We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigellachie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigellachie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just stayed for one night. We packed up after work and decided to go away for night and stumbled across this idylic hotel. It was stunning although old fashioned but that its theme we werent dissapionted room was immaculate very spaciuos bathroom. The staff were fantastic from reception to breakfast staff. The whiskey bar is a must even though i dont drink whiskey my husband does. Its great for a nice quiet evening. Food was fab. Its a must if in speyside and on the whiskey trail. Bravo hotel staff thoroughly enjoyed our night and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is nice to hear that the efforts of the team are greatly appreciated and I will print this out for them to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    148
    68
    36
    19
See reviews for
68
246
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a night at this hotel with friends and it was most enjoyable. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the men enjoyed sampling a few of the many whiskys on display. Would certainly recommend. Would agree that perhaps in need of a little TLC to the decor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are currently looking at the fabric of the hotel as to what is required in terms of refurbishment but our aim is to restore the hotel to it's former glory over the coming months. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed sampling our whiskeys and the food in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in a Classic double room which was very tastefully decorated with good quality reproduction furniture on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The Quaich Bar was amazing holding over 700 Whisky choices but unfortunately could not offer the local Craigellachie brand, go figure. The Library was great with a lovely welcoming fire and the Drawing Room was excellent, my husband thought it was absolutely wonderful and it blew him away. The dinner was absolutely excellent for a 3 course at £20.00 only, it was amazing value, starting with complimentary canapes from the chef which were really tasty. The meal was served very quickly even though it had all been made from scratch and the waitress was very friendly and attentive, (top marks to the waitress and the kitchen staff). The hotel was spotless throughout, so well done to the cleaning staff too, and the people at reception were welcoming and very helpful. An excellent stay for us, and somewhere we would return to again and again. The view from our room was magnificent (Room 204) with a view of the hills and the beautiful autumn coloured trees. The bed was very comfortable and our room was lovely and warm.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the rear of the hotel for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, it is always pleasing to hear that we are doing our jobs right! Craigellachie whisky should be on the shelf within the next week or so and I hope that you will return to enjoy this with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed here on 4 occasions over the last 9 years. It is a good hotel and the staff are excellent. However, it does need a little TLC to the decor and a bit more investment in the unique single malt bothy bar. Cannot fault the beautiful location and always seems to be busy with a very international clientele.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your observations and for taking the time to bring them to my attention. We have recently had a run on some of our whiskies and as I am sure you understand, many of these are single bottlings and no longer available. There are a number of additions in the pipeline which will be on the shelf for your next visit and I hope that you will be back to enjoy those.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The setting cannot be questioned, absolutely stunning, and the room was big with couches, a powerful shower, hot bath and comfortable bed. I also enjoyed the whisky selection in the bar at amazing prices and the library. HOWEVER the entire hotel is tired. There is a need to reupholster, to replace carpets, repaint etc The hotel was packed every night so there is no lack of money here just lack of desire as there is little competition in the area. Similarly, food which I have been told was great in the past was distinctly average (ordering from bar menu) and sauces in packets...oh dear. Funny since breakfast was truly excellent and staff lovely. Would return, for a nice weekend with friends, but would have to resist the urge to pick at those details.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are currently looking at the overall fabric of the hotel to prioritise spending in the coming year and a new bar menu should be in place shortly. We would welcome you back happily should you be in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is older but nice, very clean. There are seating areas in the rooms which is very nice and there was scotch in a decanter waiting for us. There are many nice things I can say- breakfast was lovely (my friends loved the poached haddock), the bar service and food was great, Stefan gave us a wonderful tasting and served us in the amazing bar every night (we would have taken him home with us to work at our bar), a six course meal in the dining room was fantastic.
Some things they might consider: 1) front desk staff needs to be friendlier (they were not very warm) 2) the dining room staff though very nice was not efficient (probably why the dining room was half empty even though we heard them turn 4-5 tables down that afternoon-not the smartest way to run a restaurant.) 3) if you can invest in some larger beds.
We had a great time and would come back - if only to hang out with Steffan at the bar. Overall a very lovely time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkmatedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and constructive critique. It is through people like yourself that we can learn where we need to improve to deliver the service we believe every guest should receive.
Thank you for helping us to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

In the area on business and usually stay in Elgin but all hotels were fully booked so Craigellachie was next best option.
Arrived late so ate in bar, food was very good. Surprisingly found myself in the whisky bar for the rest of the evening! Being Scottish even I was astounded at the number of types available.
Hotel has an old world charm but with modern facilities. Surrounding area great for walking with numerous trails on the doorstep.
Will be back next time in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart_edgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
17.3 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Property: Craigellachie Hotel
Address: Craigellachie Hotel Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigellachie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing