We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Ranked #1 of 4 Broseley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Old Rectory at Broseley over the Easter weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday and to explore a part of the country we've only passed through briefly. We'd read the reviews and were not disappointed - David was a fantastic, friendly and welcoming host. Our room (The Ludlow) was well appointed, clean and bright (our only criticism was that the curtains were too thin and the morning sunshine woke us up!). We loved the little touches (excellent selection of teas on the hospitality tray, toiletries - including cotton wool etc) which made all the difference. The breakfast was exceptional - and David really pulled all the stops out to accommodate my vegetarian diet. Thank you David and your fantastic team for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable, we would definitely stay with you again and would thoroughly recommend your lovely establishment.

Room Tip: The Ludlow room has a four poster bed and spa bath!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie_Smith1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Manager at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

we are all very grateful for your kind words
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory at Broseley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 495 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at The Old Rectory and loved our time there. It was my first time staying in a four poster bed and i loved it. The room was light fresh and clean and perfect for our needs. A bonus was the double shower which suited hubby perfectly as he is very tall and all arms and legs. The bed was comfy and the breakfast the next day was the largest full cooked breakfast I had seen. We had a lovely chat with the owner and they made us feel very welcome. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Manager at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

we are delighted that your visit was such a success
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Clean, comfortable, good breakfast, parking all fine. One problem, the room we had only had a shower and evidently as the notice in the room stated the water pressure is so low in the morning that the shower might not work. Both mornings I tried and was unable to take a shower and this for me in this day and age is poor. Evidently the owners think the water board are to blame but a storage tank and a pump would cure the problem so it ought to be addressed and quickly. If you don't have to get up and down for breakfast at eight in the morning then it won't be a problem. We would only return if we were having a lazy few days and late mornings.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ZZJonZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Manager at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

thank you very much for your thoughtful review. your advice is appreciated.
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I booked a room for my boyfriend and me who is a soldier back from Afgan and wanted to make it special ...had an email confirmation from booking.com for spa bath etc...only to be told when calling the hotel to confirm its booked...the aggressive owner.. the rudest man I have ever spoken to was...its booked take it up with booking.com!!!....where did their rating come from? All I wanted was a special night... close to my parents who live close to have the children !!! thanks we are going elsewhere

Room Tip: work on customer service if you are using booking.com and other online booking sites !!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dawni9565sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Manager at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

this lady was told that the room had been booked out,over the phone, just as she booked on line.. this is the reason on line bookings are called "reservations" because they have yet to be confirmed.
when this was explained to the lady, the lady's mother can on the phone in an attempt to bully.when i firmly but politely told her we had already confirmed the first booking,and could not offer that room , she became abusive and insulting and insistent.
the person who wrote this review has never visited the old rectory , never been in any of the rooms at old rectory , never had breakfast at the old rectory and her review is not based on fact, just a bad tempered rant, because she was not able to get what she wanted. whilst i fully understand her disappointment ,the staff at the old rectory are all keen supporters of help our heroes and the star and garter homes. her criticism is unjustified and unfounded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived on spec, with no notice, on a Sunday afternoon to be greeted by David who was engaging, friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless, and luxury in a quirky sense - four poster bed and a four poster jacuzzi bath in the same room!! Hilarious! But the jacuzzi was a treat, the bed was divinely comfortable and the room was dual aspect and sunny in the morning (but not so that it woke us up)!

David and Sylvia were attentive, breakfast was cooked to perfection, with a big cafetiere of fresh coffee. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonThelmaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Manager at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

deeply flattered , thank you so much
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I would like to say a big thank you to davie and all is staff for a Great stay and a Great welcome from the minute we arived to the time we left nothing is to much for them to do for you and as for the one bad review on Here tripadviser Should remove it as. I have stopped in a lot of hotels around them world and up till Now this as been the best I have stayed at

Room Tip: All rooms but room 6 is they one I would book again
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

really appreciate your wonderful review
best regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in February for the one night. Really lovely well equipped room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast (included in price) was excellent! Highly recommend! There is also an amazing Thai restaurant down the road where we ate in the evening! The Rectory is also in a lovely spot very close to Broseley High Street and not far from Much Wenlock and Ironbridge. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiel0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Manager at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Sssshhhh. don't say a word , or they will want a pay rise !
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
1.4 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
4.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.9 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range: $99 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory at Broseley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing