We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly B&B”

Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broseley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Broseley B&B and Inns
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Friendly B&B used as a base whilst visiting Ironbridge for a surprise birthday weekend.

Warm welcome from owner, helpful for local knowledge of restaurant and phoned ahead to ensure they will still serve due to the lateness.

Small kitchenette in room as a welcome bonus :-)

Clean rooms, simple well cooked breakfast.

Would recommend to anyone wishing to explore the area.

Room Tip: Small kitchenette in the stable rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grays essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

When we arrived at The Hilltop, we found that there was a mix up with the booking and someone was already in the tac room. Charles was very accomodating, he admitted fault and promptly gave us two double rooms in the house at no extra charge. The rooms were lovely with stunning views. We spent the rest of the break in the tac room which was fine. Perhaps the only criticism is the TV, which is old and not very reliable. The breakfast was generous and Charles and Vicky wonderful hosts. They were very helpful and friendly, but were not at all intrusive. The Hilltop is on the edge of Brosley , a charming town and ideal for visiting Ironbridge, 5 minutes down the road. We would definatly have stayed longer if the weather was better.

Room Tip: The double en suite on the first floor is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterGraysEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had never stayed in this type of accomodation before, which is essentially, someones home, and therefore was a touch apprehensive. I need not have worried. On arrival, we were welcomed, given the relevent details, and left to our own devices. Clean, comfortable room, superb four poster bed, and a great bath. Great views. Great breakfast, (which I don't usually eat) cooked to order and preference, with the cereal option also present. Overall, if we are in the area again, we will be returning. P.S. The wife said the homemade orange and ginger marmalade was gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfcsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

£90 for two nights bed & breakfast, the room was lovely with a comfortable bed. The bathroom wasn't ensuite but was just across the corridor and had a large roll top bath which easily accommodated two people.
The breakfast (have to disagree with previous poster) was more than enough with a cooked breakfast, toast, cereal, yogurt and fruit.
The owners were very friendly and approachable. We'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleabag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed in the Hayloft and Tack Room, which is an ideal arrangement for parents with two chldren. The accommodation offers two separate rooms, connected by a hallway, all with a single entrance door to the outside. So you are completely self contained. The children could run around the large garden areas, play on the slide, and generally be free to enjoy themsleves in safety.

Location is excellent for Ironbridge, the Museums and a local pub offers excellent evening meals.

Charles and Vicky were most welcoming and generous with extra toast and coffee at breakfast.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank davidbsmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash green
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

On our first visit we stayed for one night and loved the place so much spent two nights on a return visit two weeks later. Charles and Vicky made us very welcome and the breakfast was fantastic, made with locally sourced produce. We stayed in the Hay Loft and found it very comfortable, peaceful and quiet with everything we could have wished for. It was a place where we could feel utterly relaxed. We will be visiting the area again and will definately book a room at Hill Top House.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milfordhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is a comfortable and well situated guesthouse. When we stayed there was snow on the ground and despite being away from the main house, in a seperate annexe, we were warm and cosy. Standards of cleanliness were good, with the room being well equipped and well furnished. The downside had to be the breakfast, hardly generous I'm sorry to say. Cooked by Charles, it consisted of one sausage, one piece of bacon, half a tomato, mushrooms which didnt taste very nice and an extremely poorly cooked fried egg. Toast and tea were plentiful and the next morning I asked for my egg yolk to be cooked (spooned over) but there was no improvement. As the milk had been standing on the dresser, it wasnt too fresh tasting and I dont like the idea of the communal dining table - a well known ruse to avoid paying business rates! Charles and Vicky are pleasant people and have upgraded the property since acquiring it. A comfortable stay but not sure I'd rush to stay there in future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ec1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broseley
0.7 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
1.2 mi away
The Foundry Masters House
The Foundry Masters House
#1 of 1 in Coalbrookdale
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hilltop House Bridge Road | Benthall, Broseley, Telford TF12 5RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, large comfortable bedrooms, your own sitting room, ample off-road car parking and under a mile to Ironbridge and the museums – welcome to Hilltop House. Charles and Vicky Dornton would like to welcome you to their home. Hilltop House was built in the late 18th-century. We welcome families (incl. babies), cyclists, walkers, sightseers, dogs, visitors to the area and business guests. The house still retains many of its original features including cast iron Coalbrookdale fireplaces in all the bedrooms, shutters in the lounge and an impressive oak fire surround in the dining room, which still has the original quarry tile flooring. We offer comfortable bed and breakfast facilities, in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilltop House Bed And Breakfast Broseley, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing