We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First appearances are deceptive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory at Broseley
Ranked #1 of 4 Broseley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed with friends and were warmly greeted and shown to our various rooms. All were decorated as for a fashion magazine, with the wow factor. Unfortunately the 'wow' stopped there. The rooms were hot and stuffy. The bed was uncomfortable. The bath with jacuzzi took so many gallons to half fill that the other rooms had no hot water! Breakfast was very disappointing, despite being assured by the owner that the mushrooms were fresh, they were tinned. Why tell a lie? The staff were unable to get the correct orders to the guests and chaos reigned. The best things about the whole place were the magnificant hanging baskets. We all agreed that the Old Rectory was an overstated, awesome looking and underachieving B&B, with extortionate prices for what it was able to deliver.
The best part of this stay was the delightful 'Olive Tree' restaurant in Ironbridge. A real gem with delicious fare served by happy, competant staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hezangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

A professional and curtious reply:
The mushrooms are always fresh, cooked in butter every morning . we have Never used TINNED MUSHROOMS ever... All rooms have thermostatic values on the radiators. i.e. you can adjust the temperature easily to suit yourself..perhaps you did not do this. the Wenlock room to which you refer has TWO WINDOWS 8 FEET TALL AND 4 FEET WIDE, both windows are new sash window which open wide. the would provide more than adequate..ventilation...again, perhaps you did not do this...finally there is a 16" fan in the wardrobe which would have helped make you more comfortable.
. finally we have no control over the weather and it has been very humid at times...having a double jaccuzzi we have an extraction fan above the bath to reduce the humidity.
the mattress is a Millbrook hand built 1600 pocket sprung, famous for their quality. you are to date, the only person to have found it uncomfortable.
If there was any fault on our part please accept my personal apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 527 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent four lovely nights in The Old Rectory in Broseley. The room we had was very big, comfortable and very clean (which makes a nice change compared to some of the hotels we have stayed in). We had a huge power shower and a lovely slipper bath tucked away in the corner which was a luxury. Huge bed. David and Sylvia were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Good choice of breakfast and lots of little extras included. A very welcome bar of chocolate on the bed on our last night. nice touch! We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. and may even go back ourselves.

Room Tip: Room 10 any time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

thank you, a very generous review and much appreciated by everyone at the Old Rectory
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Absolutely outstanding in every way. The hospitality from the owner and staff was so welcoming, cleanliness was of the highest standards and so was the attention to deal.
Breakfasts were.....huge and everything you could want was available!!!!! The local people were so friendly and we ate out at a few restaurants that the owner recommended and they were superb! (The King and Thai and 7 Restaurant).
We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa01A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

WE are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thrilled that you have given us such a wonderful review. we take hope that you may come back and visit avian.
best wishes and sincere thanks from all at the Old Rectory.
regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the old rectory with my 10 year old Son, for 3 nights. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. My son is a vegetarian and David went out of his was to find something for him for breakfast, and even try new foods it was all very much appreciated. The room was absolutely spotless, and the "little extras" were a lovely touch.
Couldnt have asked for more!!

The Baileys

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

A really big thank you , we hope to see you again soon
best regards
DAVID , SYLVIA , SARAH AND SUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our wedding night and loved it so chose to come back for our first wedding anniversary. So glad we did! We stayed in the Wenlock room and it was just as romantic as we remembered - four poster bed and an enormous jacuzzi bath that was big enough for both of us. We received excellent service - we were met at the car with large umbrellas, were given a complimentary bottle of my favourite wine and really felt as though they would look after us. The breakfast was tasty and generous. All in all, we had a lovely time and will definitely consider The Old Rectory for our 2nd anniversary!

Room Tip: Go for the Wenlock room with the double jacuzzi bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

I am genuinely grateful that you have taken time out to write such a generous and warm hearted review ,a big thank you from everyone here. regards David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed Aug 1st x 3 nights, this was a birthday treat for my Partner and I was anxious that it would live up to the reviews I'd read but I didn't need to be worried because everything about this place is wonderful - from the beautifullocation to the exquisite rooms and not forgetting Sylvia and David - the perfect hosts. We stayed in the Lindley room, it was lovely, exceptionally clean and well appointed and we really appreciated the little extra luxuries provided from the cleansing wipes in the bathroom cabinet to the shoe shine kits in the bedside tables and the chocolate left lying around at every opportunity! Even after all this we were given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine for my partners birthday - Perfect! Sylvia was wonderful and arranged dinner and a taxi for us in nearby Ironbridge almost before we had unpacked, the restaurant she recommended was amazing. And this was all before we had encountered breakfast which was of ginormous proportions - as big as David's personality!! I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful B&B to everyone.... except that a little part of me wants to keep it a secret from the rest of the world! If ever there was a formula for the perfect B&B this has to be it - Well done David and Sylvia!

Room Tip: go on the website and choose your own room, they are all wonderful but all have individual character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marters59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Hospitality comes from the heart, the old rectory is intended to feel more like home , than a hotel
so we are delighted that you felt at home here , and that we can look forward to your return. until the then thank you for a lovely review.. ..best regards David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Old Rectory for 2nights at the end of July 2012.
It was our silver wedding anniversary and I chose the Rectory based on reviews and it did not disappoint at all,we were met at the front door with a smile and shown to our room,the room was wonderful(Lindley) four poster bed,the slipper bath was so nice,lots of nice little touches all over the room, Champagne,roses and chocs in room as requested,breakfast was Yummy and so much of it with lots of choice,sets you up for the day.Nothing was to much trouble,this place really is wonderful,make it your special treat if you are in the area,thank you David for making our Silver Anniversary so special we will most certainly return.

Room Tip: A great base to get out and see the area,Ironbridge just up the road,Ludlow,Shrewsbury 20mins drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirts52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

A Great big` thank you` from everyone at the old rectory, your review has been very uplifting,for everyone here,thank you for your generous review. regards David Sylvia Sarah and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
1.4 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
975 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3 mi away
The Old Rectory of St James
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range: $99 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory at Broseley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing