We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Ranked #1 of 5 Broseley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute treasure”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We spent three nights at The Old Rectory and had a fantastic stay. This is without doubt one of the best B&Bs you can find - B&B is probably an inadequate description.

Set just outside Broseley itself, the house is set away from the main road, down a driveway. We were welcomed cordially and escorted to our room on the top floor. The room was spacious and immaculate. Decoration was very light - possibly a little twee for a bloke like me, but the wife liked it. Facilities were very good - digital LCD TV, bath, shower, en suite, large table, comfortable and large bed, free wifi access.

We dined in on the first night and had a lovely meal. Good food and portions were huge. Wine list was fairly limited but perfectly acceptable for a B&B. Breakfast is fantastic - home made muesli and a full English of quality (local products) and quantity that I have seldom encountered.

The owner and staff were attentive throughout and nothing was too much trouble.

The location is a bit of a walk from Broseley, which isn't the liveliest town in the country, so if you want some nightlife or a choice of places to dine it's a taxi drive to Ironbridge or Telford, but if you want a quiet stay in friendly and comfortable surroundings or a base from which to explore the area (you have to cross the iron bridge itself) I can't recommend The Old Rectory too highly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbroseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldrec49, General Manager at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    30
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
364
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
displaced Englishwoman
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for a romantic overnight stop off on our return from London to Scotland, It was out of the way for our trip, but worth the detour as it was exactly what we were looking for. Our host was so kind - nothing was too much trouble. We arrived late and he brought us some delicious complimentary deserts, because we were too late for the restaurant.
Our room was beautiful, romantic lighting, comfy pillows and lovely linens. We had a nice garden view and it was very peaceful. The thick towelling robes and the four poster jacuzzi was the ultimate in luxury, just what we wanted.
Breakfast was superb, the sausages were out of this world, the juice fresh, there was just so much food!!! It just rounded off the whole experience beautifully.
We will be going back for our anniversary this November, and hopefully we will arrive in time to book an evening meal this time!
We had a small issue with paying our bill -the machine didn't seem to work and said it wasn't debiting the card. We paid cash, and then discovered later that it had actually come off the card too. However, the owners were very helpful with getting this resolved.
By far my favourite place to stay in England and excellent value for money. If you want to feel pampered and looked after, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghPulcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

NB This review relates to the Old Rectory in Stirchley, Nr Telford. (There is another one close by on Ironbridge Road in Brossely).

We stayed at the Old Rectory for 3 nights in a double room. It is set in really charming and relaxing surroundings and is rightly described as an oasis. We took cycles which we were able to store in the garage and we cycled to Telford, Ironbridge, Coalport and others easily. There are good cycle routes which start close to the B+B - it's a good location from that point of view. Disadvantage of location was that we didn't find a restaurant for evening meal within walking distance, but this didn't prove a problem to us as there are plenty available within a short drive.

I would describe Hazel as the hostess with the mostess. She made us feel very welcome and had made the rooms very comfortable - from wide range of tea/coffee etc to hot water bottles! The room was spacious, with sofa, chairs TV and a huge bed. Plenty of storage space. The bathroom was very well equipped, to a 5 star standard, and there were plenty of complementary quality bath/shower products for use.

Breakfast was superb. Juice, fruit, cereal etc and a range of cooked breakfasts cooked to a high standard. This set us up well for the day. Hazel was on hand to signpost us in the right direction, provided tourist information etc. She is a lovely lady, helpful but not in your face!

I would thoroughly recommend this B+B if you want a haven whilst you explore the area. It was also very good value for money .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBlott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Me and my husband stayed here on our wedding night and is was lovely, the staff we're very friendly, food was very nice and the location was wonderful. We stayed in the linely room which is beautiful. I would recommend to anyone to stay at the old rectory and will stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP20062009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zulu24
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed on a Saturday night in June.We stayed in the Wrekin room.It was superb.Very white,with four poster bed, a lovely table and chairs set for a meal,and a settee.It had a 32"flat screen tv and coffe and tea making equipment. There were some nice touches such as a bar of chocolate on the bed,bottled water and the towels were of superb quality.The only down side was a shower that had a mind of it's own regarding temperature. We booked a table for an evening meal and I can honestly say I have never seen so much food.I ordered Gammon steak and actually got two! We also had a very reasonably priced bottle of wine. Breakfast was delicious and the whole stay was hassle free and relaxing. Would (and will) go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2009

A beautiful and peaceful hotel. The room (Wenlock) was fabulous, absolutely spotless and had lots of special little touches.
The breakfast was perfect and our evening meal was lovely.
All the staff were very friendly, helpful and ingredibly kind. We were very well looked after and spoiled during our stay, we are already planning our return.
We had a wonderful time, just what we needed after tough year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We have just returned from a two night break at this lovely guest house with our three children and we were sad to leave! Our rooms (The Coalport and Woodbridge) were very luxurious and spotlessly clean with everything to make our stay relaxing and comfortable.

David and the other staff were exceedingly welcoming and helpful; David really couldn't do enough for us and was a mine of local knowledge and information.

Breakfast was wonderful with plenty of variety even for picky eaters, nothing was too much trouble to prepare and we felt very well set up for the day.

The Old Rectory occupies a prime location for visiting Ironbridge and its many attractions. A few minutes drive in the car and you can visit Blist Hill Victorian town, Enginuity, Tar Tunnel and The Severn Valley Railway. Shropshire is a beautiful county - full of charm and character and we could do with a few more days here to see more that it has to offer, staying at The Old Rectory again of course :)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahchoccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
1.4 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
884 reviews
5.3 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
6.9 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
505 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Rectory of St James
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Property: The Old Rectory at Broseley
Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory at Broseley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing