We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Craigellachie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Dowans Hotel(Aberlour)
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastbank Hotel(Rothes)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
338
171
78
37
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
171
78
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquaich barwhiskey barsteakcharming hotelsingle maltpublic roomsfirst classscallopssconeswonderful weekendmalt whiskyrelaxing breakbreakfast roomlovely roomstayed here for two nightslittle touchesfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 644 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is older but nice, very clean. There are seating areas in the rooms which is very nice and there was scotch in a decanter waiting for us. There are many nice things I can say- breakfast was lovely (my friends loved the poached haddock), the bar service and food was great, Stefan gave us a wonderful tasting and served us in the amazing bar every night (we would have taken him home with us to work at our bar), a six course meal in the dining room was fantastic.
Some things they might consider: 1) front desk staff needs to be friendlier (they were not very warm) 2) the dining room staff though very nice was not efficient (probably why the dining room was half empty even though we heard them turn 4-5 tables down that afternoon-not the smartest way to run a restaurant.) 3) if you can invest in some larger beds.
We had a great time and would come back - if only to hang out with Steffan at the bar. Overall a very lovely time.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Checkmatedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and constructive critique. It is through people like yourself that we can learn where we need to improve to deliver the service we believe every guest should receive.
Thank you for helping us to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

In the area on business and usually stay in Elgin but all hotels were fully booked so Craigellachie was next best option.
Arrived late so ate in bar, food was very good. Surprisingly found myself in the whisky bar for the rest of the evening! Being Scottish even I was astounded at the number of types available.
Hotel has an old world charm but with modern facilities. Surrounding area great for walking with numerous trails on the doorstep.
Will be back next time in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart_edgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We really like this hotel, The rooms on the front are bigger than on the back of the hotel and you get a view unlike the rooms on the back which just overloook the road and a big hedge. The bathrooms are very nice and modern. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is very nice with good choice. The restaurant is abit expensive but we always go over the road to the Highlander Inn which does nice bar meals. Its a good location for alot of distilleries and close to Dufttown, Aberlour and only 20 mins from Elgin.

Room Tip: For about £10 more get a room on the front of the hotel, they have a view and are bigger
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed here several times in the past few years and love it here. The hotel has an elegance and charm that makes you feel welcome. Our room is always clean and provides the all important kettle for coffees and teas. We would say be sure to ask for a room on the front for the best views. The back rooms window out onto the roadway. We have never eaten a dinner here as the menu seems quite pricey but they serve a wonderful breakfast with continental and cooked all being very good. We enjoy a drink in the evening before going up to our room and with over 700 whiskies to choose from you are spoiled for choice. The location is perfect if you are doing the distillery rounds. Macallans is only across the river from the hotel. On a day out there is so much in easy reach to see. Dufftown, Elgin , Speyside Cooperage, the scenic trainride to Aveimore. And of course distilleries galore. We look forward to our stays here and cant wait for our next trip! I have only rated down on service a bit due to 1 bar attendant this trip who was possibly just having a bad evening but I think she should have made us feel a bit more welcome than trouble. The atmoshere you are in does matter. Everyone else was wonderful!!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a better view than the back rooms have.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rredrose126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

It’s great to see reviews from our regular guests and I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit again. Thank you also for your understanding in the service you received from our bar person. You will be aware that this is not our usual standard of service and whilst there can be no excuse for poor service, as you say, I’m sure this was an isolated incident. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went for a family meal at Bremner's at the Craigellachie hotel last night and have to say we were a bit disappointed. Having been there in the past, we were looking forward to our evening. We had booked a table for 8. Five of us ordered the haddock, chips and peas. When this was served (after a fairly lengthy wait) we were told that they'd run out of peas!!!!! In a hotel of this quality, I would not expect this to happen. Not only did we not get our peas, we weren't even offered another vegetable or salad in their place! To be fair, the food was of its usual high standard (not cheap though). We also had to go and ask for our side order of chips which had been forgotten about. We weren't offered, but had to ask for, the dessert menu but by that time we were really fed up waiting and decided not to bother. The sole waiter was rushed off his feet as the restaurant was busy and he had little or no help to run the bar either. I would go back as a couple - they seemed to get served more quickly! - as I know it really is a warm, comfortable and pleasant eating experience but surely on a busy Saturday evening, there should be more staff on duty!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to send in your comments and I am sorry that your evening was not as you expected. The bar was much busier than we’d anticipated which led to delay in service you experienced and us running out of some items. There are no excuses, alternatives should have been offered and support for my man on the bar should have been forthcoming and I’m sorry they weren’t.

Next time you visit, let me know and I’ll ensure you’re well looked after as you will be aware this is by no means our usual standard of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews