We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Alexis Hotel May 25th 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parigoria
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stay at Alexis Hotel May 25th 2013”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We can't rate our 2 night stay with Theo at the Alexis Hotel highly enough. In spite of arriving in the early hours because of a late flight, Theo and staff made us very welcome with beer , Raki and discussions of the Champions League Final result ! We ate delicious food for dinner on the second night and Theo laid on special drinks in honour of Mike's birthday - continued the following morning with Buck's Fizz for breakfast. We experienced much kindness and generosity in Crete but it's rare to find such a genuinely kind , patient, humorous and attentive host . A gem of a hotel , not to be missed - great views and great value too. Thoroughly recommended .

Kate & Mike , Bath , England

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Glad I had a chance to meet you both and spend some time together over a few Raki! Glad you enjoyed the food and services. Thank for recommending our place!!
Once again...happy birthday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    203
    61
    17
    5
See reviews for
89
372
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Akershus, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spend our vacation In the Chania district for a week from may 7, and stayed at Alexis hotel for a few days as a rescue operation from boring resort life we had booked upfront. The view was great from our room, but unfortunately the weather was partly cloudy during our stay, so we didn’t experience the view at its best.
The service was excellent and Theo gave us some really good advice and suggestions for places to see. He really understood what we were looking for 
The location of Alexis hotel is a bit far from the center of Chania to walk, but taxis are easy available and not too expensive.
Negative- uncomfortable bed and a bathroom with no shelves, shower and sink with leaks, but not a showbreaker for people who likes hard beds which is common in Greece
Positive; we had dinner in Theodosis restaurant, and the food there was really tasty and delicious. Theo is an excellent chef. Actually we had our best meal during our whole vacation in Chania, at this place. So, all in all, good value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you and planning your activities during your stay! Sorry about the beds...Greek orthopedic mattresses!
Glad you enjoyed the food at our restaurant! See you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harjumaa, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and we got only positive emotions. Very good calm area, while the short walk to the city center. Beach nearby. Clean and comfortable rooms with great view. Very friendly, personal and pleasant service. We felt ourselves like at home. Particularly memorable was a young host Yiannis. He's always a joyous mood and it infect us all :) And of course the food! The best we've eaten.We are very pleased that we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello! thank you for your review! It was nice to see you and hope that you would visit again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at this hotel; a short walk from the beach and the city of Chania. Theo is an excellent host and the staff are extremely friendly. I could wax lyrical about the quality of the tranquil and picturesque atmosphere for the prices on offer. The view from this location is fantastic and the food in the restaurant is first-class! There is an element of "you get what you pay for", because although it was of a much higher standard than I was expecting, the rooms could be made more comfortable. Particularly, the beds and the shower. Nevertheless, it represents excellent value for money and I highly recommend staying here. I will definitely do so again when I return to Crete.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the sea-view rooms, but higher floors are better as these rooms are above the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrirTheScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Alexis hotel! Glad you liked the views and the food at the restaurant! See you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had a great stay in Chania in July 2012, thanks to Hotel Alexis. My friends and I arrived at Chania late due to delays from the boat, and we were thus stranded without the ability to get to Hotel Alexis on day 1; however, the owner was kind enough to understand our problems and gave us directions on how to get to the hotel on day 2. Major plus point is the excellent food served in the restaurant, really memorable and tasty, and plenty of complimentary Raki shots were given as well. Rooms are generally good, though airconditioning must be separately purchased (a must if you're there in summer). The seaview is really great for sunrise/sunset shots. The owner also gave us simple and efficient directions to get to certain locations, e.g. the Samaria Gorge. Another plus point for us was that the staff spoke good English, especially Theo (something rather rare in Chania). All in all, a great experience and great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chlodovech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your leaving a review our Alexis hotel. Glad to hear you had a nice stay and that you found our food at the restaurant to be excellent. Also, that you found good value for money spent! See you on your next vacation to Crete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Simple hotel for whoever just wants a place to sleep.
Very friendly owner/manager + excellent (although not very cosy) restaurant.
We had here the best dinner during our one week tour of Kreta.

A big advantage of Alexis is the ample parking place. Elsewhere in Chania we experienced parking to be a crime.
Small room and bathroom, but a nice balcony with a great view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
thanks for reviewing Alexis hotel. Happy you enjoyed the restaurant food! I am also happy your stay with us was an enjoyable one, and am looking forward to seeing you again in October! see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Awesome owner, very friendly and happy to help with anything you want, and will come and have a drink with you in the restaurant in the evening with freebies. Very good location, about 20 min walk from town centre, or taxi is only €5 so easy and cheap to get around. Good restaurant downstairs, nice food, mostly cooked by your host Theo. Rooms are okay, small showers and no bath, but awesome seaview, a safe and a small fridge which makes things handy. Breakfast is nice and adequate, but sometimes a bit slow in filling in with missing items from the buffet. All and all very good value for money and will probably go again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view! It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niina1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for booking your stay at Alexis hotel!
Glad you liked the location of the hotel, the breakfast, sea views and food at the restaurant!
See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parigoria
2.0 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 108 in Chania Town
377 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
481 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chania Town
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#29 of 108 in Chania Town
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Hotel, Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel, Chania

Property: Alexis Hotel, Chania
Address: 99 Kallergidon Street, Parigoria, Chania Town, Crete 731 35, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Parigoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parigoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexis Hotel, Chania 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Chania Town, close to the beach, Venetian Port and Chania Lighthouse. Guestrooms open to balconies with sea views, and offer air conditioning, safes, mini-fridge and free WiFi. The hotel restaurant serves Greek and Creative Cretan dishes and room service is also available. There is a regular shuttle bus to the city center or 20 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexis Hotel, Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Parigoría
Alexis Hotel, Chania Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing