We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Nearby Hotels
The Tontine Hotel(Ironbridge)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge(Telford)(Great Value!)
$112
$105
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveler rating
463
39
15
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
463
39
15
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedjacuzzi bathwenlock roombeautiful roomlittle extrasbreakfast was amazingbox of chocolatesfull englishromantic breakreceived a very warm welcomeeverything you could possibly needbiscuitsguest housethought of everythingbottled wateryogurtset you up for the day
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 528 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just had 3 nights at this lovely B & B, it certainly lives up to it's 5 star rating and more! Sumptuous rooms, with everything you could wish for. Fabulous breakfasts and a very warm welcome from David and his staff, Sylvia and Sue, for whom nothing was too much trouble.
We highly recommend it.
Margaret & Graham

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but some have windows on 2 aspects which is an added bonus.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and cant wait for your return
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this hotel for my birthday treat, and what a treat it was. We were met at the car and shown to our room ( The Ludlow ) which was spotless (who ever does the cleaning deserves a medal) Lovely bathroom with spa bath, The room in our opinion lacked for nothing and attention to detail was very good. As was knowledge of the area. Now for the breakfast epic portions and cooked beautifully we had the full English and didn't eat again till tea time, thanks David you saved us the price of lunch. Had a great weekend and felt totally spoilt. The hotel and its staff are excellent, only complaint is we had to leave and return to work!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

thank you. we do appreciate your very generous review. thank you for taking the time and trouble to warn everyone else....hardly anyone had an old rectory breakfast this week...mumbling something about "pants are too tight"..our butcher is being driven towards bankruptcy, the chefs gone grey. the village will probably close... all because of a few careless words.....i did`nt need to eat for several days.
that sort of talk , makes them ,well ,"anxious".. so mums the word !
best regards from all at the Old Rectory
I know you meant well
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This small hotel really is a the most special find, we picked it for our mini-moon and it could not have made a better start to our married life. The attention to detail is amazing, we really could not find fault, and we did try! We stayed for 3 nights and only wish it had been longer, it is the perfect base to explore the local area.
As for the breakfasts, well not only was the quality amazing but lets just say we didn't eat again until the evening!
David is a fantastic host, who makes you feel so welcome.
Thank you David.

Room Tip: Pick any, they were all stunning.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for coming to the Old Rectory. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.
life is such a wonderful gift , it is wonderful to meet a couple who are enjoying it so much. i was great to have you here...just make sure you come back to us on your anniversaries.
Best wishes from the old rectory
regards
Davids

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked two nights to stay with my husband for his birthday, but we booked in a third night quite early on because it was so lovely, and we really appreciated the luxury of our room, as well as the fantastic countryside all around.

The room was spotless, wanted for nothing, and attention to detail was present everywhere. We were in room 6, which had a double jacuzzi bath, complete with a four poster effect and soft lighting - has to be seen to be believed! You could even lie back in the bubbles and watch TV - complete bliss!

David and his team do go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable; too many small touches to mention, but huge selection of first class food in the morning, local knowledge to help you get around, a bar of chocolate in our room on our final evening, some chilled water to take with us on our journey home, triple ply toilet paper - I know, I know, but it's these things that do make you feel special, and look forward to returning again.

We will definately be back some time soon, and hopefully it won't be too long.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much , your review impressed me so much i have booked a room for myself.!!
I have got to be so carefully joking with some guests , that it is such a relief to find a genuine couple who do not take themselves over seriously. It was utterly delightful to have you stay with us.
It makes life more relaxing for us , so we would like you to stay here permanently.!
A great pleasure to met you both, we will be delighted if you could visit again.
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Old Rectory is a lovely venue with an "interesting" host. Our room was fine and everything seemed to be good. Mine host is certainly an unusual character but quite amusing, we thought. I had paid, in advance, for two rooms as some friends were joining us for our one night there. We departed after a delicious - if not exhausting (so many questions giving us so many options!) - breakfast.
Our friends stayed on for two more nights and imagine their surprise - and ours - when they went to pay and discovered that he had already debited OUR credit card for their extra two nights!!!
If this is supposed to be amusing, we fail to see the joke.
We have had no apology and are just grateful that we have honest friends who repaid the full amount debited from our account

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank samsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

mistaken identity. we had your friends listed as you. when they asked to stay another day, we wrongly thought that they had made the original booking. our policy it take only accept bookings with deposits , we do what we have done since starting the business. only when your friends came to check out did we realise the mistake. so no criminal intent, no one was over charged. but unfortunately we were mistaken about their identity.
I apologise for that. your friends told me that they would contact you and address the charge. this the only occasion that i can recall when we have mistaken the guests identity, out of many thousands of guests we have had. i am sorry that you happened to be the one.
With regard to implying that either dishonesty or sharp practise had taken place, neither is true. a genuine error , which is sincerely regretted. but there was no intent to gain. the correct amounts were charged.
some years ago i remember paying for two kids that were not mine when getting onto a bus. the driver mistakenly presumed they were part of my crowd ... these things happen.
I know that it was not the drivers intention over charge.... just a mistake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews