We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Ranked #1 of 4 Broseley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our second visit to the Old Rectory and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our very comfortable room was on the ground floor. We had asked for soya milk when we booked and it was available. Our request for a lighter-weight duvet was also dealt with promptly. Dave and his staff made us very welcome. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was excellent. Tea and coffee facilities and biscuits were provided in our room and there was a generous supply of shower gel and other toiletries in the bathroom. The house is conveniently located for visiting the museums in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Barbara85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you.
when you leave the comfort and familiarity of your own home , you take a gamble that your not going to be disappointed. we are glad that you took that gamble with the Old Rectory. and placed your trust in us .... we are pleased that you were not disappointed.
Reviews are very important to the continuation of our business, they matter a great deal to everyone here, it goes without saying that we are genuinely delighted for your recommendation.
best regards from everyone at the Old Rectory
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 528 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Highly recommend this first class 'more than a' guest house We.chose The Old Rectory to spend a short break to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary as the rooms all looked unique, and a little bit 'special'.We weren't disappointed, our room (The Sretton) was a delightful room! The decor and soft furnishings,including the four poster bed were charming, and comfortable, all to a very high standard.Everything you need (and more) is catered for.The owner, David is very friendly and attentive to his guests,and serves a superb breakfast! David kindly showed us some of the other beautifully styled 'wow' factor rooms. Visited the local area of Ironbridge, where there are many interesting and picturesque things to see and do.If you are looking for that special break don't look any further you've found it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Carl
there are few things we enjoy more than greeting a returning guest. it is like catching up with old friends. thank you for a terrific review, and know that we would love to see you both again.
all the very best from everyone at the Old Rectory
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Cannot recommend highly enough this very superior guest house close to ironbridge in Shropshire where I stayed last weekend Wonderful warm reception from David an excellent spotlessly clean en suite room with very comfortable Four Poster Bed a really good cooked vegetaraian braekfast on both saturday and sunday courteous attention throughout It was an excelent base to stay for this most historically interesting areas of Shropshire

Room Tip: All rooms seemed of very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us,.. I know what busy lives you both lead, and fully appreciate the time you have taken to provide such a generous review.
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a short break at The Old Rectory , August 20th to 21st.I cannot praise it highly enough: everything was exceptional: comfortable beds, spotlessly clean , individually styled rooms with every amenity possible ,the most superb breakfast one could imagine and all in the most lovely surroundings and under the auspices of an excellent host ! Nothing was too much trouble and great thought has gone into every aspect of this small hotel
I will tell my friends and come again .
The World Heritage Site of Ironbridge Gorge with all it's museums is a very short distance away.
A really excellent find .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lleisiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank You for an "Exceptional" review. To be on the receiving end of such a kind and generous recommendation , is a bit unnerving.... after dark i did have a small sherry and a bit of a jig..,but only when i thought every one had retired for the night.
I nearly had a stroke , when i voice came from out of the darkness, asked if " musical accompaniment.
would help ".
In times like these, taking time out to provide a glowing review, means everything towards the helping us keep the show on the road.
from everyone at the Old Rectory , a great big thank you
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here from 9th August to 11th August as part of our 17th Wedding Anniversary on 10th August. We had a lovely weekend and the weather was great for us. We visited Ironbridge which was perfect. The owner David is a very extremely friendly man and very open and chatting a lot. I would recommend to anyone to visiting to the Old Rectory. The breakfast was lovely. The Ludlow room is lovely with a 4 poster bed and the bathroom is nice and big. We are deaf and they provided the loop for the TV for hard of hearing people which was nice of them. Lovely large garden with fish pond too and loads of dragon flies around. It is good for romantic couples. Went out to Woodbridge Inn at Coalport bridge and the restaurant was lovely and reasonable prices with friendly staff. That is where we went there for our anniversary meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, delighted that you liked the people and the area... a bit like visiting with old friends. I thank for your generous review and hope that one day you may return here.
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, very hospitable hosts, lovely rooms, handy for Ironbridge & other attractions including Brosley itself which is a nice village. Lovely nature reserve with pond within 5 minutes walk, a nature lover's paradise - we saw lots of dragonflies and many other things. Walks to Ironbridge via footpaths. Tandem hire from 'The tandem experience' within 10 minute walk, with easy mostly off road riding to Bridgenorth. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

It is definitely worth the effort to explore what the area has to offer., sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed everyday of your stay. Shropshire has an exceptional number and variety of things to do and places to go.
though I must confess that I am not man enough for a day tandem riding, so good on you.
Thanks for a generous review , hopefully you have left with fond memories of Ironbridge.
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed in a few b and b,s and have to stay this is the best !.
Nothing was too much trouble ,spotless rooms,very tasteful decor,fabulous breakfast , ticked all the boxes and more.
The owner David well, all we can say is both of us wish there were more like him around,the world would really be a nicer place.
If you are visiting the museums,this is a great base. Not too far to walk into ironbridge,f not there is a large car park just before the bridge. so much to see in and around here,we had a great time exploring.Spent two nights here wish it could have been more.
We looked around at the other choices and were so glad to have picked this gem.

Room Tip: all the rooms are a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

the review is so good that no one would believe it.... thank you for a very special endorsement of the Old Rectory. it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us.
I looked in the mirror , but i could not see Mr. perfect there ,( just a tired old git ). i really do not deserve your remarkably kind words...BUT I AM SHAMELESSLY GRATEFUL.
Shropshire is a beautiful relaxing places , but with lots to do and see.. we would like to be able to thank you in person , if you are ever back in the area do come and see us.
best regards from everyone at the old rectory
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
1.4 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
988 reviews
3 mi away
The Old Rectory of St James
1.5 mi away
The Foundry Masters House
The Foundry Masters House
#1 of 1 in Coalbrookdale
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The White Hart Ironbridge
The White Hart Ironbridge
#4 of 10 in Ironbridge
259 reviews
14 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
255 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hundred House Hotel
Hundred House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Norton
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range: $83 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory at Broseley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing