We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The old Rectory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory at Broseley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Ranked #1 of 5 Broseley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Machynlleth
1 review
“The old Rectory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, very hospitable hosts, lovely rooms, handy for Ironbridge & other attractions including Brosley itself which is a nice village. Lovely nature reserve with pond within 5 minutes walk, a nature lover's paradise - we saw lots of dragonflies and many other things. Walks to Ironbridge via footpaths. Tandem hire from 'The tandem experience' within 10 minute walk, with easy mostly off road riding to Bridgenorth. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It is definitely worth the effort to explore what the area has to offer., sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed everyday of your stay. Shropshire has an exceptional number and variety of things to do and places to go.
though I must confess that I am not man enough for a day tandem riding, so good on you.
Thanks for a generous review , hopefully you have left with fond memories of Ironbridge.
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    30
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
356
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed in a few b and b,s and have to stay this is the best !.
Nothing was too much trouble ,spotless rooms,very tasteful decor,fabulous breakfast , ticked all the boxes and more.
The owner David well, all we can say is both of us wish there were more like him around,the world would really be a nicer place.
If you are visiting the museums,this is a great base. Not too far to walk into ironbridge,f not there is a large car park just before the bridge. so much to see in and around here,we had a great time exploring.Spent two nights here wish it could have been more.
We looked around at the other choices and were so glad to have picked this gem.

Room Tip: all the rooms are a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
the review is so good that no one would believe it.... thank you for a very special endorsement of the Old Rectory. it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us.
I looked in the mirror , but i could not see Mr. perfect there ,( just a tired old git ). i really do not deserve your remarkably kind words...BUT I AM SHAMELESSLY GRATEFUL.
Shropshire is a beautiful relaxing places , but with lots to do and see.. we would like to be able to thank you in person , if you are ever back in the area do come and see us.
best regards from everyone at the old rectory
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtown, powys
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to the old rectory and I am never disappointed, lovely room with an amazing bed with every little detail thought about. A first class breakfast served again, with plenty of choice and quality produce. The host David is always welcoming and his staff are always with a smile. They all take great pride in the service they provide and very attentive. Can not wait to return, one night is not enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maymae01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are especially pleased that you chos to return to the old Rectory. just a little disappointed , that you keep going home again.
thank you for your very kind review
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Checked in on Sunday 21st July, just for one night.
Loved everything about this place.
Have to say from the minute we arrived we were welcomed by the owner who gave us a brief history of the place, and showed us to a truly stunning room.
This is without a doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Attention to detail is amazing.
Would highly recommend a stay here, think we have found our perfect little hide away from London , and will be back..
Lee and Sarah :-)
London

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeeeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Lee and Sarah, thank you, you are more than welcome to come and find a breathing space away from the the relentless pressures of life.it was a pleasure to me you both you are welcome here when ever you can make it back
best wishes from all tat the old rectory
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just had 3 nights at this lovely B & B, it certainly lives up to it's 5 star rating and more! Sumptuous rooms, with everything you could wish for. Fabulous breakfasts and a very warm welcome from David and his staff, Sylvia and Sue, for whom nothing was too much trouble.
We highly recommend it.
Margaret & Graham

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but some have windows on 2 aspects which is an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and cant wait for your return
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this hotel for my birthday treat, and what a treat it was. We were met at the car and shown to our room ( The Ludlow ) which was spotless (who ever does the cleaning deserves a medal) Lovely bathroom with spa bath, The room in our opinion lacked for nothing and attention to detail was very good. As was knowledge of the area. Now for the breakfast epic portions and cooked beautifully we had the full English and didn't eat again till tea time, thanks David you saved us the price of lunch. Had a great weekend and felt totally spoilt. The hotel and its staff are excellent, only complaint is we had to leave and return to work!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
thank you. we do appreciate your very generous review. thank you for taking the time and trouble to warn everyone else....hardly anyone had an old rectory breakfast this week...mumbling something about "pants are too tight"..our butcher is being driven towards bankruptcy, the chefs gone grey. the village will probably close... all because of a few careless words.....i did`nt need to eat for several days.
that sort of talk , makes them ,well ,"anxious".. so mums the word !
best regards from all at the Old Rectory
I know you meant well
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This small hotel really is a the most special find, we picked it for our mini-moon and it could not have made a better start to our married life. The attention to detail is amazing, we really could not find fault, and we did try! We stayed for 3 nights and only wish it had been longer, it is the perfect base to explore the local area.
As for the breakfasts, well not only was the quality amazing but lets just say we didn't eat again until the evening!
David is a fantastic host, who makes you feel so welcome.
Thank you David.

Room Tip: Pick any, they were all stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to the Old Rectory. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.
life is such a wonderful gift , it is wonderful to meet a couple who are enjoying it so much. i was great to have you here...just make sure you come back to us on your anniversaries.
Best wishes from the old rectory
regards
Davids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
1.4 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
5.3 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
7.0 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Property: The Old Rectory at Broseley
Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory at Broseley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing