We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality from an age of elegance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Ranked #1 of 4 Broseley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The owner, David, claims not to be a hotelier but at the Vestry Hotel he provides a level of comfort, charm, extravagance and hospitality that very few give their guests nowadays. The Vestry is literally a haven for those who are staying in the area of Ironbridge. Nothing is too much trouble, in fact one has to rebel against the generosity of David, and his staff, so as not to succumb to the slide into total indulgence. This place is a jewel, and for those contemplating a visit to this area look no further because you will find no place better. Just don't tell anyone, then we can keep it as our secret!
NPG.

Room Tip: If you are over 6ft. in height I suggest you do not stay in the Broseley room, as the ceiling in the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

It is difficult to respond , without appearing to be a sycophant or an ego maniac.
In all modesty I thank you most sincerely for what is an extraordinarily generous review. one that is greatly appreciated by everyone at the Old Rectory
we believe that hospitality must come from the heart, so it is no a chore for us to try to make your stay here a comfortable one. (apart of course from the beastly torment of a "character" loo.)
It was a genuine pleasure to meet you and your wife, thank you for your generosity.
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory at Broseley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 495 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

My partner had booked us a night a way from the kids,so was looking foward to our stay,and was not dissapointed.On our arrival we was greated by the owner offering to carry our luggage.Then we was taken to our roon to receive our champagne on ice and luxury chocolates,the lady also went through everything we needed to know about the room.The jacuzzi was a nice size with candles for atmosphere and sparkle cealing lights,it also has a 32 inch flat screen so you can watch tv whilst in the bath.The room was clean and the breakfast was amazing everthing you would need.But for me the owner was so plesent and went the xtra mile,which made the stay what it was,felt like nothing was to much.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Vestry. thank you for making your views known ,it means that our efforts have been rewarded with a great result .and it does not get better than that.
From everyone here , THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW, we really hope that you can come back again, (children permitting) and visit us again
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for one night as we wanted to visit blist hill , the rooms were more suited to a big posh hotel, very clean and beautifully decorated. pure luxury with my spa bath. the breakfast was lovely. thank you David for a wonderful stay, I'm sure we will see you again soon

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you most sincerely for a terrific vote of confidence, We cannot thank enough for your superb review, we are deeply flattered and a bit embarrassed, praise goes a lot deeper than criticism, so there were a few moist eyes here.you have made everyone here very happy.
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I love this place. A warm welcome and the rooms are so relaxing. We had three rooms for one night and all thought we had the best room. We had a huge bed and a lovely deep slipper bath there was also a big shower with lights inside. The breakfast was enormous and beautifully cooked but if that was not enough there were cereals, yogurts, cheeses, toasts and a big fruit basket too. Perfectly placed to visit all the museums around Ironbridge, some nice restaurants nearby. Thank you for making us so welcome

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

It is such a delight to see you again after so many years, it is a genuine pleasure to have you stay with us we have fond memories of your last visit. thank you for a really nice review, Sylvia is cock a hoop, Please do not leave it so long next time
all the best from everyone Here
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My boyfriend booked the Old Rectory for a surprise for me so I didn't want to know what he had booked- or where. This could have been a mistake but Oh was I blown away by the place on every level ! We stayed on the 15th December and didn't want to leave.

The room was spacious, clean and felt like home- a posher one than mine. The calm and peaceful atmosphere made it feel like we'd been away for 3 nights not just the 1 we booked.

To top it all off the food was divine and saw us throughout the whole day.

Thank you sooo much,

The Earles

We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay here.your generous review is a much appreciated by everyone here, it makes a massive difference to the day when you are told that you did a good job.from everyone here , thank you .
best regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for a romantic break away and we were not disappointed! We stayed in the Wenlock Room with the four poster bath and paying the extra money for this room was sooo worth it! When we arrived we were greeted and shown around the room and asked what time we would like breakfast. We then filled the bath and relaxed for 2 hours!
We wanted something quick and easy to eat so we went to 'The Black Swan' pub, in Jackfield a 5 minute drive and the meals were nice and the pub was very laid back.
We were desperate to enjoy our room to the fullest so we watched TV in bed and drew the curtains to sleep and it felt so cosy!
We made the most of the room by having another bath in the morning and watched the TV in the bath.
Breakfast was huge and David the owner was very friendly and accommodating.
It really was such a relaxing and perfect break and we are desperate to go back!
Thank you so much for an amazing stay :)

Room Tip: Wenlock Room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelagentNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, it has been a really pleasure , when you are next in the area do please come and see us.
many thanks from everyone at the Vestry
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband arranged for us to stay in their poshest room with a double jacuzzi bath, a bottle of champagne and a four poster bed for a romantic night away, and wow it was truly heaven, so comfortable.
So there was a large flat screen tv that could be swivelled around to watch while in the bath or in bed, all romantic lace drapes around both the bed and the bath a separate toilet and plenty of wardrobe space.
The manager David very polite went through everything with us and made arrangements for breakfast with us, all very personal.
The B&B are having their restaurant renovated at the moment and David asked us what kind of food we prefer and booked us into the Pondicherry Indian restaurant which wes also very nice.
We enjoyed our nights stay, it was a real treat for us to get away, the next morning we were guided to our table for breakfast and it was HUGE, it lasted us all day, so a big thank you to David and his team for giving us a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maza8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

you are a lovely couple and it has been a pleasure to have you stay with us, thank you for your review ,it is genuinely appreciated.we hope to see you again soon
best regards from David and the old wrecks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
1.4 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
4.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.9 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range: $99 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory at Broseley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing