We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet haven with amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Point Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shute Harbour
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet haven with amazing view”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Shute harbour unlike its neighbouring loud and backpacker heaven sister Airlie, is just perfect. But, you need a car to stay here, unless you've got a bike and prepared to put the leg work in, on a not very cycle friendly road. The harbour is within walking distance, and you can get to all of the Whitsunday islands including day trips from here, there is also parking. The lodge is in an amazing spot, very quiet up on the hill amidst residential properties. There are no restaurants in the area but the rooms offer adequate facilities. We arrived for Christmas with our friends, and they were offered a room with an oven! A proper oven! And the management kindly sorted a table for us to seat4 and a Xmas dinner! Our room was ok, amazing views, quirky and adequate, clean and tidy. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SallySpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Coral Point Lodge sits high on a bluff and has the most beautiful views of Shute Harbour. We stayed in this very comfortable and quiet hotel in paradise for three relaxing days where we were pampered by the friendly and caring staff who made our stay so memorable. We came all the way from Florida and highly recommend this lodge, it is well located to visit the Great Barrier Reef. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the clear blue waters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Coral point lodge was great with amazing views of Shute Harbour from every room. Ours was large, nicely decorated, comfortable bed, with nice balcony with table and chairs overlooking the Harbour. The managers were very friendly and helpful. The lodge is on a point, in a residential neighborhood. The shuttle for the boats will pick you up and drop you off here, which is convenient. There are not restaurants close, so you have to drive to Airlie Beach. But this place is well worth the trouble. And the local wild birds were amazing. We really enjoyed our relaxing stay and would go back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oregon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Coral Point Lodge in August and would recommend it any one. The room was very nice, great view and the owners were super helpful.

The lodge its self is an older building but the rooms are very nice (clean / spacious / high ceilings / balcony / great view). We found the place to be very reasonably priced for the quality of the room.

The complex is located on a high ridge so you have awesome views. The lodge is ideally located for anyone using the Shute harbour facilities (boat ramps of island transfers) or just looking for a nice place to stay. The lodge is best accessed with a car because there are not many dining options nearby and is about a half an hour drive to the Airlie beach strip.

I have been to this region many times and preferred to stay out of Airlie Beach. Shute harbour quieter and generally nicer.

The owners were very helpful and went above and beyond the call of duty by helping us with some troubles.

Room Tip: it is worth it to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davecox84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Arrived here very flustered after a bad experience in another town. What a joy to open the curtains in our apartment and see that breathtaking view! The lovely Eva could not have looked after us any better. Felt more like staying with a friend. Would be very comfortable to come again as a single traveller
Choose the right room for your needs; not all rooms have kitchen so read the room descriptions so you get what you expect. Rooms clean and comfortable. If you want 5 star room then head to Airlie and pay the 5 star prices
This is not the place to stay if you do not have your own transport. It is a 10 minute drive to Airlie and you will need to get everything you need from there. Shute Harbour is the leaving point for some cruise tours but there is nothing else in the area. The cafe / restaurant at the lodge is not open and unlikely to be in the short term. Check about wifi ; I don't think this is still available.
I think the website photos need to be updated as they don't do the views justice based on the rooms I saw
Pity this place isn't listed under Airlie Beach searches as it deserves to be busier than it is. That said I would prefer this place to remain a well kept secret!

Room Tip: Room 11; 3 bedroom great views. Good for family as sleeps up to 6. Stayed here with friend Room 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BCDorrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The refurbished room was lovely - good kitchen facilities. But not as private as hoped for from the description, and was located under where the owners/managers lived I think, as you could hear them moving around through the thin ceiling and playing piano. Not so great when you wanted a sleep in and they were getting ready for the day at 6:30am.
I had also thought from the descriptions that there were several lovely walks leading to beaches that were much closer by. There was one fairly close by, but still a walk away up the road, leading to a secluded coral beach, but not very swimmable.
I think if you made a booking with this knowledge in advance, then it would be okay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I love the Lodge and Managers so much I have been going there for fifteen years ! Don't know whether it's the quiet , the views , the walks or the friendly managers. Could be the fact it's surrounded by National and Marine Parks. To me, it is the best combination possible of mountain and sea coming together . There have been ongoing upgrades to the units ,it is clean, comfortable and friendly, and the views are better than the Postcards .
I just wish I could get there more than once a year.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get the room type you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shute Harbour
5.2 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
235 reviews
11.4 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,257 reviews
11.5 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
536 reviews
5.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
391 reviews
2.9 mi away
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daydream Island
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Point Lodge

Property: Coral Point Lodge
Address: 54 Harbour Ave, Shute Harbour, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Shute Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shute Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Point Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Point Lodge offers million dollar views over the Whitsunday Passage from every room. Discover the magic of the Whitsunday Islands, Great Barrier Reef and tropical Rainforest from Coral Point Lodge. Surrounded by the pristine Conway National Park and the waterways of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park you can choose from one of the many bushwalks located nearby, you can birdwatch, wander down a forest path to secluded beaches and explore, snorkel, fish or feast on oysters. Coral Point Lodge offers a quiet experience, somewhere where you can totally unwind, avoid the hustle and bustle of the tourist centres and get as close to nature as you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Point Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing