We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overtown Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Wroughton B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a little slice of heaven”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is off the beaten bath and a welcome quiet respite. Nancy the owner is charming, helpful and approachable. The house is impeccably maintained and they even made me a large pot of tea and cakes when i arrived. A welcome treat after thundering along the M4! Breakfast was equally wonderful with all farm-tp-table-ingredients. If you like countryside, wild cowslips and open fields and want a taste of real England, this is home sweet home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front if you want to catch the afternoon light as you listen to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss21missuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed one evening at the B&B as we were passing through. Such a welcoming, homely place with a special personal touch from the hosts. Homemade biscuits in the room, four poster beds, and fantastic breakfast to accommodate all requirements. Glorious setting, with horses and a pool outside of the bedroom window.

Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerpower13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a fantastic experience!

The manor was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The included breakfasts were hearty, lovingly prepared, and made with locally-sourced ingredients. Best of all, the owners made me feel right at home, with never-ending tea and cakes,and cookies and warm drinks delivered to my room (spontaneously and free of charge!). The owner also offered loads of helpful recommendations, gave me a lift to the train station, and offered multiple times to drive me to local sights.

I recommend Overtown Manor without reservations and look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travzwithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What an amazing surprise this gem is! The perfect B&B for the discerning traveller. A large country manor house, surrounded by peace and tranquility on the downs just 10 minutes from Swindon. Grand comfortable public rooms and cosy country bedrooms, with a bed to die for.

The welcome is equally amazing and I cannot praise this establishment enough. If you are considering accommodation in the Swindon area, you will struggle to find anything that compares!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bensonbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a second one-night stop for my wife and me. Nancy runs this B&B most ably and professionally. You are welcomed with tea and home made biscuits or cake in the beautifully appointed lounge, and the breakfasts are exquisite, served in a wonderful dining room with (in February) a log fire in both rooms.

On both our stays we loved the different rooms we were given, which include a well stocked hospitality tray and bathroom. I slept like a log.

Overtown Manor is a little more expensive than many B&Bs, but it's worth every penny. Anyone who fancies a touch of luxury and a warm welcome should sample it there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Absolutely great stay here for 3 nights on a business trip. Nancy is an attentive and friendly host. I don't generally stop to write reviews but this establishment is deserving of success. Overtown Manor is a model for how B&Bs should operate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderful B and B in a manor house on a farm setting. Lovely large super king bedded room with quality bedding and bathroom facilities. Superb breakfast with extensive choice of quality food. Thank you to Nancy for a warm welcome and to Yana for looking after us during our stay. Sincerely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
0.4 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
953 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.9 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,833 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#11 of 24 in Swindon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overtown Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overtown Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Overtown Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: Overtown Hill, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Overtown Manor Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overtown Manor is a beautiful rural bed and breakfast in striking distance of the M4 and Swindon but we are fortunate to have a secluded and peaceful setting. We are only 7 miles from Avebury and 10 miles from Marlborough. We provide accommodation and facilities for leisure and business travellers. Set in the unspoilt Wiltshire countryside, Overtown Manor is a Grade II listed house in its own garden and grounds. There is plenty of free off road private parking. We offer the highest standard of accommodation and the warmest of welcomes. We have four double ensuite bedrooms, two of the bedrooms can be twin rooms aswell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, LateRooms, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Overtown Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing