We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable country guest house”
Review of Fairstowe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crowborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairstowe
Ranked #3 of 10 Crowborough B&B and Inns
UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable country guest house”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here in Bridget & Jim's home for two nights in the autumn, with a gorgeous view over their garden and onwards to the Ashdown Forest to meet up with family.

The spacious guest room has a large and very comfortable bed; my partner particularly enjoyed the small extra touches that our hosts thoughtfully provided to give our stay the extra touch of luxury for a weekend break. The ensuite bathroom was similarly spacious, and although not of the latest style of decor was still very pleasant to use.

Breakfast in the hosts dining room with its matching view to the garden and terrace was both exceptional and delicious (and the company engaging).

When we arrived and checked in we were also offered the choice of rooms, the second room to the front of the house is smaller but immaculately and smartly appointed with its own recently refurbished compact en-suite bathroom, discretely fitted in the room with a surprising economy of space.

The quiet and peacefully set house while located in the large "dormitory town" of Crowborough, is on the attractive and upscale edge directly adjacent to the Ashdown Forest accessed from a long drive down a rural road, but easily found with the instructions provided.

If when we return to Crowborough (as we do on a regular basis) we are looking for a luxurious place to stay in attractive surroundings; we'll certainly look to come back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bridget and Jim were perfect hosts who have thought of every tiny detail to make their guests' stay enjoyable. Their charming house is full of character with modern features and a beautiful garden with swimming pool.Our well equipped rooms were tastefully decorated and beds very comfortable. Looking forward to a return visit.
Best wishes, Jill, Jim, Alison and Colin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dowling66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A beautiful house in a peaceful area of Crowborough. . Jim and Bridget were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and breakfast was superb. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Womanwhoroams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just spent two nights at Fairstowe B&B whilst visiting my children in the area, our first time here. From the moment we arrived, Bridget and Jim made us feely very welcome indeed. The house and gardens are simply beautiful, set on the edge of ashdown forest. Our room was eloquently and tastefully decorated to a standard one would expect from a country hotel. Incredibly comfortable and restful. The breakfast choice is wide and the quality was very good indeed. Every need was catered for and both Jim and Bridget could not be more pleasant or attentive. Thoroughly recommended. If you want a mixture of chic and elegant married to comfort and serenity for your stay, then this oasis simply ticks all the boxes. Patrick and Georgina Burns.

Room Tip: The double with en-suite overlooking the spacious gated driveway was excellent. The suite at the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickGFBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I happened across this lovely B&B when looking for somewhere to stay in order to attend a wedding nearby (Buckhurst Park, Withyham). Bridget and Jim looked after us spectacularly well - in fact, if it wasn't for the last minute lift to the church that Bridget kindly offered (in pouring rain), we would have probably arrived after the bride! The room we stayed in was very large, beautifully decorated and included an amazing view out over their vast garden and outdoor swimming pool, which would have made a lovely setting for a relaxed afternoon on another occasion. Bathroom was ornate, with a hot and powerful shower that came in very handy on the (somewhat hungover!) Sunday morning. Breakfast was great also and we took to the road back to London around Sunday lunchtime feeling that the only disappointing element to our stay had been that the wedding had prevented us from spending more time in this lovely house & garden. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank housty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Bridget and Jim went out of their way to welcome us to their lovely arts and crafts house and garden on the edge of the Ashdown Forest. The rooms are finished to an extremely high standard and the beds very comfortable. Most memorable was the delicious cream tea on the terrace on our arrival.

Room Tip: The room at the rear is enormous and overlooks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank d2hume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowborough
4.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
4.8 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,430 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#12 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
392 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
12.6 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairstowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairstowe

Property: Fairstowe
Address: Fairstowe Warren Road, Crowborough TN6 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Crowborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crowborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting Arts and Crafts Edwardian country house on the edge of the Ashdown Forest situated in a semi rural position in three acres of Edwardian gardens. We provide luxurious accommodation for bed and breakfast and also rent out the whole house for family holidays or short breaks at selected times of the year. Obviously the two functions are at different times. Our emphasis is providing a very comfortable, relaxed environment in a tranquil setting. To this end the beds are all king size or super-king size with sumptuous Egyptian cotton sheets. There are 3 new en suite bath or shower rooms with power showers, underfloor heating and heated towel warmers. Both the lounge and dining room have stunning views over the York stone paved, south-facing terrace and pool lawn with it's herbaceous borders. The dining table can seat 14 people.B and B guests may have breakfast on the terrace in fine weather. We provide outdoor entertainment with an outside swimming pool, heated in high summer, a 14 foot trampoline, croquet, an outdoor table tennis table and badminton net. The 3 acre garden, set out in the Edwardian era, has a variety of different areas. A herb garden outside the back door, productive greenhouse with grape vine, vegetable and soft fruit beds, Japanese garden with ponds, lawns and Scots pine walk. Although guests are tempted not to leave the premises there are plenty of attractions locally. Fairstowe is 7 miles south of the spa town of Royal Tunbridge Wells with it's wide choice of shops and restaurants. We have a wealth of gardens and National Trust properties within easy driving distance. Other activities closeby include a dry ski slope, climbing wall, off-road cycling and golf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairstowe Crowborough, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing