We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend a stay here lovely professional staff with comfortable clean surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would recommend a stay here lovely professional staff with comfortable clean surroundings.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here over the weekend and enjoyed every minute. Staff team were all pleasant and friendly. Lovely big room with comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean in all areas. A little out of the way nearest village was a good walk away all though taxi services are available. Breakfast was lovely buffet style however it was very well maintained with loads of staff that were very attentive. Good value for money. Give it a go.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrswinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    340
    184
    67
    45
See reviews for
86
448
21
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We chose this hotel because it takes dogs, something of a rarity these days. The location and the grounds are doggy heaven, beautifully kept parkland setting with barely a leaf out of place and poo bins as well. The staff are really kind, welcoming and helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. The building is fairly new and purpose built with superb air conditioned public areas but sadly the bedrooms have no air con and very poor ventilation so consequently were very hot even when the outside temp was only 23degC. Even the standard bedrooms have more space than the average hotel and are well fitted out with comfy beds and pillows. The leisure complex was fantastic with a nice indoor pool area.
To become excellent this hotel needs to grip it's catering department, the emphasis is definitely on quantity and not on quality, the breakfasts are standard buffet fare but can be on the cold side and hot plates are hard to find as only one of the four plate warmers was working, I had to discard ten plates at one meal in order to find a clean one. The dining room had clearly not been vacuumed properly between Sat dinner and Mon breakfast as there were still bits of food in the hard to get places around the base of the tables and along the skirtings. We had two bar meals on Sun night and had to return both of them, the staff handled the situation very well and intimated that our experience was by no means unique. Sort this out and become excellent!
One last thing, does the laundry man have to visit at 0730 on Sat morning and disturb the peace?

Room Tip: Not facing the front entrance ( noisy deliveries ) and I would guess not around the back where ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

A purpose built, modern hotel. Everything: room, cleanliness, food etc was very good. A spacious bar area, though it did get crowded later in evening (it was a Saturday). Just a few niggles: the swimming pool wasn't very big, and with a few families with children in, it seemed even smaller. Also drinks were pricey: £8 for coffee for two. Would we stay again? Probably, if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Staff were exceptionally nice and efficient which always makes a big difference. The rooms are very nice (good size and spotless), but strangely there is no air conditioning.

Cannot comment on the facilities. I understand the sauna, pool and gym are remarkable and I would have loved to try them, but checked in later than expected. Although these are open until 10pm (which is great especially as most hotel pools close by 7pm) the restaurant closes at 9pm so it was a choice between exercise or food..!

Food at dinner was good but a bit pricey. Again staff made it all worth it and I didn't mind paying the extra. Breakfast was also really good for quality and variety.

Overall this is a lovely hotel which I would definitely come back to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to RAF Fairford and were very impressed when we arrived - I don't think the website does it justice. Every where was very clean and well maintained. The room was a good size and bed very comfortable. Surprised there wasn't air conditioning and shower could have been better. Swimming pool was great and gym looked well equipped. Reception staff were very helpful. Food at breakfast was good variety and quality although dining room manager was little surly. Only negative was children running wild through bar area and dining room with lack of parental supervision.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Alexandra House. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the pool/sauna/steam room/ jacuzzi and gym were all spotlessly clean and wonderful. The rooms were of a very high standard and again very clean. We loved it so much we wanted to stay another night but it was fully booked. If you want a fantastic room, reasonably priced with great facilities I highly recommend staying here.

The only disappointment were the meals in the restaurant which weren't very nice and were over priced, especially the Pasta dish (£15?!!).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trolly4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here due to its proximity to RAF Fairford. It's also only 15 minutes from the m4 so ideal location. The hotel is well presented. Room was a usual hotel double size fully equip with iron, trouser press, kettle and biscuits etc. Good size comfortable bed, pillows could have been a tad better quality. Toiletries in room also but again not great quality but ok. Leisure facilities were great, good size pool. Excellent steam room, Sauna and jecuzzi. The Early and late opening hours made it even better as I was able to fit two visits to the swimming pool within my one night visit. Gym had a variety of machines and everything I needed. We ate at the restaurant in the evening and it was good food for a reasonable price. Staff where fantastic, polite and friendly. Credit to the resutrant staff for sure! Breakfast in the morning was also great, lots of variety and choice, good quality food. One of the better buffet breakfasts I have for a while. Overall a great stay, certainly would stay again and recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shauns_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for your positive comments about Alexandra House,

We strive to ensure all parts of a guest stay are accomodated to at a high standard, and you have experienced this in your comments.

This will be passed back to our team.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
18.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Property: De Vere Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing