for the offering.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCCCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We shall try even harder to get everything right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbarchan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Craigellachie Hotel several times. Although it has had some changes of ownership, the atmosphere stays the same. It is a beautiful hotel in a lovely part of Speyside. This time on route home from further north, had two nights in the best room yet. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. One or two things need a bit of sorting out,though. Breakfast is slowed up by having to order juice and fruit instead of them being available for self service. A few more staff whose grasp of English was tenuous made for some delays.
Still a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterferguson546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner and i enjoyed a wonderful meal in the Bremners bar within the hotel, the room was cosy with a nice fire slowly burning,(which was very welcoming due to the poor weather outside,) a sofa and comfy chairs and tables for dining well set out around the room.
Not an extensive menu to choose from overall, however the food was excellent, the starter we had was very good, prawn and salmon cocktail, The fillet steak was so tender it was melt in your mouth. The staff were very friendly and attentive.
we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My partner and I spent one night at the Craigellachie Hotel after hiring a car and driving from Edinburgh. Firstly, if you want a hotel perfectly positioned in the heart of whisky country, you could not ask for more.

The hotel is a beautiful old building, with an old hunting lodge vibe to it. I am surprised at the previous reviews commenting on the hotel being 'tired'....it is old fashioned, and that is the whole point! It has a beautiful old-world country Scottish charm that we loved. The rooms were big and comfortable, with a fantastic powerful shower. The staff were wonderful, and special mention to the staff at breakfast (I don't have names, but a lovely young man and young woman who could not do enough for you).

The breakfast was great - best eggs benedict (with real hollandaise) I've had in ages. We thought we would try the Highlander Inn across the road for dinner so can't comment on the restaurant in the hotel (meanwhile, the Inn is a great little pub).

But the absolute highlight for us is the jaw-dropping whisky bar...gorgeously appointed with comfy chesterfields, this is truly a scotch-lover's heaven! We spent several lazy, happy hours here trying the local drams and chatting with Ian, the resident whisky expert, who is just brilliant.

Overall, this hotel was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
237 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
180 reviews
12.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
417 reviews
11.6 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
286 reviews
22.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Property: Craigellachie Hotel
Address: Craigellachie Hotel Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigellachie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing